We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balinese style hotel with Hummingbirds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

What a place to arrive at when you are feeling exhausted from walking around the ruins of Macchu Picchu.
Your first thought is 'how can there be a peaceful sanctuary so close to a very busy train station that is discorging hundreds of people every hour?
There is no visible sign of a hotel, just the sound of spring water gushing everywhere. The mystery continues as you wend your way up steps and pathways surrounded by lush tropical vegetation, it reminded me very much of being at a typical hotel in Bali, Indonesia.
The check-in desk is unusual, semi-open air under a thatched roof.
We were taken to our room along a windy path surrounded by lush vegetation and pretty waterfalls. Our bungalow was breathtakingly lovely, it had an open log fire which you can have lit for you by staff, rustic heavily carved furniture, rugs and blankets. The bathroom is very unusual with windows up at tree level, lots of nice Eco-friendly toiletries and a luxurious rain shower which delivers pure Spring water. You even get a professional hairdryer.
The bed is huge and melts away every ache and pain. Lovely fresh clean bed linen and stylish throw on top.
We got up at 6.30 in the morning to join the bird walk, which was led by an expert guide. We saw 26 different species of bird including 4 types of Hummingbird!
Hummingbird feeders are situated everywhere and you can stand at arms length from them.
We had dinner in the main restaurant and I was disappointed at the poor communication skills of the waiters. Breakfast in the morning was a big let down starting with the coffee which tasted awful, like it had been watered down. I couldn't believe it. The fresh fruit had no taste, the bread was stale and inedible and worst of all there was no hot food. Of all the hotels we stayed at in Peru this was the worst breakfast and most basic. The waiters are useless and never cleared our plates even though I pushed them all to the edge of the table, eventually I had to ask them to do it!
I returned to my table to find the waiter removing the tablecloth, so ended a very disappointing breakfast.
There are lots of areas for relaxing in with irresistible chairs, rustic nooks and crannies and my most favourite is the meditation hut by the pool. It is thatched inside with Eucalyptus leaves which smells divine and there are big candles you can light while you sit on a low wooden seat in the dark.
I would have given this hotel full marks but the breakfast buffet really let's it down badly. Also staff need to improve their English.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytravellers94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review about our property.

We appreciate your kind comments for our design and hotel grounds that include more than 5 km. (3.12 miles) of ecological trails, and several spots of observation and contemplation of flora (including 372 native orchid species), birds (207 species), and butterflies (111 species), amongst a diversity of natural wonder.

We also appreciate your feedback for our restaurant that will help us to keep improving. We will review our process so we can guarantee a quality service for our guests.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,091 - 1,097 of 2,619 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

The only problem with this hotel is that we didn't stay there long enough! Just one night was not enough as the room and grounds were beautiful. We had a meal in the restaurant which was very good and the breakfast was excellent too. The location is great, right on the edge of the town and because the grounds are so large and the rooms are in a villa style, it's very quiet. Make sure you stay at least 2 nights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linnilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review and for your kind comments for our ambiance, location, rooms and restaurant.

We are sorry that you could not stay longer with us but we hope to welcome you again in a next opportunity.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for one night, immediately after we finished our 4-day Inka Trail. Upon arrival we just knew from previous travel experience that it was going to be one of those luxurious places that we'd want to stay for longer! We stayed in room 65 which although wasn't an independent chalet was a very nice room with a lot of comforts. Within this room we had our first proper shower in 4 days and it was the best shower we've ever had(!) - it was a pleasure to use the unique and pleasant eco friendly toiletries that the hotel provided. The grounds of the hotel are stunning and very well kept and we saw humming birds visiting the little feeders. We had dinner and breakfast at this hotel and the food was really excellent; an amazing selection at breakfast and by far the best breakfast I/we had during our whole stay in Peru (I loved the quinoa pancakes which I'd never had before!) The only sad thing was that my husband was sick on the last day of the Inka trail and during his stay in this hotel and so he couldn't take full advantage of the food on offer. If ever in Peru again I would specifically schedule in more time to stay at this hotel again as it's really a haven of rest and relaxation that we couldn't take more advantage of during our recent trip due to time restrictions; the lounge area is so cosy and the perfect place to sit and read a book, enjoying the open fire nearby. Really I have only positive things to say about this hotel and don't be alarmed about it's vicinity to the train track (which I was at first) as I didn't hear a thing and it won't be an issue. Note also that the staff can take your bags down to the train station for you at a small cost; this was very helpful in our case as when we checked out of the hotel we went back to Machu Picchu / Huayna Picchu and then went straight to the station afterwards on route to Cusco. For us it was a busy day and we felt it was worth paying a little extra to have our bags already at the station rather than having to go back to the hotel first. To summarise; I would whole heartedly recommend this place and would love to go back...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatharineJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our trip to Machu Picchu was spectacular. The views of the Andes incredible. One of the most memorable days of my life. It was topped off with a stay at this incredible hotel. The grounds are lush and romantic. We saw beautiful flowers, babbling brooks and abundant birds. Our room was rustic but comfortable. The large picture window looked upon lush foliage. I really liked making a fire at night. Walking the grounds was like taking a private hike. We saw such beauty. I really liked the humming birds right outside our room. Certainly a hotel to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Not a great start when we got there, our travel agent Jacada Travel booked us here. We arrived at desk to check in did all the paperwork, which took 20 minutes and then were told to wait outside. We waited, and waited- they kept on showing us other peoples luggage wondering if it was ours. No, so then they brought us to another room off the dinning area -- to fill out MORE paper work! We were so frustrated at that point. We told them we already filled out that paperwork, please we just want to go to our room. Finally! After one of the worse check ins we have ever had, we got to our beautiful room. The room was massive (room 83 or 84 can't remember) with a private hot tub outside in the private jungle garden. The shower surrounded by glass on 3 sides over looking the hot tub and gardens. A little table and chairs in the garden. The room was nice, with fireplace, big bed, big couch over looking the jungle. Other than the check in the only other problem was no lotion in the room, our friends didn't have any either. That was a bit tough since none of us brought any.
I give the hotel 3 stars mainly for the staff and how unorganized they were.
Breakfast and dinner were great, service lacking but great food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathyD2274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing about your stay with us.

We are sorry that the service provided did not meet your expectations; we usually have great comments for our staff but we will work on improving our training to guarantee a high quality service.

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo hotel occupies a private five-hectare (12.3-acre) mountainside reserve. We appreciate your kind comments for our ambiance, rooms and food.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel is hidden away down a small road from the train station. It was very convenient for both the train and the buses up to Machu Picchu. Porters from the hotel met us at the train station and took our luggage to the hotel while we took the bus up to Machu Picchu.

When we checked in, we were upgraded to a lovely, large cottage room. The grounds were beautiful.

We had excellent meals in the restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0tlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments for our property and meals.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I had read about the Inkaterra Machu Picchu Hotel prior to my arrival but really had no idea what to expect. My wife and I had taken the Vistadome train from Ollantaytambo to Aguas Caliente and had no idea where or how far away the Inkaterra was. Fortunately, the hotel is very close to the train station in Aguas Caliente, and in a short few minutes walking, we were at the hotel. Immediately, you will notice the lush, tropical atmosphere of the hotel with the entire grounds taking on the appearance of a dense forest with beautiful trees, plants, and running water from streams on the property. After checking in and receiving a cold drink, a young man walked my wife and me to our room which involved navigating a circuitous route to one of the buildings where our room was located. Good thing we had a guide to our room since it would have taken us quite some time to figure out how to find the room. The room itself had a small patio at the entrance, and once inside, we could see a clean, comfortable, yet somewhat dark room, with a large window seat and a fire place. Everything was fine as far as we were concerned. Walking to the lobby building was always a pleasure since walking passed the forested grounds and running streams was quite enjoyable. The hotel has a nature walk in the mornings where you can see orchids, vegetables, and birds (e.g., hummingbirds and Peruvian native birds) as well as a tea making shop which were quite enjoyable. The dining area was large and the food was very good. In addition, if you want to go for a walk outside the hotel, it was only a short distance to Aguas Caliente with its many shops, restaurants and markets. The vegetable market was across the river, the crafts market was next to the train station, and the town square was not very far away. From the town center, you could see people lining up to catch the bus to Machu Picchu. The Inkaterra Machu Picchu's location and overall ambience made the overall experience very enjoyable and quite different.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a map of the grounds as soon as you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TrvlDn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear guest,

Our property occupies a private five-hectare (12.3-acre) mountainside reserve, the spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and gardens; trails wander through wild forest.

We are very glad you enjoyed your experience and appreciate the time you took to share your comments with us.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,090 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 6 in Machu Picchu
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
2,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £325 - £778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing