We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Continental

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aguas Calientes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Continental
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“OK not great”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Chosen by Chaska tours - clean, basic, Nothing exciting, nothing special. Friendly, helpful staff - have no idea about pricing since this was part of tour package, Decent breakfast. A little off town center which was nice and overlooks rapids.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frugalyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
25
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albion Park, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Really noisy when a train passes as the tracks are right outside the hostal. After a long 3 day trek most would want a nice hot shower. This hostal failed to deliver. The waters maximum temperature was luke warm. Considering the town is called Shia calliente (hot water) the hostal was disappointing

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank night_traveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for only a night and felt that was a good amount of time. The rooms are very average, albeit clean. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is good, although you have to leave the hotel and eat it at a "sister hotel" a few buildings down.

If you're only here for a night or two, awesome. If you plan on spending more time in Machu Picchu, maybe try another place.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank richardsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The rapids are quite noisy and the train when it toots it horn is quite loud, but somehow we still slept through the night. The beds are quite comfortable however the rooms are on the smaller side. For breakfast you have to walk up a couple hotels for a buffet breakfast, this didn't hassle us at all

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

One of the worst places we have stayed in in Peru. The room was not particularly clean, it was noisy being between the railway and the river rapids. There were no facilities - in fact we had to go to another hostel more than 100 yds. away for breakfast - a fact that no one bothered to tell us on our arrival.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of an Intrepid group. Unfortunately this hotel overlooks the train tracks as did my room (203), you will need ear plugs at this hotel. My room was small and cute with a large bed and a flat screen TV and little else. There is no elevator. Breakfast is at their sister hotel up the street. Free Wi-Fi is available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We were were in room 303, which was on the river side of the building and on the end. The room was spacious with 2 twin beds and a table. We had plenty of hot water. There was some train noise but no other city/people/party noise. Wireless internet in the lobby was quite slow. The breakfast was a disappointment - the hot food ran out just as we arrived at 6 am and no effort was made to replenish it. I asked the waitress (in my bad spanish) if more was coming and she kept saying a few minutes, but after 25 minutes we complained to the hotel manager who went to yell at the kitchen staff. By then we needed to leave so we didn't get to see if it ever came out.

Room Tip: Get on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmzalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
905 reviews
0.1 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#11 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#12 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Continental

Property: Hostal Continental
Address: Av. Imperio de los Incas 165, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Hostal Continental Hotel Aguas Calientes
Hostal Continental Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing