We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique hostal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our agent in Cuzco offered the hotel Inti in Aguas Calientes, but we ended at the one named La Cabana, which is offered as a boutique hotel. Do not know from where they have taken this category, they think that because they have put a tissue or a picture on a wall can be called boutique hotel and charge the rooms for $ 100 or more. This accommodation is not worth it and can be a 2** and not a 3*** as is sold. There odors and humidity in several of its rooms, we have changed rooms twice and they tried to charge us more for the change, which bothered us even more. We do not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Rooms to the street have more light, but it is aslo noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel overnight on our trip to Machu Pichhu. The staff was courteous, the room was clean and reasonably well appointed. The restaurant was efficient and the food was pretty good but not comparable to several other nearby options. I would rate it higher except for the fact that the toilet in our room was nonfunctional. Since this concern has been raised before, it appears the hotel and all of its employees are in denial about this problem (the person at the desk and a maintenance person? came up to the room, flushed the toilet, watched the water spin in the bowl but not clear and said it appears to be working. I do not know how many rooms have this issue but they should be removed from the available list until the problem is rectified.

A number of folks complain about the thin walls and noise but hey this is not the Ritz Carlton and the price is okay for the local market, You shouldn't travel in Latin America without bringing earplugs and personal wash clothes.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hungryprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our group stayed here in October for our two-day stay at Machu Pichu. I recommend this as a convenient place for a trip to Machu Pichu. The rooms are small and in particular interior noise is noticeable but not really bothersome, since most people will probably be outside and at Machu Pichu most of their stay. The street the inn is located on is charming with many shops (don't miss the jewelry store across the street and up a few steps on the way to the hot springs--gorgeous jewelry and a delightful owner) and restaurants. the morning breakfast was quite delicious. This is not a luxurious place but it is comfortable, clean and very well located.

Room Tip: I had a balcony overlooking the street--gave the room more of an airy feeling but avoid if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patientcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

In reviewing any hotel in Aguas Calientes it is important to note that the town is a one night rip off on the way to Machu Pichu. It is expensive and tacky. The Hotel La Cabana was the most expensive hotel we stayed in in Peru in a three week trip. Most of the rooms have internal window only including ours, the rooms have a rustic decor with a ceiling that I can only describe as looking like wet gritty cement. The bathroom was remarkable in how small a room can be that includes a shower, wash hand basin and toilet; turning round had to be done carefully.
The bed was quite comfortable and the breakfast, starting at 5.00am for the first buses up to Machu Pichu was good enough.
This is not a hotel I would recommend, but then I would not recommend Aguas Calientes either.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

'Safety and Sanitary' are important words in travel for us. Peru is not our home country and I had a brief problem with (sorry, a bit graphic here) traveler's diarrhea. When you are sick and having problems, you want to be able to wash your hands and clean up with plenty of HOT, soapy water...NOT to be had at this hotel in 'Aguas Calientes'! The bathroom sink was only plumbed with COLD water so this was not a 'temporary' situation! There was no place to even hang a used towel inside the bathroom (I guess we were supposed to wash in cold water and flap our hands to dry them--let alone wash your face at night)...the hotel room safe was permanently locked shut by a previous guest...everything was in a 'needs to be replaced' state except the towels were nicely embroidered with a big (scratchy) emblem of the hotel.
My guess is that most foreign folks are staying at Aguas Calientes to go hike and clumb at MachuPicchu and Waynapicchu. For us to meet the strict time frame required to use our tickets we had to get up about 4 AM (ugh - but worth it!). The hotel was noisy until about midnight so that gave us only 4 hours of pretty uninterrupted sleep.
I will give them credit for a nice breakfast buffet beginning at 5 AM so folks could get something to eat before running off to catch the bus to Macchupicchu! This was the saving grace of our stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pebbleskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

The room are like a budget inn circa 1970. You can hear people talking and smoking. There is no elevator so be prepared to carry your luggage up a few flights.

I had to negotiate with the front desk to get more towels - they told me I had 2 people so I got 2 towels. Actually, we booked it as 3 people. I asked for 4 more towels & the woman had to check with her manager, she offered me 1 & I begged for more. We got 2 more.

We got the box lunch to bring to Machu Picchu. They forgot to include the water. My friend requested vegetarian and got ham & cheese.

Don't stay here. Smoky, noisy, bad service, icky rooms & bad box lunch for a relatively hefty price for what it is. I would call this a dump.

PS I have no idea what hotel is in the main shot but I wish I had stayed there.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessDBossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were booked by our tour company into another hotel but at the last minute shifted to this hotel. They told us it was an upgrade and were getting the suite. Well that happened. Very pleased with our room, spacious, clean and quiet. Yes the bathroom was small but how much room do you need? Hot water in shower was hit and miss but eventually worked. Gravity is an enemy to good water pressure but eventually the system pressurised and hot water flowed. Perhaps staff not as fluent in English as others might be but we managed. Location great for eating and not far from the station. Yes it's uphill but it's down hill going back. We rated this hotel four stars because of the hot water but would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleandFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Waman Hotel
Waman Hotel
#11 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,892 reviews
0 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu

Address: Av Pachacutec 805, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £53 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel worried about provide excellent hotel service for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana Machupicchu Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing