We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for one night after leaving another hotel which was terribe. The hotel is clean and the room was spotless. Good breakfast, friendly staff and good location. We returned after our visit to Machu and they offer to let us have a shower even though we had checked out. excellent service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Compared to the other hotels in the area, this was a great place to stay. We enjoyed our room on the second floor and the breakfast was good. The staff will also meet you at the train station to take your bags up the hill to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NETravel_Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is a nice hotel, with a beautiful lobby and lovely rooms (crappy view across to other office/hotel rooms) but is right up at the top of a steep hill, further from the train station than any of the other hotels. Breakfast was adequate, but not very substantial and there was no television reception in any of the rooms - with an early return from Machu Picchu given the last bus leaves before 6 p.m. it made for a very boring evening as there is little else to do in Aguas Calientes. There are definitely better choices for hotel for this area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Comfortable hotel, good location. Included breakfast has good options, lots of fruit. Teas and some fruits (bananas, apples, plumbs) are available throughtout the day at no cost (at the time of writing). Posted price appears expensive ($240/2 people) but we paid through tour operator, so not clear what actual cost might be (likely much less than posted price).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1029gigarange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed in two types of rooms standard on the first floor and one with an in room spa on the third floor. Unfortunately they were doing running repairs on a room on the floor above so for half the day we had no lights and excessive noise of hammering. There are newer hotels worthy of a visit whilst this one tries to lift its game!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else they are currently fixing many problems least of which lighting in the room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaneringKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel does have decent rooms and an ok location if you can are comfortable with walking up flights of stairs and a steep slope from the train station. Every room has a window light above each door and the hall lights make it difficult to really darken your room. Understanding that Aguas Caliente is a very congested town, one needs to be prepared for the barking dogs, roosters and noisy patrons in the bars below. All of which makes it difficult to get a peaceful sleep. So come prepared.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

After 4days trekking, I think any place would have done! But this hotel was very nice. Away from the center, towards the springs so it was a quiet location. Room was clean, bed was very comfy. Breakfast a little boring. Nice views of the mountains from our room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
680 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu

Address: Av. Pachacutec 808 Machupicchu Pueblo Urubamba, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 00000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £64 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing