We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Review of Hostal Inti Quilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Inti Quilla
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were booked in to stay at this hotel and the arrangements were that they would arrange for someone to meet us at the station, take our luggage from us and give us the bus tickets for Macchu Picchu which they were supposed to have bought for us to save having to queue up.

No one was at the station and we eventually found our own way to the hotel which was not very far but we wasted a lot of time waiting at the station as arranged. When we got to the hotel the room they showed us for 4 people was far too small for 4 beds and would have meant us scrabbling over each other to get to the bathroom or the door to the room. The room was right behind reception and very dark. It also had a damp smell.

They had also not purchased the bus tickets for us and there was no apology for not being at the station or for not having bought our bus tickets.

We demanded our money back and eventually got it. We then had to search for another hotel before going to get our bus tickets for Macchu Picchu having wasted a couple of hours.

I have not had such a bad experience before.

Please head this warning and do not arrange to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    26
    10
    11
See reviews for
15
27
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Low quality and low service especially the restaurant : we ordered a soup,the spoons arrived 15 min after the soup.Rooms are awful
Can't believe it, how trash is this place in the middle of Aguas Calientes

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysuite21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was the worst place we stayed in during our stay in Peru and glad it was only for one night.The staff were so unfriendly the room was clean but big window on the inside faced on to the eating area so we did not get much sleep due to people getting up early or coming in late.The town its self is very geared for tourists and found very expensive to other places we had visited.The restaurants do not tell you till you get the bill and in very small writing says surcharge.I am glad we had done our shopping before we got there or we would not have fetched any presents back..But going to Machupicchu was amazing so it made up for every thing else

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshire9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed in Aguas Calientes for 1 night and were recommended this place, booking it thru a travel agency. At the time i didnt' like the lodge but after almost 3 wks in Peru and sampling all the diff hostals/lodgings, I think it is ok.

PROS:
-decent sized rooms, tv with CNN an extra plus (was able to get some news during our absence from home)
-pick up at bus stop, which prob is standard procedure (this was very helpful, esp when we booked the hotel only a few hours or so before we boarded our train) so they calculated our ETA based on our train departure time. We also had the girl who picked us up accompany us to get our entrance tix and bus tix.
-came with breakfast (i think if you book via tour agency)--however it was very skimpy--2 ppl , we were served with abasket of 5 pcs of bread (generous for 2 ), a thermos of hot water (for self serve coffee or tea). The coffee was instant so i didnt' bother, esp when there was no milk. Also given some orange punch which I thought was gross and kinda cheap of them.

CONS:
-The room has no "windows" (but i found this to be common in many places). A sliding "window" (which was poorly anchored and later the lock disassembled) opened up to the lobby of the floor which would just exacerbate the noise level.
-NOISE ISSUES-people were LOUD. Some guests can be very inconsiderate. Whether your door is closed/open u can hear and when ppl check in/out at varying times, it can be difficult to get any rest. (Fortunately I brought really good headphones that served me well during my stay in Peru). I was on the floor above the reception so every time the phone rang i also could hear that as well.

All in all, i think the choices you get in AC aren't that great, so every lodge may have some sort of issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveNature2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed only one night in this hostel - i booked Machu Picchu from Cusco and this was the place they let us stay. The two women working there are very non-professional. They did not care about the clients. I asked where I could go for a little walk, they had no idea.. Then I came back from my tour, they were outside playing ball, they ignored me and I walked in, waited a bit at reception and as they would not care i just took the key to my room myself.. The room was on ground floor and moldy. The sink was broken / leaked and when you used it the whole bathroom floor was wet. You do have hot shower and breakfast, very basic, but okay. Location very close to station and town. All in all, i would not want to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissFernweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night and the truth is that we didn't want to spend much money in this town. So we decided to find something cheap...in this sense this hostel is not that bad. Generally the hostel is of poor quality, has holes on the walls and it seemed like in some parts the construction of the place was incomplete. You could not get any privacy in the rooms and there was a lot of noise!!! Anyone could just step in the hotel with nobody noticing, since most of the times there was nobody at the reception desk. On the other hand, you do get what you pay for (32€ double). If you need more quality then you have to move to a "higher level" of accommodation. I wouldn't recommend this hostel but if you are on a low budget and you are only staying for one night in Aguas Calientes, I don't think there are many decent options anyway in this town...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaLieCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Have stayed in many hostels ... this one has nothing special to it. Not to mention, it has several semi big issues with it. They have an ant problem - all over our room and my husband found an ant in his coffee this morning. Staff is friendly, but inconsiderate. We were placed in a room directly above reception desk and even at 12 am a staff of 4-5 people were practically shouting at one another and laughing and the noise carries throughout the hostel. Also, all drains in our room were very, very clogged.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.0 mi away
Inti Punku Macchu Picchu Hotel
Inti Punku Macchu Picchu Hotel
#21 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden House Hostal
Golden House Hostal
#19 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wachuma B&B
Wachuma B&B
#17 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Katari House
Katari House
#7 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Jaya Hotel
#4 of 36 in Machu Picchu
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal New Day Machupicchu
Hostal New Day Machupicchu
#10 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Inti Quilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Inti Quilla

Property: Hostal Inti Quilla
Address: Aymuraypa Tikan s/n, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Inti Quilla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Inti Quilla is served by its owners, seeking always to provide high quality services looking for excellence and total satisfaction of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Inti Quilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing