We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 3* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice 3* hotel”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Nice room, nice beds, good breakfast, good location, friendly and helpful staff.

It is not a 4* hotel. A 3 at best. It's verpriced but it's Machupicchu... There was also quite a bit of construction noise when we were there but only during the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    273
    123
    34
    18
See reviews for
163
331
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder Creek, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were there March 29 and March 30, 2014. We stayed on the third floor and they were doing major construction on the fourth floor. From 7 a.m. until 5 p.m. it sounded like they were doing major construction above us and the reason this was so is that they were doing major construction above us. Unbelievable that they would keep the hotel open while adding a floor or two on top. We asked for a different room immediately but were told there was nothing any better in relation to the construction. As we were here to see Machu Picchu we decided rather than move to another hotel and fight with management over a refund, we would use the hotel for sleeping and keep as far away during the day as possible. Unfortunately we both had a bit of travel-related issues that forced us to keep close to the bathroom so we were in the room more than we had planned on.

Now let's pretend that there was not any construction going on ... how did the hotel rate without the thunder coming from the top floors?

When you first walk into your room it seems nice until you really take a close look. We had a plumbing access panel leaning against the hole that it should have covered in the bathroom.

The duel sinks in the bathroom are very upscale, raised glass models, very nice. Then the shower doors look and work like they came out of a 1950's mobile home.

The toilet clogged up and they immediately sent a person up to fix it and as in every other case he failed to fix it and then called in another person who said it was cleared and left. Still clogged.

The alarm clock did not work. It was broken.

We asked for a wakeup call (would like to get to Machu Picchu early) and they failed to call us! Luckily I was already awake.

The view from the hotel room is a dual view. You have a beautiful backdrop of Machu Picchu-like mountains. But. Then you also have a view of third-world squalor that you would not believe. People living under tarps and doing their early morning business right out there in plain view. Absolutely disgusting. And sad.

I could not figure out how to use the room safe so they sent someone up who fooled with it for a while and then brought someone else in to look at it and the new person could not figure it out so they ended up giving me a key to the safe since they could not figure out how to set a combination. After they left I noticed that the safe was not secured to the wall, it weighed about a pound and could be easily carted off. So no room safe.

There was no bottled drinking water in the room which was a first for all the hotels we stayed at in Peru.

When I checked out I noted all of the above to the nice girl behind the front desk and after giving her the complete run down she had two comments: 1) We keep telling the construction people to make less noise. 2) Would I like to recommend the hotel on TripAdvisor. Auuugggghhhh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dclintondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Older property needing refreshing (painting, etc.) Comfortable beds, fridge worked great, great location, early breakfast for those wanting to get on the mountain early. If you want luxury there are more expensive properties nearby. Hotel is very close (steps) to restaurants and hot springs (bring a swimsuit if that interests you). Moderately steep walk to train and bus (maybe 200 meters).

Given the unique location and proximity to Machiu Picchu it's a reasonable choice.

Room Tip: Started with 106. 203 was a nicer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

we were 3 families (6 adults, 6 teens) and had booked 6 rooms.
1st of all, the hotel was under construction and we did not get any information regarding the inconvenience (noisy work started at 7:00am until 5:00pm).
Rooms don't look like at all at the picture on expediea, booking or any other website. Bathrooms had mildew (most of them - 6 rooms!).
People were not very friendly, breakfast is just ok.
I highly recommand the Albergue in Allantaytambo (very friendly people, organic products) or Rupa Wasi (their Restaurant : the Tree house is a must! creative and tasty, clean kitchen (we could look at it). a hidden gem in Aguas calientes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank copluch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel looked great, but after a day of driving, then train, and then walking up the hill with our belongings, we found that they had lost our reservation! I had a confirmation email with the number printed on us, but it was no good. They had no rooms left and would not be able to take us. The desk clerk offered to call a hotel of similar quality. When it was booked, I asked her twice if they had availability for two nights, in English and Spanish (she spoke excellent English, to her credit, however I wanted to be absolutely sure!). The hotel we were booked into was very low quality by comparison, and absolutely not up to our standards. The next morning the desk clerk informed us that we needed to vacate by the afternoon as we were only booked for one night! I don't know for sure who's fault this was, however the new hotel insisted that Taypikala only asked for one. The whole experience was a total nightmare for our family.
The only credit I can give to Taypikala is that they had someone carry our bags to our new hotel, but it was not enough to make up for the whole debacle. They should have offered to pay for some of the room costs in the new hotel, since I had proof of our original reservation. The clerk did not even apologize.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ande8477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is expanding top floor therefore too noisy during the day with construction.. Avoid top floors. Also a room that could fit my family of 2 adults + 2 children, hotel said that we need to book two rooms although we could fit the entire family in one room.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed overnight on our trip to MP. The staff were very friendly and accommodating - however that is the only thing that I can say was good about this hotel.
Came down from MP and wanted to relax for an hour before exploring the town - no can do - as the hotel is under construction had to put up with banging, drills etc.
Went to have a shower - there was mould all over the roof and on some other surfaces. Not pleasant.
Toilet bowl was cracked in a few places and during the night started to leak.
The walls are paper thin. You hear footsteps of people in the rooms above - plus get woken up at 4:30am from people closing their doors. I even heard them lift the lid on their toilet.
Curtains don't block the light either - so if you can't sleep unless it's dark - go somewhere else.

If staying any longer than a night I would def have changed hotels. In fact I did consider it and during the night I wished I had made a different decision.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#12 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu

Property: Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Address: Av. Pachacutec 808 Machupicchu Pueblo Urubamba, Aguas Calientes 00000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing