We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Staff gets 5 stars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Supertramp Eco Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Supertramp Eco Hostel
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Staff gets 5 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed 3 nights at this well run hostel. The beds were comfortable. It was clean. The showers were HOT and had great pressure. But the staff stand out as the best feature, however; and not just one or two of them, but everyone there was so helpful and friendly. The rooftop patio/bar is lovely. The attached restaurant serves delicious and affordable food (10% off for guests). You can hear noise from the street and guests do get up ridiculously early to start their ascent to Machu Picchu so, as with all hostels, pack your earplugs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romaviajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    166
    80
    17
    13
See reviews for
16
113
173
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Noise: all the rooms are around a central courtyard which contains reception and a tv/computer area. The staff seem to just sit around chilling here all day/night watching the TV loudly or talking loudly: very antisocial and led to a bad night's sleep. The bar upstairs also had music blaring all night (very easily heard in all rooms). And I'm fairly sure it was just the bargirl and another member of staff up there all night.

Scam: staff weren't particularly helpful and when they weighed our laundry they started the scales on 2kg. We got them to change it but they would have overcharged us massively if we hadn't.

Vibe: the place portrays itself as this cool, alternative hostel. When you arrive they tell you that it's all for packbackers and is the cheapest place in town. In reality the bar is very expensive and the restaurant is more expensive than most we found in town. Just a load of posers. A real alternative, eco back packer hostel doesn't treat you the way we were treated.

Lies: on hostelworld it said that they had a kitchen but when we got there it was a restaurant! They had removed the 'kitchen' facility the day before we got there but we had booked over a month in advance and the kitchen had clearly been long gone. In such an expensive town not having a kitchen will cost you dearly! When we addressed it with them they barely apologised. The decent thing to do would have been to offer us a big discount on their pizzas or discount the room price.

The location is fine, not too far from the main drag and near the train station.

Beds were okay but the whole room smelt of dodgy disinfectant.

Showers were ok but as soon as someone got in another one all the pressure and heat went out of them. No point having 6 showers if only one works at a time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fridgebridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at Supertramp hostel and are very impressed with the attentive, friendly, caring staff. The owner was also quite fair and generous.

While Lonely Planet is usually correct, in this instance they list kitchen access as one of the features of Supertramp, which doesn't turn out to be true. Not Supertramp's fault at all.

Room Tip: The two private two-bed-rooms have little or no ventilation. The dorms seemed just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicklewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The staff was really nice and very helpful. Overall the place was clean and the mood, very chill. The upstairs sitting area was a great place to meet people while having a few drinks. The restaurant was surprisingly good, probably the best food I had during our 2.5 days in Aguas.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I wont go in to detail about my machu picchu tour but it ended badly with no train tickets home and no accomodation in auguas. we went to supertramp where our rsvp was supposed to be but they were full with no mention of our rsvp. this was our tour agencies fault not supertramp. after crying because all had failed in aguas, there was no room anywhere, we came back to supertramp and asked her if she could call some places for us. we needed to cancel our rsvp on a tour that was supposed to leave the next day but since our tickets didnt exist we had to cancel. she did this no problem for us. she also called around to a few other hostels only to find out that they were full. she then offered me adn my friend her bed. HER OWN BED!!! i dont know where she slept but i was very thankful. the resturant attatched has great food. its not central agua but then u dont want to be because everythign is so busy in the middle. its only about a 10 min walk away. close to stores. hot showers. free computers. really comfy beds. i would definatelly go back!

Room Tip: 10 bed dorm had no windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abarrongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This spot is really well run, the owners are very friendly. The restaurant attached, Palate, is a hip new spot that would be at home in Brooklyn as much as it is in Peru. The food there is definitely a few steps up from any other restaurant you'd find nearby.

Room Tip: Get a room that is not facing the plaza, it was very noisy until the wee hours the night we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank energirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Staff was super friendly and helpful in all endeavors and inquiries. Hostel is clean, chill, relaxing vibe. Restaurant is delicious and has high quality food and chefs ;) Would definitely recommend to others and would stay here again. I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
44.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
44.4 mi away
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Ecopackers Machupicchu
#3 of 42 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
44.4 mi away
Casa MachuPicchu Hostel
Casa MachuPicchu Hostel
#5 of 42 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.3 mi away
Adelas's Hostel
Adelas's Hostel
#2 of 42 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 387 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Supertramp Hostel Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Supertramp Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Supertramp Eco Hostel

Property: Supertramp Eco Hostel
Address: Calle Chaskatika, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUPERTRAMP Machu Picchu is located on the very urban heart of Machupicchu town (Aguas Calientes). Our goal is to make you feel at home, whether it's one night or one week, for you to feel comfortable and at joy during your stay is what we aim for. We have dorms, private rooms, a rooftop bar and our restaurant Palate next door. Our family-like staff is willing to help you with anything you may need during your stay (directions, advice, recommendations, etc). SUPERTRAMP Hostel isn't just a place to stay, it is a small home away from home, a place to relax, have fun and rest while enjoying your visit to Machu Picchu. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing