We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This hostal was very nice and clean and the people there are friendly as can be, although you will not always be told the same story by each of the employees there. We asked if we could leave our stuff there until 1:00pm when our train was leaving, but this lady told us we had to leave the stuff at a hotel after we would check out at 9:00 am. Then another person told us it was perfectly alright to just leave it and come back for it. They have a kitchen there where you can actually cook your own food, which is a plus. In the morning they have a nice breakfast set out for you and you can order scrambled eggs if you wish. The rooms and bathrooms were very nice and clean and the water in the shower got nice and hot. Overall, it's a nice budget place to stay, right in the middle of Aguas Calientes. The massage place on the corner there is fabulous. You can get an hour's Inca massage for $25.00, definitely worth it.

Room Tip: They have rooms up to 5th floor with no elevator. So if you don't like stairs ask for a lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthV714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

We were very happy with our stay here. Having read through reviews of plenty of other accommodation in Aguas Calientes, we weren't expecting much, and we were pleasantly surprised. The beds were comfortable, the room was good, the hot water worked, and the staff were friendly and helpful and didn't try to rip us off on the exchange rate (as you hear many hotels/hostels in Aguas Calientes do) or anything else. Breakfast was basic, but the fact that it was available at 4.30am was handy for an early morning trip up to Machu Picchu.

The only downside is that the hostel is on the uphill side of Aguas Calientes, so after a long tiring day at Machu Picchu, it's a bit of a walk uphill still to get there. But really, it's easily worth it to stay somewhere decent.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I stayed this hostel for 1 night. I decided to stay here because the price was cheap. The room was not so bad. There were windows in the room, but it wasn't openable so that was a little bit damp.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pogie9824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Given that all the accommodation in Aguas Calientes is ridiculously overpriced, this isnt a bad budget option. We stayed here 1 night pre Machu Picchu. Its just off the main street with all the restaurents and not far from the bus/train station. Our double room was massive and faced the street. Its a side street so it wasnt noisy. The bathroom was fine, towels included. We didnt try the shower, but our friends said the shower was freezing. Not surprising really. The hostel has free wifi, a small kitchen, breakkie included (from the crack of dawn which is nice for the peeps who want to be the first ones at MP!) Its a basic s.american hostel breakkie, bread, jam, tea, cereal, yogurt. They let you keep your bags at the hostel for the day. I honestly didnt think this hostel was that bad. Our friends hated it but then theyre not backpackers so have had limited exposure to hostels. Guess it depends on your expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LW2010NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The staff was very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable.
The hostel is located close to the centre square, train station and bus but out of the main noisy area.
Breakfast is served early enough at 430 for people wanting to catch the first bus to Machu Picchu.
Windows in our room faced into common area which could be loud if people were chatting there.
Overall a very welcoming and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clover_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst we visited Machu Pichu. It was a pretty miserable visit.

The room we were given was on the street side, which meant that it was really noisy at night and early in the morning. The door to our room had a space at the bottom, and given that we backed onto the internet/games area, this made it even noisier! It also didn't feel the most safe given the door didn't run to the floor.

There was no ventilation in the room at all, which you really need because the location is so damp all the time (in Dec). This meant the bed sheets, although seemed to be clean smelt really musty. The same for our room and we could never seem to get our towels or clothes dry, which didn't help.

Oddly we asked for a double room and got a room with a small double and large single which made the small room even more cramped. The bathroom was also tiny- you could barely move in it. And it didn't seem that clean.

Breakfast was included in the price, but I wouldn't bother to be honest. It consisted of stale bread, some jam and some mouldy bananas.

We never expected luxury, and knew that Peru srandards aren't like at home, but this place was terrible, especially for the price. They seem to think they can charge whatever they want because of the location. Most hostels will be pricey in comparison to other areas of Peru but I would definitely try elsewhere!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nlcbateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed here for one night to go see Machu Pichhu. Cost was only $34 for the night for a couple.

Here is what you need to know:
Clean rooms
Hot showers
Free breakfast
A few minutes walk to bus and train station
Very accomodating staff

We are typically picky travellers but this hostel met our needs. What else do you need? Aguas isn't a tourist destination, its just a place to sleep before you see the main attraction.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wurktotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Ecopackers Machupicchu
#3 of 45 in Aguas Calientes
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
#6 of 45 in Aguas Calientes
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eco Machu Picchu Pueblo
Eco Machu Picchu Pueblo
#11 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu

Address: Av Pachacuteq 603, Aguas Calientes 08000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £17 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing