We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury oasis on a south american odyssey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A luxury oasis on a south american odyssey”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Travelled with family from Lima, Peru to Santiago, Chile via Bolivia for a month, mostly overland. Had to keep overall costs down but this was definitely the place to splurge. Macchu Picchu pueblo is a fairly tacky tourist village and most of the hotels nothing special and crammed in. Inkaterra is set apart in it´s own grounds in an area of cloud forest with marvellous birs, butterflies, orchids and it´s own bear sanctuary. Tranquil and luxurious. Rooms are bungalows scattered in the trees. In the dry season it is cold at night but staff will make up log fires in your bungalow on request. Food excellent Peruvian cuisine with good Chilean and Argentine wines. Main swimming pool small and cold but after hot spring pools above a refreshing relief. I would go again if given half a chance. Actually here in July 2011 not September but limited menu range. A great range of nature treks and walking. Sublime butterflies. Only downside (not really a downside) is railway line runs quite close so some noise.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaitero61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,763
    549
    152
    57
    44
See reviews for
525
1,235
77
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This hotel was booked for us by Meike at Imagine Latin America, whose service we were really thrilled with in organizing our 2-week Peru trip. This was clearly the best hotel in Machu Picchu and it looks the part, with thatched premises sprawled over a slope in the town, blending into the jungly plants which surround each set of cabins. The communal parts of the hotel are beautifully designed, with roaring log fires and comfortable plush sofas and armchairs. There is a central pool with 2 hot tub sections - piping hot, but it could have been cleaner.

The downsides:
1. Since everyone staying there is off to Machu Picchu at sunrise, there is a rugby scrum at breakfast time. We could not even get a table at 5:45 am and had to eat our breakfast standing up until one became free. Nor were there enough staff to clear tables, so we ate with the previous guests' dirty crockery around us.
2. Not all rooms are of the same standard. We were originally put in one with very little light, a bit pokey, no furniture except a bed and with a view of a blank wall. When we asked to move, we were put in an upstairs room with two armchairs, lamps and a view over treetops (albeit with some electricity wires strung right across the window).
3. We roasted at night as we did not realize until the next morning that there were plug-in heaters blasting out that the turn-down service had switched on.

Still, overall we were very pleased with the experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lis-Clara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

If you like pretty places you'll like this lovely hotel. Just be aware that you're a number and there's no hospitality offered. Food is very heavy gourmet fare. Not so easy to stomach at such a high altitude. And included in the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcoNikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This hotel is worth every penny. We stayed here for one night in between two days hiking at Machu Picchu. As compared with our other hotels on our 12 day trip - this was an Oasis. It is nesteled at the far end of Aguas Calientes butting up against a beautiful wooded area. We saw a cock of the rock and many many other animals/birds. The hotel offers many programs (i wish i would've known about to plan in). They have orchids (and a garden) to tour where new species have been found on the property. They have bird tours, and many other activities. Check ahead to take full advantage of what the propery offers. Wonderful service, wonderful food, wonderful property. Was tied as my favorite hotel the whole trip.

Room Tip: Ask if upgrades are available. We were upgraded and it was so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schunkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

If you are planning a Machu Picchu excursion, this hotel is worth every penny. It is an absolutely beautiful property attended by an excellent stafff. Our "room" (it was more like your own private villa)- had a gorgeous outdoor space with shower off the rocks, a hot tub and a lovely cabana style bed to relax in while you breathed the amazing air listened to the sounds of the rainforest. The bathroom was extraordinary. The food is great here and all of the staff are friendly and very competent. A short and pleasant walk takes you over the waterfall into the quaint town of Aguas Calientes where you catch the buses to Machu Picchu. Highly recommend this hotel as a part of this once in a lifetime trip!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragtopBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

After reading all the reviews I was very worried about staying at Inkaterra i.e. lack of hot water, slow service, no information in the rooms and so on.

I am a very fussy traveler who likes 5 star hotels. We stayed at Inkaterra for 3 nights in June 2011 with 2 children.

My experience could not have been nicer. If you expect a 5 star Hyatt hotel experience, than this is not it. If you have visited nature lodges or eco-lodges before, than this is as good as it gets.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and warm (there is a heater in the room). Fireplaces are fantastic and it takes no effort to make a fire as there is a large bowl of paraffin infused crystals to make it easy. My 11 year old had a great time doing it.

The chalets are located next to a river so expect some rain and moisture. The gardens are wonderful to walk in, with lots of birds.

Each room now has an information brochure which provides all the necessary information about what is available. No crazy briefings on arrival!

We had absolutely no problems with hot water.

Bathrooms were very nice, modern and clean.

There is no TV (I think you can ask for one if you are desperate). However the atmosphere is so fantastic that bringing a good book along is a better option than watching TV.

Service was good and food was great.

There are great hot water spring pools - so bring a costume.

The walk from the train station takes 5 minutes. All luggage is taken from you by porters from the hotel at the station so you can proceed to the buses to Machu Picchu immediately on arrival.

By the way, there is a lot of crazy comments about how far from Machu Picchu the hotel is. The truth is that apart from one hotel at the entrance to Machu Picchu, everyone else has to take one of the buses from town which run continuously (as soon as one fills up it takes off). The drive, as much as it takes 20 min, is incredible as the views are fantastic! It is part of the experience! It is a zig-zag road up so you can enjoy the scenery. No effort whatsoever!! The walk to the bus is 5 min from the hotel. However, the walk is along the river and through a market - so really it is a great experience.

Overall I was incredibly impressed and would go back anytime.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank capevisit0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel is a fitting complement to the stunning sites at Machu Piccho. Rooms are in small blocks set in the rain forest grounds.

Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Small sitting area with table and comfortable chairs looking over the grounds. Only a shower in the bathroom.

Staff conduct nature tours of the grounds -orchids and wild life. But just walking through them you see humming birds. A path takes you to a view of the river and rail track.

You cross the rail track to get to one restaurant and can watch the tourists leave to return to Cusco as you eat your meal.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,029 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
2,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Property: Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing