We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot”
Review of Inka Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inka Town Hotel
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was a great place to stay for our trip to Machu Picchu. It was very close to the train station but it wasn't as noisy as others seemed to have commented. It was decorated nice when we arrived, kind of reminded of a cruise ship. The showers seemed to be renovated and it was very sheik and modern. The rooms were very small but it wasn't unbearable. I would recommend this place if you are looking for a cheap stay that is pretty decent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suziepi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Inka Town Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stood there 2 nights. My wife (34) and I (39) were traveling with our 19 months old daughter on the Cusco region on december 2011 and we had only 3 small backpacks when arrived to aguas calientes. We were assigned to this hotel by Camino del Sol travel agency on Peru in advance and thus far all hotels given to us were very acceptable either in Cusco (los portales) or Urubamba (Villa Urubamba).
The room was on the 4th floor but tehre was no elevator and it just barely fit a queen bed and only 1 night light table.
The only small closet was in a dark area behind the bed area facing a translucent glass window that could be seen from the stairs outside of the bedroom and a column impeded the movement from that side of the bed to the front of the bed. i.e. No way to move inside the room.
The hotel was excactly behind the train station, at a 2 blocks (5 minutes) walking distance from the main market heading away from downtown = It was very noisy, from 5 am to pass mid night. it had a horrible view of the surrounding buildings yet under construction.
Besides of being really noisy when we walked after 9 pm both nights we felt kind of unsafe because this was an obscure area after dust, you had to cross the street market after it was closed if coming from the downtown area from diner.
Yet the bathroom was new, very clean, and the strength of the shower was nice. The hot water was not a problem neither. The people was very nice, friendly and helpful.
Overall i say this is a no no hotel. I would have rather gone to a hostel full of 20 year old backpackers than to this one. and the fares seem as expensive as other hotels that are nicer or in better areas.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fernando l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Rooms small. Situated right next to the train station: very loud (first train before 5 a.m., last around 9 p.m.), many rooms only with glas bricks or no window at all except clear windows to the corridor (dark and no way to get fresh air into the room). You can hear everything happening in the next room or above You. Baths clean with hot water. Personel at the reception not competent (gave out room keys of rooms that where already occupied (with luggage inside) to our whole group several times and was not able to solve the problem). I advise not to leave Your keys at the reception.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wullpulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I stayed at the Inka town for two nights in mid May and while this hotel is nothing to do a cartwheel about it serves the purpose for a night or two.
The room was very clean and very small, there was pleanty of hot water the staff was friendly and less than a 5 minute walk from anywhere in town you might need to go, main plaza, shuttle bus and yes it is right next to the train station so if you need or want to be asleep before 9:00 PM forrget it and some rooms do have there windows in the hall, I'm not sure that will help the noise. Basicly it serves the purpose of getting a shower and some sleep after a day or two at Machu Piccu. There might be better or quiter hotels for the price in the area but since I didn't look into any of them it's hard to say. Bottom line if your in the 2 star price range it's worth keeping Inka Town on the list.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wadawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I was booked the Inka Town by an agent in Cusco & did not know which hotel it was until given the voucher. Greeted at train station and shown to hotel. Reception staff welcoming and shown to room on 4th floor with large double aspect windows over train station and town, though I passed many other rooms that had windows only on to the corridor and whcih looked pretty horrible. I actually quite liked the view over the station - the trains stop at about 10pm. Good but short sleep as woke at 3.45am to get to bus station by 4am to try and be on first bus to MP, and there were no lights on in the corridors and had to use torch to find my way downstairs & to wake up the night porter to let me out. Overall, just about ok for one short night.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MartinPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We were allocated this hotel as part of a Mach Picchu tour. Whilst the hotel is a short walk from the rail sation, as a result the noise from the trains is very intrusive, resulting in difficulty sleeping. Having said this beds were very comfortable, although room fairly basic, as was breakfast. On the positive side breakfast was served from 5am to enable early start to Machu Picchu, and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. A number of rooms appeared to have windows internal facing to the corridors which seemed odd, our room had an external window overlooking the train platform with no sound proofing hence the noise!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MisterT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Been there for one night last October, during my visit to Machu Picchu.
The hotel is new, with basic and clean rooms, in-room safe (very small, just for a passport and wallet), heater, cable TV, comfy bed and free use of a computer at the lobby (slow connection). No minifridge in the room. Breakfast starts very early (good for those who plan to get the sunrise at the ruins).
The only downside is the location, right beside the train tracks (expect a lot of noise until the last train, which is around 9 or 10pm).
Recommended for those who want a simple and clean place to sleep in Aguas Calientes.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrazilBackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waman Hotel
Waman Hotel
#11 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Machu Picchu
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
2,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santuario Hotel
Santuario Hotel
#13 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inka Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inka Town Hotel

Address: Calle Winaywayna C-12 | Urb Las Orquideas, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Hotel Class:3 star — Inka Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing