We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a place to sleep”
Review of Hostel viajeros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel viajeros
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just a place to sleep”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very basic accommodations and fair dinner. Wi-Fi worked well & staff was helpful. Only breakfast available was some bread, jam & coffee. Hostel was included in our package so we don’t know what the cost was.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrylweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    16
    19
    18
    16
See reviews for
11
29
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This hostel is in a laneway off the main street of Aguas Calientes, only 5 mins walk from the train station, so the location is great. However, that is the only thing this hostel has going for it. The rooms have no external windows, only a window to the corridor which means to get any ventilation you have to hear every conversation of people going past, and in the other rooms. The roof leaked over the stairwell during a brief rainstorm, and there was a problem with the plumbing next door which meant water leaked into our bathroom. The bathroom door wouldn't close properly. The young man at the front desk was surly, and like the other staff, was far more interested in watching football on TV than serving customers. He didn't seem to speak or even understand English. I don't expect staff to speak English just because it's my language, but I do expect them to have some basics because English is spoken so widely by the rest of the world, and those who don't speak Spanish.
Lunch and dinner were awful. Lunch was overcooked spaghetti with no sauce, lukewarm rice, stroganoff with really tough meat, and a token bit of cucumber and tomato. There were two vegetarians in our group who had been given fantastic food by the chefs on our Inca Trail trek, but they had to have dry pasta and rice for lunch. Dinner wasn't any improvement. This place is owned by SAS Travel (with a manager in place), but if you're doing a trek with them (which was really excellent) I'd suggest just taking the standard 4-day trek and asking them to book your train ticket a day later and book your own place in Aguas Calientes if you want to stay over. The town is very pretty, and worth staying to see.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emba999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

St. Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My family, father and I arrived at the hostal, a little taken aback by first impression of messy lobby and loud TV going on at entrance. Wilfredo met us at the desk, confirmed our reservation and was very helpful directing us to bus and Machu Picchu tickets, let us check in early and store baggage. The rooms are sparse but clean, all with private baths/showers, we were given all the extra towels and pillows requested, and informed that dinner was at 7:30 and they would have a 6 am breakfast ready for us the next day before climbing, all included in lodgings. After hiking all day, returned to hostal for a rest and home-cooked meal, my picky eater even cleaned her plate. Beds comfortable, slept fine. Breakfast was filling, even included cookies to take on our climb. Wilfredo allowed us to store baggage and hot shower after return late in day.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms farthest down hall from, lobby/street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My stay here was the perfect place prior to a day at Machu Picchu. Although the hostel is basic, the room was clean and welcoming, shower was hot and Wilfredo who was on duty couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. He went out of his way to ensure I had all the information I needed and even came with me to get a bus ticket. I got an early morning call and breakfast as requested.
A very convenient location for the bus and train.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here at the end of an SAS travel-arranged tour of the Inca Trail (as they own or manage it, not entirely clear on this point) and were pretty disappointed as the tour had been quite decent.

The main issue was the cleanliness. The room we were given looked like it hadn’t been cleaned, or barely – the second (single) bed was unmade, the main double bed had no pillows as they were piled on the other bed, and the sheets felt slept in. There were also no towels or loo paper. One of the staff members inspected the room before giving us the key so presumably he considered the level of cleanliness to be acceptable. We had also been really looking forward to a shower after four nights camping but the bathrooms were so dirty that I still felt grubby after a shower!

Weirdly, the rooms – at least on our floor – all had glass walls facing into the corridor. They had curtains but these still left gaps so it really wasn’t the best for privacy.

One particularly high point of our SAS tour was the really impressive food the chef was able to whip up for a group of people on camping stoves. That’s why it was particularly galling to be served rubbish food when we got off the trail and into a town – breakfast in particular wasn’t much more than stale bread, and we weren’t offered any choice of meals at all for dinner (included in our package) so bad luck if you don’t like breaded chicken.

One plus point is that the manager (Wilfred I think) was quite friendly. His English was pretty limited (I asked for white wine and got a bottle of Merlot) but he did try to be helpful. But it definitely wasn’t enough to make up for the grubbiness. Stay elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneInLondonStill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My stay at Vijeros was very satisfactory, very good attention, excellent food, good shower and wi-fi in the room that was very nice and the staff very attentive, asking everything you gave me. Very good location close to buses and train station.
 
If you are looking to travel Wilfred in the know to make your ride Machupicchu very nice, has very important information for you.

Mary - Quebec - Canadá

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank premisario1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Decent value for money - breakfast, lunch and dinner included in the price of the stay.

The quality of the food served varies between each meal. If for example you get to breakfast either very early or very late, be prepared to be disappointed. However I had several genuinely good lunches and dinners here and they have a decent array - including vegetarian.

Yes the son of the owner is on the desk quite a bit and speaks limited English. The owner friendly but again seems to speak no English. Both are quite willing to help when you're able to conduct a conversation.

The hostel is quite homey with lots of nice touches - including the towels made in to shapes (swans, flowers etc).
A room with a double bed will feel really cramped if shared with another person (I shared with a friend one evening until she got her own room the following night.) However the room size is sufficient if you are on your own.

Should be a minor quibble but the decor/layout is bizarre. One wall of frosted glass out on to the corridor. There's a curtain for added privacy which doesn't quite cover the width of the window. Similarly the en suite bathroom has a hole in the shower wall about a foot squared (for ventilation) right at the ceiling - again the corridor is on the other side which throws up a few questions about privacy.
Though it should be taken in to consideration that an en suite in a hostel at these prices is really quite good.

Brilliant location. Pizza place and convenience shops right next door, bakery on the corner (the bakery is definitely worth a visit) and is right over the bridge from the market and train station.

I stayed in several hostels during my time in Peru when trekking the inca trail. Viajeros was definitely one of the better ones and for the price and value for money I dare say I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JutteVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Wiracocha Inn
Wiracocha Inn
#17 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inka Tower Machupicchu Hotel
Inka Tower Machupicchu Hotel
#4 of 38 in Machu Picchu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hatuchay Inn Restaurante & Hotel
Hatuchay Inn Restaurante & Hotel
#8 of 38 in Machu Picchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita ...
#4 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waynapata
Waynapata
#4 of 35 in Machu Picchu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adelas's Hostel
Adelas's Hostel
#2 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel viajeros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel viajeros

Property: Hostel viajeros
Address: Calle sinchi roca n4, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel viajeros 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostel viajeros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing