We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non-Professional staff, would not stay there again”
Review of Hostal Inti Quilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Inti Quilla
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Non-Professional staff, would not stay there again”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed only one night in this hostel - i booked Machu Picchu from Cusco and this was the place they let us stay. The two women working there are very non-professional. They did not care about the clients. I asked where I could go for a little walk, they had no idea.. Then I came back from my tour, they were outside playing ball, they ignored me and I walked in, waited a bit at reception and as they would not care i just took the key to my room myself.. The room was on ground floor and moldy. The sink was broken / leaked and when you used it the whole bathroom floor was wet. You do have hot shower and breakfast, very basic, but okay. Location very close to station and town. All in all, i would not want to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissFernweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    26
    10
    11
See reviews for
15
27
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night and the truth is that we didn't want to spend much money in this town. So we decided to find something cheap...in this sense this hostel is not that bad. Generally the hostel is of poor quality, has holes on the walls and it seemed like in some parts the construction of the place was incomplete. You could not get any privacy in the rooms and there was a lot of noise!!! Anyone could just step in the hotel with nobody noticing, since most of the times there was nobody at the reception desk. On the other hand, you do get what you pay for (32€ double). If you need more quality then you have to move to a "higher level" of accommodation. I wouldn't recommend this hostel but if you are on a low budget and you are only staying for one night in Aguas Calientes, I don't think there are many decent options anyway in this town...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaLieCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Asheville, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Have stayed in many hostels ... this one has nothing special to it. Not to mention, it has several semi big issues with it. They have an ant problem - all over our room and my husband found an ant in his coffee this morning. Staff is friendly, but inconsiderate. We were placed in a room directly above reception desk and even at 12 am a staff of 4-5 people were practically shouting at one another and laughing and the noise carries throughout the hostel. Also, all drains in our room were very, very clogged.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ro
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

If you book this place do not expect to find anything special. It is basic accommodation with noisy rooms (if on the street), basic breakfast which could be served early in the morning if you plan to take the first buses to MP, and a reception lady who seems to be disturbed by any question you address.

The place is 5 minutes from the rail station and 10 minutes from the bus station so for one night sleep it is ok, but if expectations are higher this is not the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joker t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night after the Inca Trail. On arriving at the hotel there was no one in reception and after waiting a while I had to shout out for attention. The service was good when it arrived and I had a choice of rooms. After reading there was noise from building sites, I chose an internal room, which was fairly quiet. The breakfast was coffee, juice and bread and jam. The location is quite good as it is near to the train station. Finding the hotel initially was more difficult, arriving by bus. Overall, an adequate hotel for an acceptable price in an expensive town.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nellygiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

After the long train ride up to Aguas Calientes we were looking forward to a nice stay in the city. When we got off the train we had our hostess waiting for us with our names written on a sheet. While she was not very friendly we didnt really care since we just wanted to get to our room anyways.The room was average for South American standards. The biggest problem we had was that our room was facing a construction site. So it was pretty noisy and at night it was just as bad. We spend the entire day out in the city and obviously making our way up to Machu Picchu which was fantastic. The laundry service is a good price and they were nice enough to let us leave our stuff locked up even after we had checked out in order to view more of the city until our train departed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalian, China
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Hostal Inti Quilla was beter than we expected. For what we paid this was the perfect place and we only stayed for 1 night, so it was perfect. The bedding was clean and new and the bathroom nice. The location was very close to the train station and easy to find. They even gave us breakfast at 4:30 in the morning, which we really appreciated. They also safely stored our luggage for the day while we went up to Machu Picchu free of charge.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginapotgieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.0 mi away
Golden House Hostal
Golden House Hostal
#24 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wachuma B&B
Wachuma B&B
#17 of 40 in Aguas Calientes
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Katari House
Katari House
#6 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Llaqta Wasi Hostel
Llaqta Wasi Hostel
#21 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hatuchay Inn Restaurante & Hotel
Hatuchay Inn Restaurante & Hotel
#12 of 39 in Machu Picchu
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal New Day Machupicchu
Hostal New Day Machupicchu
#8 of 40 in Aguas Calientes
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Inti Quilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Inti Quilla

Property: Hostal Inti Quilla
Address: Aymuraypa Tikan s/n, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Inti Quilla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Inti Quilla is served by its owners, seeking always to provide high quality services looking for excellence and total satisfaction of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Inti Quilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing