We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were sore, tired, hungry after hiking the Inca trail, down Machu Picchu, then a bus ride and hike through the town of Aguas Calientes. We crossed the river, entered Inkaterra. We walked the stone pathways through the foliage, listening to the rushing water and entered our bungalow...where we found heaven in Peru. The large, spacious room, luxurious bed, beautiful window views of tropical plants, the roof tiles and the mountain fog- all was comforting and comfortable. Room had a natural look with heavy wood, tiles and the windows views brought the mountain into our room. Bungalows felt secluded due to the units are sprawled out on acres of a former tea plantation, sadly we had no time to explore its beauty. We had a very rainy day and the paths were wet, trees dripped on you...the hotel has umbrellas to borrow- but bring good rain gear! The staff was so friendly and supportive, the restaurant was superb- a foodie delight- with excellent wines and pisco sours! Loved how it sits between the 2 train tracks and you can feel the train rumbling by while you are eating. Highly recommend the gift shop for its alpaca selections. The alpaca clothing quality and prices are as good/better as in Lima or Cusco. Also it's an easy walk into town for shopping and diverse restaurants. You would think PIZZA is a national cuisine. We loved our 3 days in the cloud forest...and would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: some rooms have fireplaces but we were so tired from touring and hiking who would want to make a fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,763
    550
    152
    57
    44
See reviews for
525
1,235
77
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

What a wonderful surprise. This is a fabulous place to stay while visiting Machu Picchu. You are immersed in a tropical rainforest with amazing flora and fauna. The food is great and the service and staff are very well trained and incredibly friendly. The casitas are charming with your own real fire place. The town is just over the bridge as well as the train station and bus depot to Machu Picchu. Don't miss this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stunning 5 acre estate at base of Machu Picchu. All sorts of birds, plants, and flowers surround this oasis. Individual cabins very nicely appointed and well maintained. Great service, wonderful restaurant, and lovely amenities. Unfortunately our tour only scheduled one night here but it was memorable and a place to return to, indeed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyMac45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is the nicest place- when you get off of the train you have no idea how close it is, but walking up their stairs puts you in paradise. You are literally a minute or two walk to town, and you can go to the markets in Agues Caliente (now referred to as Machu Picchu Pueblo). The rooms are very zen- no clocks or TVs, and some rooms have fireplaces with wood stocked nicely outside the door. The food is excellent and I recommend the Quinoa Pancakes for breakfast as well as the corn souffle for dinner appetizer. Gorgeous common areas to walk around, and the bar/library/indoor areas are beautiful as well. They have a nature walk and several on-site activities. Perfect to spoil yourself- stay here with more access to town and enjoy your down-time after climbing around Machu Picchu. The staff and waiters are professional and very friendly. Perfect, perfect, perfect. I would recommend staying here and going to Machu Picchu (lunch up there) but lounge here and feel like a tourist celebrity.
5- Star for everything.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but a fireplace is extra special. One in the back (farther from the entrance) is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiewoozie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

When you walk through the small town at the base of Machu Picchu you would never guess this absolutely stunning hotel/lodge complex is even here, and once inside the grounds you feel miles from the rest of the world.
Set in the cloud forest this hotels rooms are actually small 4 room lodges with pathways lined with flowers and hummingbird feeders. We had a very bossy one that reigned over his patch from a branch right outside our window.
There are also different trails you can walk and take guided tours. One of the best bits tho is the Spectacled Bear project that is based there. It's is more than worth the fee charged, which is towards the non profit project. Even if you don't stay in this hotel you can book to come to the bear project, I would highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SMcKay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Wow! What an incredible place to stay! This place is more of a resort than hotel. You could easily spend a week here just relaxing and taking advantage of their excursions. It's a great base from which to explore Machu Picchu. The staff was terrific, restaurant is outstanding, and the amenities are terrific.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

There is not much to see and do in Aguas Calientes, therefore this hotel is the best place to stay. This place has a very nice setting. Bungalows in a lush tropical vegetation, with birds, a small stream and just along the river.
We had booked a superior deluxe room and got upgraded to a junior suite with terras and view over the river. We dined at their restaurant also with view on the river and were pleased with the friendly service and food. The breakfast buffet was also good.
The next day the hotel held our luggage and delivered them to the station just in time before our departure. Great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KvG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,030 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 4 in Machu Picchu
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
2,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Property: Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing