We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I will try to be as objective as possible in my review:
Pros:
- The room has refrigerator, hair dryer
- Rates include daily breakfast
- Staff will bring your luggage to the train station so you don't have to worry about running back to the hotel to get your luggage to catch your train.

Cons:
- The room we were given was so small that the leg room in the toilet is smaller than a coach flight seat.
- The room has a very musky smell and the only window opens into the inside of the hotel. Even when we left the window open, it didn't help aerate the room, but instead let mosquitoes in.
- My parents had another room that was slightly bigger, however, their sink dripped water all over the bathroom.
- The room was dark even if you turn all the lights on.
- The location of the hotel was on the top of the steep hill. After getting off the train, we had to drag our luggage up this steep hill for a while before we arrived. (Although this is not the hotel's fault, and I should have checked the map before booking).

Room Tip: Room #14 has the smallest toilet and no window to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JiaZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was booked for us by out your operator. It was fine, beds were comfortable and shower had hot water. Biggest issue was that our room faced the Main Street with all the shops and places to eat, so it was loud. Also strange was the window in the bathroom which I thought was a vent at first but I'm pretty sure it opened into the next rooms bathroom as we could hear their entire conversations, clear as day. Overall though staff was friendly and the room served its purpose.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The receptionist went out of her way to assist us, both upon arrival, and with a late checkout. She upgraded us to a suite, a very large room up several flights of stairs with a modern and spacious bath with a very large spa tub, candles, and scented soaps. Hotel construction is a little eccentric in Aguas Calientes; things seem to be in a perpetual state of adding on, making this hotel something of a maze. Let's say the place has some character to it; all very pleasant, very comfortable, clean, and the most helpful staff imaginable. Our balcony view was of various rooftop construction sites, but we liked it. We arranged for a late checkout so we could shower after a morning hike, and this necessitated moving to a smaller room, which was of course more cramped feeling after the very spacious suite.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed two nights . This Hotel is quite dated ,it does have a charm of its own. The bedrooms are adequate , bathroom sink only has a cold water tap . The shower however was very good . One problem with this Hotel is the noise within, guests talking either early morning or late at night could be heard easily. Breakfast choice quite limited .
Positioned very well .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Very friendly and accomodating staff. Rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was excellent as well as dinner. The receptionist was very helpfull went above and beyond in accomodating all our needs.
We would recommend this hotel any time.

Room Tip: Corner suites are roomier, and higher floors provide a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madelin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our biggest complaint about this hotel is the awful and very expensive boxed lunch we bought to take to Machu Picchu. The chicken sandwich was inedible, and didn't come with everything they said it would. The internet in the hotel barely worked, and the breakfast was just mediocre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is not a boutique hotel as advertised. The rooms are small and the washrooms even smaller. When you are charged $100 a night, you wonder if should be getting bitten by moths and mosquitos at night. We were told that such is the case with all Aguas Calientes hotels- all of them a necessary evil for the traveller wanting to get to Machu Pichhu at sunrise. However, the service was decent and the breakfast was good. They set it up in the wee hours of the morning so that you can get to the bus on time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsicsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Waman Hotel Machupicchu
Waman Hotel Machupicchu
#11 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
278 reviews
0 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu

Address: Av Pachacutec 805, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £57 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel worried about provide excellent hotel service for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana Machupicchu Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing