We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2007

This hotel was absolutely wonderful, the grounds and the room itself were spectacular. The room was large with a huge walk-in shower and a gorgeous open fire which we had lit in the evening. The food both dinner and breakfast was brilliant with a great choice.

Time didn't allow, but I would love to have stayed here for more than just the one night.

The hotel is about ten minute walk to the centre of the village where the buses ran up to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmonster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,068 - 2,074 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2007

We stayed 2 nights at the Inkaterra Machu Picchu. The location is very close to the train and bus stop for Machu Picchu. The hotel is located in a cloud forest so the garden is very lush. There are also many humming birds to entertain you. Our package came with a guide who we met at Machu Picchu for our tour. The tour lasted about 3 hours, 1/2 longer than scheduled, but you don't really notice the time as you are touring around the city.

If you are planning on climbing Wayna Picchu, the hill behind Machu Picchu, arrive early, before 8am, to sign up for the first group or get your ticket stamped for the second group. They only allow 400 people up in 2 groups of 200 each, one at 8am and the other at 10am. Since there was fog, we elected to go in the second the group at 10am, so we got our ticket stamped, you don't have to wait in line to get your ticket stamped. Just find the guy with the clipboard near the gate to Wayna Picchu and get your ticket stamped, then you can walk around the city until 10am.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkinMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

This is a top class hotel, with prices accordingly. The grounds are absolutely amazing: a private miniature cloud forest with many bird species , including many species of tanagers, hummingbirds and even Andean Cock-of-the-Rock !

The hotel goes over the top with some silly things, like personal bath robes. However, there are a few faults which could easily be rectified:

No safe in the room! We were obliged to take our documents to reception who put them in an envelope. This is a very backward system for such a high class hotel, and was no good for larger items, or those to which we need ready access, like binoculars and camera. We did not feel it was safe to leave them in the room, since the back door would not lock, and the maid at one stage left the front door open!

Although the breakfasts were excellent, the dinners were far too rich/spicey/fancy. For the first two nights I suffered from stomach problems, requiring doses of immodium. On the third night I asked for completely plain chicken and chips, and after that i was OK. Suggest they add some plain items to the menu.

Despite a few faults, and a high price, I would recommend this hotel to other birdwatchers.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Des Langford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

Probably the best mix of luxury and value in this tourist town of Aguas Calientes (Machu Picchu Pueblo). It is isolated enough from the rest of the town to avoid the clamor, but close enough to be withing reasonable walking distance.

The room was amazing, especially the balcony in the cloud forest. There is no TV, but if you really need it, you can request it. The food is quite good from the Cafe Inkaterra across the railroad track. Unlike others who have commented here, I had no issues with service except for the luggage retrieval in the train station on the return trip. That was needlessly confusing (one bag here, one bag there, and the last still in the hotel), but it was resolved promptly.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jevangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

After our four-day Inca Trail hike our travel agent (Amazing Peru) booked us one night in this hotel. It was like a dream.

Take one look at the pictures that other reviewers have posted if you have any questions about whether this is the kind of hotel that you would want to stay at. I thought it was beautiful. I loved the layout of the hotel -- small cabins set amid lushly landscaped grounds -- was amazing.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank bkesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

This charming hotel is located a short bus ride away from the ruins, however, I don't regret staying at this hotel one bit!! The experience and the accommodations were wonderful, the greeting at the train station was a great surprise. The rooms are charming with a fireplace to keep you warm, the bathroom was amazing and the added amenities made you fell like you were at a spa. The dining at the hotel was incredible, as well as the tea, coffee afternoon service and the pisco sours in the evening!! Don't pass this hotel up!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lapuni00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

Inkaterra was beautiful. It was our honeymoon and we had a fabulous time. Every time we returned to our marvelous suite they had left another surprise gift for us - food, water bottle carriers, branded caps.

Our suite was amazing - with a fireplace, eating area, outdoor resting area, outdoor shower and hot tub. All set in the most beautiful landscaping.

The food was exceptional and at night they light candles to light your way on the paths.

A truly magical place to stay. The orchid tour was amazing. We didn't get to see the spectacled bears because that tour was not offered that day. But it was all incredible.

The best hotel I've ever stayed in in my life. We even decided we'd venture into the jungle (we're afraid of bugs) if we could do it with Inkaterra.

Don't stay anywhere else in Aguas Calientes!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCPAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,892 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#2 of 30 in Machu Picchu
2,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
2,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £321 - £535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing