We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you're on a budget”
Review of Hostel viajeros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel viajeros
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Decent value for money - breakfast, lunch and dinner included in the price of the stay.

The quality of the food served varies between each meal. If for example you get to breakfast either very early or very late, be prepared to be disappointed. However I had several genuinely good lunches and dinners here and they have a decent array - including vegetarian.

Yes the son of the owner is on the desk quite a bit and speaks limited English. The owner friendly but again seems to speak no English. Both are quite willing to help when you're able to conduct a conversation.

The hostel is quite homey with lots of nice touches - including the towels made in to shapes (swans, flowers etc).
A room with a double bed will feel really cramped if shared with another person (I shared with a friend one evening until she got her own room the following night.) However the room size is sufficient if you are on your own.

Should be a minor quibble but the decor/layout is bizarre. One wall of frosted glass out on to the corridor. There's a curtain for added privacy which doesn't quite cover the width of the window. Similarly the en suite bathroom has a hole in the shower wall about a foot squared (for ventilation) right at the ceiling - again the corridor is on the other side which throws up a few questions about privacy.
Though it should be taken in to consideration that an en suite in a hostel at these prices is really quite good.

Brilliant location. Pizza place and convenience shops right next door, bakery on the corner (the bakery is definitely worth a visit) and is right over the bridge from the market and train station.

I stayed in several hostels during my time in Peru when trekking the inca trail. Viajeros was definitely one of the better ones and for the price and value for money I dare say I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JutteVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed here after completing the Inca Trail; a hotel organised through SAS Travel. The staff were friendly, the room was clean and had hot showers, a definite bonus after a few days hiking. The hotel is 50 metres from the bus stop and 100m from the train station. The staff were incredibly helpful, during the trek, I had food poisoning and the staff put me in a room straight away, gave me water and bought medicines for me free of charge. Wifi and meals included. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danhtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night at the end of a 4D/3N trek with a group of 11 prior to going to Machu Picchu. The hostel was part of the paid package and arranged by SAS tours; apparently they manage this hostel. Multiple people in our group complained of ant and roaches in their rooms. Breakfast consisted of one piece of bread, juice and coffee (meager compared to the great breakfasts we were eating on the trail). Returned for an included buffet lunch following our day on Machu Picchu. No less than 4 of 11 in our group ended up getting food poisoning following lunch making the train and bus ride back to Cusco quite messy. Not a way to end a once in a lifetime visit to Machu Picchu. Note: I've heard because most everyone must pass through Agua Caliente and typically stay for one night that hotels/hostels do not make an effort to provide a quality product...that is unfortunate given that people pay good money for a positive experience of a lifetime.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent 1 night at Hostel Viajeros after doing the 1 day hike of the Inca Trail through SAS. After reading the reviews we were a bit nervous of what the expect, but the experience was much better than expected. We stayed in a triple room which had a bunk bed and single bed with a private bathroom. While the room was simple, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean & had a hot shower with good water pressure. All of the staff was very friendly and having WiFi was an added bonus! While the food wasn't the best, it was decent & I liked how the tables were set up in a sort of "family style" way. Viajeros in located right near the bus stop to/from Machu Picchu which was also an added bonus.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alexandria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed in Viajeros for one night after the inkatrail and before the trip to the inka ruins. It's a hostel with sigle beds and bunkbeds and just what you pay for. SAS Travel had arranged both lunch and dinner here, which is nothing to brag about – we had both lunch and dinner out. We didn't have a light in the bathroom, which is a really simple and easy thing to fix. The wifi works only in the reception area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sverreflem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent the last night of our 4-day Inca Trail trek, organised through SAS Travel in Cusco, at Hostal Viajeros, as recommended. The hotel itself is well located in the centre of Aguas Callientes and is very friendly but our room was very, very small and very basic with just two single beds and a small private shower and WC. It was necessary to run the shower for more than 5 minutes to get hot water and a leaky base meant the bathroom floor flooded! Somewhat disappointing after the "luxury" of Hotel Marqueses in Cusco (also recommended by SAS Travel) and the 3 nights' privations on the Inca Trail itself! Our final SAS trek group lunch was at Hostal Viajeros and our reservation included supper and breakfast the following morning so was probably reasonably good value but on balance I'm afraid I would certainly suggest upgrading to somewhere more comfortable!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

SAS travel booked this hotel for us as we had to cancel the Inka trail. Someone from the hotel picked us up from the train station on behalf of SAS travel, unfortunately he was 20 min late.
The room was small with 2 single beds and no windows. The pillow was so thin that I had to use my wet shower towel underneath the pillow to make it higher. The water in the shower needed a very long time to heat up. To have no natural light but instead a glass wall towards the corridor makes the room quite inhospitable . The worst thing was the food. Unfortunately, dinner, breakfast and lunch were included as part of the deal from SAS. The dinner was the worst we ever had in Peru, even the cheapest 3,50 Soles menu places were much tastier than what this hotel had to offer. The breakfast the next morning wasn't any better: the only place where not even the standard jam and butter and coffee was offered. Only tea, no milk, 2 sweat bread rolls with scrambled egg, a banana and the cheapest ( not fresh ) orange juice you could buy. Lunch the next day was a buffet for the whole group returning from the Inca trail. They offered soup, but no bowls, so we had to use the soup as sauce supplement on top of rice or pasta. Again , not very tasteful. My recommendation for SAS travel would be to choose another hotel to work with. Otherwise , there is the danger that the poor service of this hotel is impacting the high reputation of SAS.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussimaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Wiracocha Inn
Wiracocha Inn
#16 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita ...
#4 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adelas's Hostel
Adelas's Hostel
#2 of 45 in Aguas Calientes
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hospedaje Veronica
Hospedaje Veronica
#26 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Ecopackers Machupicchu
#3 of 45 in Aguas Calientes
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hatuchay Inn Restaurante & Hotel
Hatuchay Inn Restaurante & Hotel
#14 of 39 in Machu Picchu
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel viajeros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel viajeros

Address: Calle sinchi roca n4, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel viajeros 3*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing