We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Web page price more than twice published price at location”
Review of Hostal Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Presidente
Ranked #17 of 80 Aguas Calientes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This hostel is fine, and at a good location, but I was very disappointed when I got there and saw their published prices on the wall behind the counter where less than half what I had already paid through their web page. Before writing this review I twice wrote emails to them to try to rectify the situation, neither of which were even responded to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel is spartan, basic. No heater. Hot water was more like warm. Aguas Calientes at the foot of Machu Picchu does not have many options as far as hotels. As for the fact there was no heater, we just asked for more blankets. I am from California so I am not used to the cold nights there. If you are from Germany then probably you are not worried about the cold. The breakfast was pretty good. Typical Peruvian breakfast. Good strong coffee, bread, fruits, ham and cheese. One thing that was not too good for me was the wifi internet connection. Basically only in the Lobby and Eating area did we have WIFI internet access. Our room was next to the river and the view from our balcony/room was to die for. The noise from the river was pretty loud but I had no trouble sleeping. Maybe due to all the hiking, I was tired and I slept really well despite the lack of heat and river noise. In summary, it was nice to stay near Machu Picchu so you could enjoy the the site. It is the trade off that you have to make to get more time on the mountain.

Room Tip: Get a room next to the river. The view is really impressive, but there will be noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed one night here. Staff were nice. The room could use a new carpet and the shower water was only warmish. Bathroom was old but clean. They could invest in some new sheets – they were clean but pretty thin! We wanted something basic as it was for one night only and this fit the bill. The rail track is in front of the hotel and the river is at the back. We had requested a room away from the rail tracks based on Trip Advisor tips so noise level was fine. We had a top floor room in the middle of the building. The river was wild and raging and pretty loud when we were there so we were glad to be in the middle. They let us have a late check out as I was a bit sick which was great. Breakfast was basic. Great location for the bus up to MP and not far to the rail station. Restaurants very close by.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYMina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here on Sat.2013.Oct.26 and now I'm finally getting around to writing a review. It's been a busy year.

This hotel is literally a 5 minute walk from the train station if you know your directions and because the town is so small, after one trip you'll have it memorized.

We had room #210 which offered a great view of the mountains and river.

We had a pretty large foyer (for a hotel) in our room with sofa, there was a desk and chair, big dresser and double sized memory foam bed.

There is internet but only in the lobby and if your internet connecting device is not working, they have a desktop computer available for use which is pretty handy if your device doesn't have a big screen.

What surprised my wife and I was the female staff member at the desk refused to help us find a restaurant. I'm not sure if it was a language issue, but it appeared that she understood us. I asked her, "Can you help us find this restaurant on this map?" (I had the address written down on a piece of paper) and she simply replied, "No." and resumed doing whatever it was she was doing.

Breakfast is from 04:45 - 08:00 hours, it was pretty basic and satisfactory in a way.

The tv in the room had DirectTV and numerous English channel movies.

I'd use this hotel again, but I don't really have anything to compare it to.

Room Tip: #210 has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank easyHwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed 1 night, so we could go to Machu Pichu in the morning. We got a room with a balcony overlooking the river and the mountains. Splendid view. Breakfast very basic but OK. Room and bathroom were clean although somewhat old.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the river side, since there must be an awful lot of noice on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We only stayed a night travelling to Machu-Pichu. Good location, close to all stations and restaurants. Good breakfast and nice people. They kept our luggage during trip to Machu-Pichu for nothing. The room was clean and nice view over Urubamba river. Close to the climbing station to the ruins.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I don't really know what to expect for the hotels in Agua Caliente. The town seems to be filled with little hotels like and I doubt they will be much better than this one. The room is kinda old and the bathroom is not that clean. We had to change a room because the toilet could not stop running. Then we were given another room with a toilet that runs so slow that you have to press it for a minute or two before it finishes its work. I had to laugh about it. There is only wifi in the lobby, not in the rooms.

Staff were all very kind and trying to be helpful. Breakfast was nice and plentify.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gisellasanjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waman Hotel Machupicchu
Waman Hotel Machupicchu
#11 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#14 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Presidente

Address: Av Imperio de los Incas 127, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 00000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £27 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Presidente 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostal Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Presidente Aguas Calientes
Hostal Presidente Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing