We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatun Inti Boutique Machupicchu
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a perfect location”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Agua Calientes is charming and we stayed a this hotel overnight. We were wowed by the large room overlooking the river with it's fabulous decor and design. The bathroom was large with a jacuzzi bath which does take a long time to fill but worth the wait after a hard days walking. The river is noisy but not a problem for us when you are so tired it helps send you to sleep. Breakfast was a good choice with the added interest of trains passing the window just feet away. Location is good being close to bus stop and markets. There are many restaurants close by. We had dinner included which we took a the place 2 doors away. We would have like to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook railway and rear rooms overlook noisy river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_e_hewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    80
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
42
132
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed here one night after having done the inka trail, so a decent night's sleep was of paramount importance. I was supposed to be staying at El Mappi, however, due to their building works, I was persuaded by my travel agent to stay here instead, as the building works were quite noisy. I regret taking their advice.

The room itself was large, with decent en-suite. Separate shower cubicle and jacuzzi bath tub. Amenities in the room were limited, in that there was no hair shampoo or conditioner, nor was there a shower cap provided! I got a bar of soap and I think they provided body lotion. Free bottle of water was also provided in the bedroom.

I tried to use the jacuzzi, and when I switched on the machine, I think this one hadn't been used for a while as some brown debri came out of the jacuzzi vents and into my bath water. It was gross and decided to use the shower instead.

The worst aspect to my room was its location. I did NOT have one of the rooms overlooking the water. Unfortunately, my room overlooked the rail tracks and very busy street which had quite a few restaurants/bars, hence it was very noisy from all day and all through the night. It was bad enough that every 2-3 hours I would see a train go past my window and the drivers seem to like to bib their horns each time, but also the constant noise of people out on the streets, shouting, people playing instruments etc, was unbearable. Add to this the fact that each time a guest used their jacuzzi in their room, I could actually hear the motor in my own bedroom. I was woken up by this noise at 4am!! So sound is a big issue with this place.
I got approx 2 hours' sleep in total. It's ironic because I was moved to this hotel because I was told it would be more peaceful than staying in my original hotel that had building work going on.

Breakfast in the morning was not great. Out of all the hotels I stayed in throughout Peru, this was the worst, for both choice and quality. No toast available, and fruit/yoghurt offered was limited and had seen better days!. Only decent part of the breakfast was the omelette offered. The lobby/dining area blend into one and this area was somewhat shabby. I couldn't wait to leave.

For the price I paid, I could definately have found better elsewhere.

The only thing I would say is that the staff seemed very nice and this hotel is conveniently located when catching the bus in the morning to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

It is the Japanese who stayed in two and husband in September 2013. In very nice hotels, homemade cookies gave us in the room was very delicious!
I did want to go about buying a souvenir!

To the bus stop to go to Machu Picchu and it was conveniently located nearby.
Room is clean, partly Jacuzzi, it was a comfortable hotel.

It was Machu Picchu for the first time, but it was a nice trip. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiraiuematsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel is amazing. We only stayed here for one night after completing the Inca Trail, and I wish we could have stayed for longer! The room was immaculate with two double beds, and the bathroom was spotless, with a brilliant shower and jacuzzi, which was just what we wanted after 4 days of no showering! The decor was lovely and staff all friendly. Breakfast was nice, not the best I've had, but was everything we needed - bread, cereal, cheese, juices, smoothies, cakes, chicken. Hotel only 2 minute walk from train station and 1 minute walk from where the buses stop to go up to Machu Picchu. Can't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomad_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It was our first year anniversary and we decided to celebrate it by staying a night in Machu Picchu. We looked a bunch of hotels and even though this one is on the pricey side, it's totally worth it! The hotel is less than 3 minutes walking distance from the train station. Someone picked us up and the girl at front desk was very nice and attentive. We got a room on the top floor right next to the river and we loved it. The view was amazing and the sound of the river was very soothing. In the afternoon, they gave us a plate of pastries in shape of a heart and the water in the room was free. Dinner was included so we enjoyed delicious food like the trout ceviche and a fun Peruvian dance show. It was a wonderful night! We got up early to go to Machu Picchu and breakfast was waiting for us. We didn't encounter any problems, and the whole staff was super nice to us. We would love to go back!

Room Tip: If you like the white noise while you sleep, then get a room by the river. Otherwise, you'll be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teensoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We loved everything about this hotel: beginning with the warm and sunny welcome by the staff at the front desk (which matches the hotel's name "big sun"), to the beautiful room overlooking the gushing river below, and the convenience of its location. We felt lucky to be there, which made our whole stay in that magical part of the world all the more meaningful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elna Y Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We got into Hatun Inti Hotel by default, as another hotel canceled on us unexpectedly a few weeks before our arrival. As it turned out, it was the best thing that could have happened to us. Some friends did stay at the other hotel and were not happy with their choice.

We, on the other hand, got a beautiful and spotless room facing the river, with a comfortable king size bed, fireplace, jacuzzi and separate rain shower. The bathroom was minimalist and functional, although I would suggest a towel bar, which was sorely missing. Across the river was a sheer mountain wall, so privacy was assured while we took showers or lounged in the jacuzzi. Hot water was available 24 hours a day unlike some of the hotels we have come across. The river noise was soothing. We were there in the winter season, so it may be noisier at other times in the year when the river is overflowing. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and offered to build a fire in the fire place. Breakfast was good, with coffee, tea, fresh juices, a good variety of fruit and breads, and eggs made to order. As with every other hotel we have encountered in Peru, check-out time is early. The hotel will store the luggage and will even deliver it to the train station if necessary.

We'd stay at Hatun Inti again in a flash!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
905 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picch...
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
987 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatun Inti Boutique Machupicchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatun Inti Boutique Machupicchu

Property: Hatun Inti Boutique Machupicchu
Address: Av. Imperio de los Incas 606, Aguas Calientes 05108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hatun Inti Boutique Machupicchu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in ancient mysticism inca and located facing the Vilcanota River surrounded by The Forest Of Clouds, it is a privileged landscape for enjoy his holidays. The 14 spacious suites decorated in soothing earth tone hues with Andean inspired decoration provides a unique and pleasant atmosphere with balconies -many of which boast magnificent panoramic views- that invites you to renew your spirit and the romance in your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hatun Inti Boutique Machupicchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing