We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and convenient.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level Contributor
216 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Simple and convenient.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It is important to note that Aguascalientes or Machu Picchu´s town is a tourist oriented place. In addition, most visitors to the great Machu Picchu sanctuary ruins use a one-day trip from Cusco or Ollantaytambo, arriving early in the morning and departing in the evening. Consequently, alternatives for overnight stays are scarce, while many of them hostels oriented to backpackers, while practically all the rest may be considered overvalued in its given category. La Cabaña is not an exemption in terms of this price-offerings relationship, but the relatively high rates will be almost always for one night stay only. Additionally, the simple and somehow dated facilities are compensated with efficient and warm service. Its location is a small minus that may considered because to reach the hotel you need to walk several blocks uphill but you have a convenience store and a restaurant across the pedestrian street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlgtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    313
    192
    60
    25
See reviews for
235
429
49
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at Hotel La Cabana for one night in May 14'. Hotel La Cabana is high up on the hill in Aguas Calientes which means it quite a walk up from the train station. Being that far away from the train station does make it quiet for a good nights sleep. The hotel sends a staff member to the train station on your arrival and guides you up the hill to the hotel. There are no cars on the small alleys of Aguas Calientes. I booked a double room with two beds at $130 a night. The room and bathroom was quite small and needed dome updating. The hotel offers free breakfast in the morning at 5 a.m. and Wi-Fi. There are plenty of restaurants and shops just outside the door of the hotel. I was ready to leave Aguas Calientes after one night as there is not much to do in the town.

I recommend staying in Aguas Calientes the night before you go to Machu Picchu so you can be on one of the first buses at 5:30 a.m. It's nice to walk around Machu Picchu with very few tourist so you can take pictures and enjoy the beautiful views. Around 9:00 a.m. the crowds begin to show up at Machu Picchu as the trains arrive in Aguas Calientes.

In conclusion my stay at Hotel La Cabana was good. The room and bathroom was small but clean. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was decent. I do feel the price was a little high for what you receive but in small town like Aguas Calientes you would expect this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear of the hotel as they are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanikai_808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
356 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for one night in late April as a couple. We asked them to meet our train to take an extra bag with clothes and toiletries up to the the hotel so we could continue on the bus to Machu Picchu. At first we didn't see anyone, but as we exited the train station there was a man holding a La Cabana sign. We handed over our bag and were happy that when we returned in the evening to check in, it was right there. They were very friendly and helpful. Cute little boutique hotel. We ended up on the 4th (top floor) in a very large room. The bath was a bit dated, but functional and clean. The room had it's own sitting area and was very comfortable. Great breakfast in the morning and again they brought our bag to the train station for us after we spent the day at Machu Picchu. Excellent service and a friendly place. The walk is up hill, but if you spent the night in Cusco, the elevation is not a problem here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacqB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms we had were tight (2 single beds in each room) and so was the bathroom. However, with that said, it was still a comfortable stay. The staff was great. Lis at the front desk was helpful. She even had a cake made for my sister and friend who were celebrating their bdays! She surprised us by having it in the room and one of the beds was made w/ sculpted towels and colored petals strewn on the bed.....nice touch!! The luggage carrier was also on hand at the train station to take our stuff as the route to the hotel is a "climb".....and also, he brought our luggage back to the train station upon our departure. Breakfast was a buffet of hot and cold food. The hotel is right along the thoroughfare of pubs/restos/shops. Wouldn't mind staying here again....great value for the buck!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Pro: a very nice boutique hotel on the main street of the town. We only stayed one night before we took bus to Machiu Picchu. Our group were offered the whole third floor rooms which are all very roomy and nicely touch. Breakfast is good and very good service.
Con:A bit uphill long walk from the train station to the hotel especially you have heavy luggage.
Our tour company PFL booked this hotel for us and it was a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunCruise2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Lovely feel to the hotel, good breakfast . Great location,friendly stuff made a real effort to make my stay pleasant and enjoyable. I was astonished when I saw the stairs among all rooms It was a nice experience I recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel. It is on a very steep street above the town but fairly convenient. We were surprised to be met at the train station by a staff member then led quickly up the steep streets of the town with no offer of any help with our luggage. Quite an endurance test! The room was adequate size with a queen plus twin size bed but smelled musty. The atmosphere is very humid in Aquas Calientes. We were awakened by noise from other guests getting up early to travel to Machu Picchu and a couple of roosters but the breakfast was good. The receptionist was friendly and stored our luggage the last day so we could tour MP one more time before our train departed. We felt the cost was a bit high but it IS just below Machu Picchu!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu

Property: Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Address: Av Pachacutec 805, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel worried about provide excellent hotel service for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana Machupicchu Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing