We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views!”
Review of Rupa Wasi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rupa Wasi Lodge
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Slept well in the panoramic room! Comfortable bed. Great shower with hot water and water pressure though it is tricky to get it where you want it. Its pretty inevitable that there is a mild moldy smell considering where you are but the room was really nice. Even got a nice massage in our room, only minor thing is they do it on you bed so your neck is turned during the massage. Also nice that they took care of the bus and MP tickets for us. Little hassle because had to call them from the states to pay for the 50% deposit and a little overpriced but overall very good stay!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank miablee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here 2 nights while visiting Machu Picchu. It is a very cute hotel with a tree house feel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. While we were supposed to have the suite for both nights, we had to stay in a regular room the first night due to a mix up. The regular room was fine and clean, but nothing special. It is a challenge to get the shower temperature just right- it fluctuated between freezing cold and scalding hot. The second night we were moved to suite #5, which was very neat. It was a small cabin-like room tucked away in the trees. It also had great views of the town.

The real highlight of Rupa Wasi was the restaurant- The Tree House. The food was fantastic and definitely some of the best meals we had while in Peru. We highly recommend eating here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aerosfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here one night as we wanted to allow 2 days for Machu! Excellent service we were met at the train station and taken to the hotel, we just got a lower room, comfortable stay, clean rooms, shower had hot water, simple but pleasant. The Treehouse restaurant was amazing one of the better meals I've had in the sacred valley!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradisetradingco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The staff are pretty knowledgeable about what is around and how to get there. Their service overall was amazing. We only booked a standard room but there was a guy waiting for us at the train station when we arrived who offered to help with our bags and show us to the hotel which was about a 10 min walk away. We were upgraded to a suite as I think there may have been a mix up with our booking. There is a bit of a climb via steps to the hotel but the views from the suite balconies make up for that. There is complimentary coca tea, coffee and water waiting at reception. The rooms aren't huge and could have done with a fan but are very attractive in an eco lodge style. The beds are so comfortable that you can't help but fall asleep on them. One thing that really stood out was the shower. The water pressure is staggeringly good and the water is very hot. The shower was a god send after a long day of treking.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Very good stay. Rustic setting though a saw very few bugs in our rooms, hot water was plentiful and beds very comfortable. The stairs were no problem to navigate, we went up and down them several times no problem. Staff was also very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Where to begin! We arrived via the 4 hour train ride from Cusco and were kindly greeted. We were upgraded to the suite! It was so cool-2 floors, 2 beds, lovely bathroom with eco friendly soups and shampoo, CLEAN!!! We walked a lovely mossy path up to the private lodge and went upstairs to see windows on three walls, huge windows! They looked out over the town and the majestic mountains. With the windows open we could hear the gush of the river and waterfall below. The bed was huge, really comfortable, and they had great wi-fi too. Lots of pillows. This is the perfect romantic setting or even great for a small family. The hotel even had a really nice restaurant. They made us great pisco sours and I tried guinea pig here! It's a clean and safe place to try such delicacies. Breakfast was cheap and lovely as well. When we checked out they were awesome to keep our bags and transport them to the train station for us in time to go back to Cusco. We stayed just one night in order to head up to Machu Pichhu early (which I recommend because less people equals better photos). Many thanks to the staff and everyone at Rupa Wasi. I want to go back! Heaven!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the suite. It is an experience of a lifetime and especially if you only stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennykr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Rupa Wasi is a treehouse type hotel with a nice restaurant. I’m not sure what other rooms are like, but we just had a basic, double room that looked onto the alley and it was kind of cruddy (room 2 I believe). The bed and pillows were comfortable, but the room had a musty smell and mold in the bathroom. The bathroom definitely needs attention as far as fixtures and mold goes. Also a big suggestion is to replace the commercial toilet paper and toilet paper holder, as found in many public places, with something suitable for a hotel.. This place was definitely not worth the money paid. We paid the most here out of all the 10 or so hotels stayed at while in Peru and the room was by far in the worst condition.

Room Tip: Ask for room off of the alley - avoid room 2 if possible... not sure if others are any better though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M_and_N_s_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waman Hotel
Waman Hotel
#11 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hatun Inti Classic
Hatun Inti Classic
#17 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rupa Wasi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rupa Wasi Lodge

Address: Calle Huanacaure 105, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#6 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £38 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rupa Wasi’s unique location provides for spectacular views of the mountains of Machu Picchu. Rooms boasting balconies allow our guests to take full advantage of these surroundings. This design marvel fits together magically with the green surrounding of Aguas Calientes to create a peaceful environment, an invitation to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rupa Wasi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rupa Wasi Eco Hotel Aguas Calientes
Hotel Rupa Wasi Eco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing