We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-stars is not enough! Best hotel I have ever stayed in. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

This place is clearly expensive, but in my opinion worth it. We stayed one night here and I loved the experience, it's a great combination of luxury and Eco-tourism. The rooms are full of character and very cosy. You are able to do tours and excursions in the hotel grounds - including a talk at their on-site bear sanctuary, where they rehabilitated rescued spectacled bears (?!). There is also a spa (I would strongly recommend the de-stress massage - particularly post inca trail!). The restaurant was lovely, quality Peruvian cuisine. Breakfast was the best we had in Peru, great variety and choice and excellent service. Service throughout our stay was exceptional, nothing was too much trouble. I really, really loved it and was sad to leave!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Lozz103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed here one night between climbing to the Sun Gate and hiking up Huanapicchu while visiting Machu Picchu with my brother and his wife. Lovely grounds to enjoy while walking around at morning and night. Birds and butterflies abound. Good resturaunt and nice fireplaces to enjoy an after dinner drink after a long day on the mountains. Staff is very accommodating with your luggage to and from the train.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank WoodlandsMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

After walking all day through Machu Picchu it was a joy to arrive here. Staff were wonderful and looked after us very well. The restaurant and bar were just fantastic. Breakfast was available to us very early so we could return to Machu Picchu for sunrise walk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank missbennet_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here just one night whilst visiting Machu Picchu and would have loved to have stayed longer. It was just beautiful. The rooms were comfortable with large glass windows and the restaurant food absolutely delicious. Service was impeccable and we were thrilled on arrival into Aguas Calientes station able to leave our bags with hotel staff and jump straight on the bus up to Machu Picchu. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Purdey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear guest,

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Inkaterra and appreciate your kind comments to our property and service.

Thank you for recommending Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel rooms consists of lovely casita-style lodges set amongst amazing cloud-forest vegetation. Being an eco-lodge, most things are recycled and sustainable, including the water, which is rain-fed. Our room was large and comfortable, with a plug-in bug killer and insect repellent if needed. Slippers and bathrobes were provided, in addition to bottled mineral water. Wifi was free and the signal good. The hotel bar and restaurant is situated above the rocky river, providing a wonderful spot to eat breakfast if you can get an exterior table. The lounge is large and comfortable with sofas and open fires to enjoy the welcome cocktail (we visited in winter). Breakfast was perfectly fine, if a little limited in the selection. But the piece de resistance of this hotel is the superb grounds - an organic tea plantation and kitchen garden in addition to pristine tended cloud forest with hundreds of species of orchids and native plants, attracting a multitude of magnificent birds and other wildlife. The hotel offers 10+ free excursions through the grounds to see wildlife and plants with in-house naturalist guides, which we found excellent. As part of the Relais & Chateau group, we had high expectations and were not disappointed. Throughly recommended!

Room Tip: If you are not so mobile, ask for a room close to the reception to avoid the walk up steps and throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gondwona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time write this lovely review that encourages us to keep providing our guests authentic nature experiences.

The hotel grounds include more than 5 km. (3.12 miles) of ecological trails, and several spots of observation and contemplation of flora (including 372 native orchid species), birds (207 species), and butterflies (111 species), amongst a diversity of natural wonder.

We are delighted to know you keep great memories of your experience with us and hope to welcome you again in this or other Inkaterra property.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The overall experiance was bad relative to other hotels we stayed in. The price was outrages for what we got. The spa was extremly poor to say the least. It is a tiney place with massage rooms with NO doors but a curtains. THere is NO privacey and no ambiance for massages. We could hear any conversations in the attached reception. The prices they have asked for the massge was outrageously high. In short it is a poor hotel, the food is reasonable, the service is too bad, the price is extremly high.

Room Tip: This hotel exist for high level travelers to Machu Pichu. It gives a poor value for the price they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations with our Spa; we have transmitted your comments to this department in order to improve our service.

We hope you enjoyed the other facilities and services provided within property grounds as the group guided excursions (birds - tea - nature - orchids - twilight walk), the fireplaces at the lobby, the tea time, among other services.

Thank you again for your comments that will help us to keep improving and we hope to welcome you again in a next occasion.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

A casita style hotel with lovely multi-unit buildings distributed throughout a beautiful and heavily landscaped hillside. Fun swimming with three pools ranging from very warm to downright chilly.

The hotel picks up, and drops off, your bags right at the train station, if arranged in advance. The station is just across the tracks from the hotel, but you will need to walk several easy blocks to get there, above the tracks and through the tourist market.

Food was good, with breakfast better than the lunches and dinners, but we had better meals in other hotels on the trip. We ate in a large building with our tour group across the tracks (showing its age,) and also in the smaller restaraunt on the hillside. Service just average.

Rooms are nice and well detailed. We stayed in rooms away from the tracks, so had a quiet stay. As in many Peruvian hotels, no heat or air conditioning, but a portable heater warmed the room well. Bathrooms are old with chipped tiles and finicky faucets. Wifi works.

We were unfortunately left homeless for two hours after a hard hike up Machu Picchu mountain when we were "upgraded" to a second room, booked over a month in advance. So a stinky lunch while the room was cleaned. We didn't expect this service oversight and you need to be explicit with requests in bookings. A little planning on the hotels part could likely have avoided this, and the staff seemed upset we even asked if our room was ready.

Overall probably an okay choice, but not a top tier hotel stay experience in our global travels.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank cruzinquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

We are very sorry that the change of casita (room) affected part of your experience, but appreciate your feedback that will help us to prevent any similar situation in the future.

We would also like to thank you for your kind words for our property design. Our property occupies a private five-hectare (12.3-acre) mountainside reserve and has the look and feel of a rustic Andean Village,

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,892 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#2 of 30 in Machu Picchu
2,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
2,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £321 - £535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing