We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Hatun Pachamama

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aguas Calientes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hatun Pachamama
Ranked #46 of 79 Aguas Calientes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed in the suite for 4 nights and were quite happy for the price we paid. Our room had a massive king sized bed which was very, very comfortable. We liked our location and enjoyed walking around there. It can be noisy, not from street noise but other guests who have no respect when getting up in the morning. I'm sure that happens in a lot of places. Our bathroom did get a bit wet due to a bad design when they put in the spa bath but we just asked for extra towels to use as bath mats. We found the staff always helpful and nice. English wasn't fantastic but we always got by. They organized our laundry and it was an absolute bargain. If money was no object we would py 400+ a night but for those on a budget with REALISTIC expectations (due to where u are) I would recommend them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee-Arne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

The room promised on Booking.com was:
Room 1, Double Room
This spacious room features a double bed, LCD satellite TV, seating area, a fully equipped kitchenette, private bathroom with shower, CD and DVD player, and a balcony with a street view. max. 2 people.

This was not the room we received at Royal Inti Inn. We had 2 twin beds, a TV that barely worked with only 2 channels in Spanish only, no kitchenette, no CD or DVD played, no balcony or street view.
One of the many staff members was kind, the rest were quite rude. And, the blankets smelled musty.
I was disappointed that we did not get the promised room and will not book here in the future. Additionally, I tried to contact the owner and never got a response.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amyelizabeth80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel in May 2012 during a trip to Machu Pichu. Despite its proximity to the train station, we were not impressed with the hotel due to the following reasons:

- Under-average breakfast: literally only bread and bananas
- Rooms are close to noisy street (even at night)
- Small room: no wardrobe and other clothes storage facilities

Too expensive for the offered services.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the opposite side of the street (if available).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghibser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Our Machu Picchu tour operator booked this hotel as part of the trekking tour. The stay was not pleasant.

Upon check-in, we were shown 2 rooms to choose from: one was right next to the hotel entrance with a window facing the street, and the other with a window facing the hotel lobby. All the windows looked like made of acrylic panels (I could be wrong), and we didn't feel safe taking the room facing the street, so we took the one facing the lobby. There was no soundproof in the room, and the noise and voices from the lobby disturbed us till late in the night.

The water pressure in the shower was decent, and water was hot (though my friend experienced lukewarm water occasionally). However, the water did not drain in the tub, and after 2 people taking shower, it was above-ankle deep. The shower flooded the bathroom floor too - not sure if it was the splashes from the shower or leak from the tub - and the water was still there when we left the hotel next morning. There was no shampoo/conditioner, not even a bar of soap provided in the bathroom. Because of the poor ventilation, the room was very humid and smelled stuffy.

Breakfast was included, but they do not start serving breakfast till 5am. It's plenty early you may think, but there are lots of people like us trying to catch the first bus to Machu Picchu to see the sunrise, and we had to be in the queue at the bus stop around 5am to ensure we got on the early bus. Considering that 100% of the hotel guests are heading out to Machu Picchu, (even though not all of them are taking the 5:30am bus,) I feel they could have started the breakfast earlier.

Despite all these shortcomings, the experience could have been better had they had good service. After all, hospitality makes a huge difference! Well, NOT THE CASE HERE. We wrote some postcards from Machu Picchu, and we asked the staff at the front desk to mail them for us. The postcards were addressed, had appropriate postage and everything. And he said to us, paying guests, that we had to pay him money for the inconvenience that would cause him.

In Aguas Calientes, most hotels looked either extremely fancy and expensive, or extremely shabby. This hotel is probably not the worst for the price, but poor facility condition combined with complete lack of service or hospitality makes this hotel not recommendable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

As a hotel/inn, this one is not really good. However, most of the choices in Aguas Calientes don't appear much better and that's why I'm being a bit generous here with the rating. Most hotels in Aguas Calientes look like run-down, haphazardly-built shacks.

The room was so-so clean and okay size (I've seen much smaller in Peru), the bathroom was cleaner. To get hot water in the shower, you have to turn the hot water on full. If you only turn it halfway, it doesn't get hot. And the hot shower is a powerful one so you'll be sure to be clean! The bathroom has a ventilation hole in the wall that leads out to the atrium like others mentioned so it can get really loud in your room if someone is talking in the lobby. One morning there were 2 Chilean women (I saw their passports later) who were talking loudly and non stop for about an hour from about 5:30 am to 6:30 am in the lobby. Other travelers can be really oblivious!

The staff - 2 women - are not that helpful, especially the one with shoulder-length hair. She doesn't smile, looks bored and doesn't speak a word of english and when you ask for toilet paper, you won't get any. The longer-haired woman didn't speak much more english but at least she smiled.

Our tour operator/organizer chose this hotel for us. Apparently the one they normally book is worst than the Pachamama Inn. We passed by it and it did appear worse.

Despite other reviewers mentioning a restaurant it doesn't exist anymore. They turned it into a room so there is no breakfast or coffee available.

If you can find a better hotel for a similar price, book it. If you have no other choice, this one will do. Just roll with it!

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't vent out to the atrium, otherwise you'd be advised to wear ear pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scout416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Although there are some problems, as noted by other reviewers (windows only out to atrium, and therefore not enough ventilation) I have to say that for hot water and water pressure, this was the best shower I had in 18 days in Peru. The rooms were clean, and the noise that kept me awake was from a birthday party in the building next door, not the hotel's fault.

Also, the tour company screwed up some of out tickets, and the manager/owner (I think his name was Claudio), was the problem-solver who saved the day for us. We had no return tickets from Aguas to Poroy and the person who did the briefing knew nothing. Claudio was the one who suggested that the agency could fax the ticket to his restaurant, and he would have the ticket and our luggage at the restaurant by 1p.m. the next day. And after phoning the agency in Cusco for us, he arranged it all.
Thanks!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyhenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Not a great hotel. We went as part of a motorcycle group. Not sure what the other rooms were like, but ours was the first one as you came in through the broken glass door. Nothing here.. no phone, no internet, no TV.. just the hole in the bathroom that lead out onto the reception. The breakfast in the morning was bread and jam.. if you don't expect much, you shouldn't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellsorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,129 reviews
0 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,892 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
#9 of 84 in Aguas Calientes
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0 mi away
Machupicchu Royal B&B
Machupicchu Royal B&B
#47 of 84 in Aguas Calientes
14 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatun Pachamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatun Pachamama

Address: Calle Chaska tika 109, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 84, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Hotel Class:2 star — Hatun Pachamama 2*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing