We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O.K. for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of our package with Pachamama Explorers. The decor is confronting to stay the least, but great if you like lots of strong orange and lemon colours.

Our room 203 faced the river and was just two minutes walk from the bus stop and five to the train station, which cannot be beaten. The river sounds were quite soothing, hiding people and traffic noise. Our room was clean and there was plenty of bedding.

Breakfast was very basic and we could only face this for one morning: sweet orange juice, bread, avocado, lukewarm scrambled egg and sugar puff cereal with two types of fruit.

Its very convenient for an overnight stop after coming off the track and going up to M.P. the next day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel (also called a Hostal) was about what we expected. Very close to the train station, and they will send a person to meet your train and lead you to the hotel if you let them know when you are arriving. A basic, bare bones place, it provided a comfortable place to sleep the day before we visited Machu Picchu. The rooms provide beds and a bathroom. Breakfast was nothing special. They did provide an option to put together a box lunch for your day in MP - 25 soles. Not a bad price for a couple of simple sandwiches, fruits, bottle of water and some sweets.

Room Tip: They will accept both Soles and US Dollars in payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here in December 2013 while we were visiting Machu Picchu. As others have mentioned the location is excellent - the bus for Machu Picchu leaves one block away and the train station is just across the street (across a bridge). The staff were very helpful. Our room was on the second floor in front so we had a view of the river, train station market and the street. This made it a bit noisy but we were tired enough to go to sleep anyway. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The sink did not have hot water - not even hooked up for it. Breakfast was small but that was fine as we did not want much before hiking around Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Kokomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after visiting Machu Picchu. It was extremely close to the bus stop for the ride up to Machu Picchu, but unfortunately that was a negative in the morning as we all woke up at 5 when the busses started running. The breakfast was good, but a bit lacking by the time that we came down at 8:30. The rooms were great, the bathroom big and the bed very comfortable.

Overall, a really good deal for the location in Aguas Calientes!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived at the train station and the owner of this hotel walked us to the hotel. This hotel is pretty big(much rooms) and has clean spacious rooms. The wifi didn't work properly, we had to sit on the stairs to get some signal.

Breakfast was really good in the early morning before we got to the Machu Picchu ruins.

Extra suggestion: take a train to Machu Picchu when it's still light outside. Get your return ticket for the train around 12.

Room Tip: Rooms on front are on the street side. Bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RutgerK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

If you are spending the night in Aguas Calientes, chances are you want to maximize your time at Machu Picchu and minimize the effort it takes you to get there and back. This place it perfectly situated across the bridge from the train station and practically upstairs from the buses departing to MP. One block away was the kitschy restaurant strip. The price was reasonable compared to other options, and the woman working at the front desk was knowledgeable and friendly. The room, the bed, and the bathroom were perfectly adequate. The breakfast was mediocre, but there was plenty of it to sustain us. If you are looking for luxury, don't stay here. If you are looking for convenience, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steal I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for night while visiting Machu Picchu. The staff was not the friendliest and the room was a little dark for my liking but the hotel had all the basics plus a pretty good shower, which felt great after spending the day hiking around Machu Picchu. The hotel was good value, but next time I will probably try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwall722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hatun Inti Classic
Hatun Inti Classic
#17 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.1 mi away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#13 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel

Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz- 13, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £59 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing