We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We struggled wtih this venue v. The Sanctuary. Yes, the Sanctuary is at the entrance to Machu Picchu. That seems to be its plus. It's minus is that it appears overrun w/ tourists who are in and out all day for meals, bathroom breaks, whatever. The same bus that takes you up and down the road between MP and Aguas Calientes drops you just minutes away from Inkaterra Machu Picchu Hotel. It's near the railroad track -- but you won't know that. It's steps from the town's market, but you won't know that either if you don't choose to. What you will know, immediately, is that you are in a special rainforest garden, alive with lush plants (and oh, those orchids), gorgeous birds, waterfalls, butterflies --- nature in abundance. There are nature trails, a spa, a beautiful dining room, gorgeous lobby, everything restful and relaxing after your special climb at Machu Picchu.
Our casa, with its own entrance, had both fireplace and private patio. It felt different at Inkaterra -- and it is. The nature trails are superb, as is the dining room. Service is extremely attentive - the staff look for ways to assist. Gosh - it's a place to spend a week! Heartily recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed comments with us.
We are glad that you keep great memories of your visit and would like to thank you for your kind comments for our ambiance and service.

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel is a place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Inca civilization, feeling an authentic travel in an atmosphere of refinement, caring, and warm hospitality.

We appreciate for taking the time to write this lovely review and for your kind comments for our ambiance, location, rooms and restaurant.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra during your visit to Machu Picchu and we will be delighted to greet you soon at the other Inkaterra properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 2,650 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Inkaterra Pueblo's room was terrible. The shower floor ceramics were chipped and there were ants running up and down the wall in the bathroom.
Our room was by the railroad track and we had the pleasure of hearing every train that rolled by.
After climbing around Machu Picchu all day the last thing we wanted to do was climb more stairs, and that is just what we did. Our room was at the top and we had to climb and climb.
The restaurant for breakfast was under staffed, didn't have enough seating and the service was terrible.
The hotel was the worst one that we stayed at in Peru.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACKIECHARLOTTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We regret the impression you got from our rooms. Let me share that we are constantly programing maintenance works on them and we are very careful with our housekeeping procedures to guarantee cleanliness in all of them. Anyhow, we are taking note of your impressions to keep improving our service for future guests.

Our food and service generally have the best comments from our reviewers, we appreciate your feedback, which will enables us to revise our processes and will increase our efforts on staff training.
We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected; the correct area has been informed about your concern of signs in the property.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve our service and for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent one night a few weeks ago in mid June. It was booked as part of a tour package so I can't comment on value. Our only misstep was walking past the registration desk building without realizing it. After that the staff showed us where to check in, fully explained the two seatings for dinner and the amenities available. The room was large, clean and airy (website photos were accurate for our room). The shower was the best. It was very quiet, with no noise issues (we were on an upper floor). The grounds were gorgeous, but I could see people might have a problem late at night getting turned around. Dinner and breakfast were included in our trip, both were excellent, with two complimentary drinks before (or after) dinner. Instead of trying to fight the crowds and get up to Machu Picchu for another 1/2 day we took the included 1/4 day nature walk with a naturalist in the morning. It was the perfect relaxing counter to a second trip up the mountain. Hummingbirds, orchids, a cascade. Highly recommended. When we checked out, the arrangements for taking the luggage to the train station were made clear.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReyNardG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Ideally located at the foot of Machu Picchu, in Aguas Calientes, this beautiful hotel features a series of "casitas", little bungalows scattered around a beautiful tropical forest park. Everyday, naturalists lead you free of charge through a nature walk to explore the 372 orchid species, including 7 previously unknown ones, not to mention the beautiful birds you can meet on your way. Every morning, they start singing at 5 in the morning - a lovely concert. They also have a protection program for spectacled bears. Dońt miss it, you will love it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

Inkaterra is a Peruvian organization with 39 years of experience providing our guests with authentic nature experiences.

As our property is set in a private five-hectare (12.3-acre) of pristine cloudforest, we offer several excursions within hotel grounds that our guests can enjoy
We are happy to hear that you had a great time at our birdwatching, orchid and nature walk excursions, as well as visiting the Spectacled Bear Conservation project, an effort designed to recover bears that have been negatively affected by human impact, and reintroduce them into their natural habitat.

Thank you for recommending Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel and hope greeting you soon in the rest of our properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The rooms were ok - not great. No draperies or curtains to keep out the light. Service was not that good. Communication was awful. We were there independently - not with a large group. Apparently there were dinner seatings at 6pm and 8pm but nobody told us. A bit of an issue if you are traveling with a kid and missed the 6pm. They corrected the issue but still. Apparently your luggage will be transported from the hotel luggage storage room to the entrance for the train station. Sadly enough nobody told us so it was a little bit of a surprise when our luggage was missing in the storage room. Again communication issues. We were in the cafe area where they have their only TV to watch the mundial game - we were there 30 mins before the start of the game and still had to wait until 15 mins after the game started for someone to turn on the television (after some shouting on our part) only because the lunch wasn't served until later. Not such good service for paying guests. We were also alone because prices were through the roof compared to other perfectly good establishments down the road where we ended up for the second half of the game. Overpriced. Disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankTibackx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share your review with us.

We are grieved you left the hotel with a bad taste; we apologize for any inconvenience caused with your luggage, the hotel will be taking preventive measures to avoid this happening again, improving our communication with our guests.

We are sorry that the service provided did not meet your expectations; we usually have great comments for our staff but we will work on improving our training to guarantee a high quality service.

Accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused, but we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to keep improving our services.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at this property while traveling with a tour group. Our room had a lovely corner fireplace, which one could have lit. The entire property was beautiful, and the food at the restaurant was fine. The only negative was the pool needed to be cleaned. Wish we could have stayed longer and just enjoyed the property. Also, the lodge has a bird watching walk in the mornings, which would have been fun to do. Would love to stay again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hyuall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us. We are glad that you keep great memories of your visit and would like to thank you for your kind comments for our ambiance, location, excursions, rooms and restaurant.

About the plunge pools, they are filled with spring water and as they are located outside in the main garden, wind usually spreads nearby tree leaves into them, but they are continuously removed by our staff.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at any of the Inkaterra properties, thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It is expensive. But it's the best option in Aguas Calientes. Breakfast and dinner at high quality are included and you can relax in the pools before or after visiting Machu Picchu. The rooms are clean and charming and the area is surrounded by nature.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lubett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,892 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#2 of 30 in Machu Picchu
2,168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
2,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £318 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing