We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rustic charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

A property tucked away in Aguas Calientes, in the valley below the mystical ancient Incan citadel Machu Picchu!

Lovely outdoor hot tub and great activities included in the tariff accompanied with great service and very good meals too! A place I would recommend for visitors to Machu Picchu who want an eco friendly unique product vs something mainstream.

If you're on a tight budget then the trendy El Mapi might be for you, but if you can indulge a little, this is the property to be at!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UniqueBoutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for recommending Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,659
    511
    136
    52
    42
See reviews for
476
1,164
74
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel simply took my breath away. I was escorting a group to Machu Picchu ad we were originally booked at El Mapi, also an Inkaterra property. They were overbooked and we got a free upgrade to this incredible place.

Set in acres of manicured rainforest, the hotel was peaceful, serene, relaxing, extremely well appointed and just lovely. Beds are very comfortable and the rooms have fireplaces and lovely river view. We got 5 star service and a free dinner which was easily the best food I ate in Peru. Plus the breakfast was just terrific. We sat on the patio and watched the river rush by then availed ourselves of the free guided walking trips around the hotel grounds: bird watching, an orchid tour, a local herb tour, and the tea plantation tour which included picking, rolling and bagging the tea growing on the grounds. We also walked over every inch of the property, including the fern jungle where we saw numerous beautiful birds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetPeeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

We are really glad you enjoyed your experience at our property and appreciate the time you took to share your kind comments with us.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here as part of our REI tour of Machu Picchu; had no idea this hotel was part of the package. You leave the little shopping / town area, walk over a bridge and seconds later you're transported to a lush oasis. In fairness the rooms, while lovely, are nothing special; it's the property that's amazing. Imagine being lulled to sleep by the sound of rushing water from the gentle downhill running water a few steps from your window. We only had one night so did not have time to explore what seemed to be incredible grounds, including an orchid garden and more. The lobby was a wonderful, classy and well appointed place to relax and connect with my iPad, and the restaurant was wonderful. Even the coffee was excellent! Staff was accommodating, great about getting our bags to the train. Really an extraordinary place to wander and relax, wish I had had more time there. One thing worth nothing - the key ring is a little ridiculous, it's enormous, like a old fashioned jailer's ring, and so heavy it's like a weapon…but I suppose that was a conversation starter.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We debated between a stay at the Inkaterra or The Sanctuary and felt that we made the right choice. Since we stayed 3 nights, there was plenty of time to experience Machu Picchu. The bus ride to and from the ruins was easy and we were happy to get away from the crowds at the end of the day. Nestled in a lush forest with waterfalls and a rushing river, what a delightful home to come home to. An old world hospitality and charm permeated the place where the staff was especially welcoming. Our room felt like tree fort with the rush of the river lulling you to sleep. The food was plentiful and good. We enjoyed kicking around the town of Aguas Calientes where the local craft market was one of the best.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad that you keep great memories of your visit and would like to thank you for your kind comments for our ambiance and service.

Thank you for choosing Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Situated down in the village, below Machu Picchu, close to the station, at the foot of a deep Andean valley. Just 2 minutes walk into the village, that being a hub for students and backpackers. The emphasis is on "eco", rather than comfort or luxury. It boasts extensive grounds, in a "cloud jungle" built into the hillside. The food is acceptable and there are 5 free 1-hour-plus tours, including a nature walk and bird watching. Very enjoyable for a 10 soles (£3) "donation" is seeing the 3 delightful bamboo-munching spectacled bears (think Paddington, without the marmalade sandwiches) kept in conservation for their own protection. Hummingbird feeders are also ubiquitous and popular with the birds themselves, exhibiting myriad colours.
The rooms are rustic and a little utilitarian, poorly lit, with old wooden wardrobes that seem designed for short stays only and are time-consuming to open.
Possibly an up-market hotel for a village that seems to be a back-packing/gap year Mecca.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PTS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Quiet, tranquil and soothing to the senses. The minute you cross the bridge you know you are somewhere special. Privacy is an issue in some rooms but still loved it. Food excellant at both restaurants.

Room Tip: Request second floor for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann_Cincin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were lucky to stay one night on our tour. It was a wonderful surprise and the staff, especially the area that arranged tours, was beyond amazing. At the last minute they helped us arrange a shaman wedding blessing. We would love to have stayed longer. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleExplorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing with us this lovely review; it is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Property: Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing