We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“luxury jungle setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“luxury jungle setting”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Set behind the Agua Caliente train station on the edge of town, away from the touristy commercial sites and touts. Lush jungle-type of setting, they must have 20 gardeners to manage it. It reminded of some of the high end resorts in Ubud, Bali, which is saying a lot. Muti-building casitas style of setting, some rooms with fireplaces. Cozy separate lobby-library with log fire for the cool evenings, two outside jacuzzi's and cool pool. Gourmet dinners with superior service and attention. Priced accordingly, but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,713
    524
    140
    55
    43
See reviews for
495
1,199
75
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel as a group a couple of weeks ago. The hotel ground is lush and the buildings are clustered along a river. The railroad is near by so you can also hear train noise, but it runs very infrequently during the day.

The rooms were a bit rustic and small, but well kept (They probably gave us the group rate rooms!) The shampoo and conditioner were made from local ingredients and were very nice.

I am most impressed with dinner at their restaurant and the breakfast. I had risotto for dinner. It was very flavorful and cooked al dente. Amazing. The next morning, I ordered soft scramble eggs with mushroom. The mushroom was very aromatic and the scramble was very soft. I don't recall having such nice scramble for a long time!

Their 75 minutes hot stone massage was a bargain at S230. Definitely worth it after hiking the Inca trail.

I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It was topped off with a stay at this incredible hotel. The grounds are lush and romantic. We saw beautiful flowers and abundant birds. Our room was rustic but comfortable. The large picture window looked upon lush foliage. I really liked making a fire at night. Walking the grounds was like taking a private hike. We saw such beauty. I really liked the humming birds right outside our room. Certainly a hotel to visit, Our trip to Machupicchu was the best.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghandi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked a suite for with my daughter and husband. The suite was outstanding! Two queen beds, log fire, a sitting area, an outdoor bed, an outdoor jacuzzi with great views, an outdoor shower,an indoor shower overall just outstanding.

We arrived on an evening via vista dome and was greeted off the train, check in was in the suite which is a first for us and very convenient.

Dinner was included, it was ok, service was rushed, and refills for my husbands thirst were hard to come by. We had been at the Inkaterra amazonica were the service was good and personal.

Next morning breakfast was great with plenty of choice before going on the most amazing day trip to Machu Picchu.

We ate out in the town after a full day out, came back to the room for a dip in the jacuzzi, unfortunately it was 110 degF and we could not get in.

Next morning my daughter went on a treasure hunt offered by the guides in the property, she had a blast, while my husband and I had a jacuzzi which had cooled down.

We checked out and our bags met us later for the Hiram Bingham to cusco.

A great place because of the suite.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brittexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

While on our Backroads tour, we stayed at the Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel in Aguas Calientes, Peru, for the last two nights of our trip. The town is very small, so it was a quick walk from the train station to the hotel, with many shopping opportunities in between! Although there are several rooms in each building, they way the rooms are set up, each room is very private. My room was wonderful with two large doors that could open up to a patio and grass seating area. The only thing I did not like were the noisy swinging doors that you had to go through to get into the bathroom area. After my first time through the doors, I decided I was not going to listen to all that noise, so I kept one of the swinging doors propped open with a chair and that solved that problem! The service and food at the hotel was great. Each evening, Housekeeping would stop by to pick up dirty towels and offer you chocolate! If you like shopping, they have nice gift shop on site. It is a little pricey, but the items are very high quality. We also took a naturalist tour with the EcoCenter. It was 90 minutes long and very informative. I loved watching the tropical birds fly and land to eat the bananas in the branches. I have some lovely photos of this property, but unfortunately can not post as they are large. The hotel is located a short walk from the bus stop where you catch the bus that will bring you up to the entrance of Machu Picchu. The bus ride is approximately 20-30 minutes and will be an experience!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower levels will be a bit noisy as they are closest to the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesToTravel716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Inkaterra for two nights during a family vacation with our 14 year old son and 12 year old daughter. This is a charming hotel a short ride from Machu Picchu. The food is fantastic and the setting is idyllic!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Rooms were very nice with good wifi, fireplace and comfortable room layout. Grounds are superb, and if available take the nature walk with tea room tour. The local flora and birds are amazing.

Only downside is noise from trains, which are quite close to the rooms near the river, but was only a mild problem. Hotel is short 200 yard walk to train station or Machu Picchu bus terminal, but beware if you can not handle stairs ( this is true everywhere here).

Restaurant was solid with good breakfast and dinner fare.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Property: Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing