We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring ear plugs!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aguas Calientes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Imperio Machupicchu Hotel
Ranked #24 of 39 Aguas Calientes B&B and Inns
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bring ear plugs!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel is near the train station away from the main restaurants and market. We probably wouldn't have been able to find it if our guide did not take us there. The street that is was on was a little sketchy.For the amount of $ paid for this place - totally not worth it. However all the hotels in AC are all overpriced - the best way to stick it to the tourist.

The hotel has no elevators and after a long day of hiking in Machu Picchu, you do not want to see more stairs! It has no insulation for noise what so ever and lacks the feel of privacy. The room doors are not solid and you can hear slamming from the top floor to the bottom. It just feels like you are renting a bedroom in a house rather than your own hotel room. The room has a tiny tv, a bookshelf and comfy linens.

The bathroom ventilates into a corridor which faces other hotel rooms bathroom windows. There is no hair dryer in the hotel room. Shampoo and soap were not in containers but in packets. If you can bring your toiletries do it!

The only good thing about this hotel is that they were nice enough to hold our stuff for us while we were in MP.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    23
    29
    6
    9
See reviews for
7
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The surrounding area isn't good, but inside everything is transformed.
Clean, good friendly staff, average breakfast, good wi-fi, terrific location close to the train station.
Lacks an elevator and the social areas could be more spacious though.
Overall it's a good place to be in Aguas Calientes. Not great, but good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValterNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlace, Louisiana
Level Contributor
277 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

This hotel is not near the train from Cusco or the buses to Machu Picchu. It's uphill, so if you are hauling a backpack and suitcase after a long day of travel, you'd better be in shape to walk uphill.

Once there, there are no elevators. Our bathroom window opened into the hallway and we soon discovered we could hear people across the hall talking, even with our window shut. The hotel is located in a very busy neighborhood, and we heard people bustling about and children playing well after 10 p.m. and dogs barked all night long.

Breakfast was a bit of cheese and bread, so don't expect to have a hearty meal before hiking to the Sun Gate.

The floors are not numbered as I expected, so going back to my room from the basement breakfast area, I stopped one room too short. I was still able to unlock the door and didn't realize my mistake until I noticed all my things were gone. And yes, I did actually unlock that door with my key because I had been discussing the difficulty of unlocking the door to my room and someone told me that if I couldn't get it open using the usual tricks, to try something counterintuitive, and that's what I had to do to get it open. It was not a good feeling to discover that at least some keys open more than one door.

So, I would not recommend this hotel, and if your tour group is scheduled to stay there, at least let your tour leader know you have concerns.

Room Tip: Since everyone in my group complained about the noise at night, I don't know that there is a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grip652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Hotel is a short walk from the station and big market place, in a boring and bit gloomy part of the town. A couple of narrow streets, football ground, many houses under construction, some not very good restaurants. The interesting places are behind the river. There’s a nice square (next to is an office where they sell tickets to Machu Picchu), lively streets with lots of colorful restaurants and bars where it lives up to the late.

Hotel is situated in a narrow street. The building looks more like a hostel than a $100 hotel. The hotel is simple, quite clean, very thin walls, “paper door”, room without windows, free wi-fi. Next to the reception was a small lobby with a comfortable place to sit. Check-in was quick, very young staff spoke English very poorly, but they were helpful and polite. In the morning (before our trip to Machu Picchu) the staff willingly left our luggage at the hotel. But do not expect a secure luggage room, part of the bags were thrown under the stairs, others were in the corner of the lobby which is freely accessible to anyone.

Do not be fooled by colour pictures of the room on web! The small room looked like a niche on the stairs, no windows just two glazed wall opening - one was to the skylight, from which we could hear the voices of other guests, another was right on the stairs, so everyone who went up the stairs could look in our room. There were cold tiles on the floor, simple shelf in the corner, beneath the ceiling small TV. Otherwise, nothing, no equipment such as chairs, a table,…
Beds were quite comfortable, but bedding seemed to be used. No wonder, when most guests spend only one night there before trip to Machu Picchu. Bathroom connected with WC looks grubby and smelly. Nicely folded towels on beds did not save the overall impression of the room. Instead, we just went for a walk into town, we would not be in the room. We did not feel good there. We were glad to leave the room in the morning. A frugal breakfast with very limited choice started at 4.30 a.m.

If it was hostel with the price of $50, we could say that it was not bad. But it was the hotel for $100 - horrible and we do not recommend. Yes, it's a hotel for one night only, but why sleep in the overpriced niche on the stairs without windows? Next time I would rather chose a different hotel or enjoy some of the recommended hostels, where you can get the same quality of rooms for half price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phil70030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

This was a well located hotel steps away from the train station in Agua Calientes. The staff was pleasant and picked me up at the train station. The breakfast was fine and the rooms clean and charming. Two issues: I think every hotel should provide access to free filtered water to their guests. It is strange to have to purchase water to brush ones teeth! This hotel was extremely noisy. Construction was occurring outside the hotel and it was tough to sleep in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanfromSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Pros:
+ Quiet. There was firecrackers going off like crazy due to the holidays and could barely hear a thing.
+ Directly across the street from a convenience store and a bunch of local restaurants.
+ Very close to the train station, so an ideal hotel if you just want a easy place to stay for a couple hours. The main market is directly adjacent to the train station too, so easy to buy souvenirs.
+ Front desk had good English.

Cons:
- A 10-15 minute walk from the big tourist street where the higher end touristy restaurants are.
- In a less 'high end' part of town, never felt unsafe but might have if I was around at night.
- Expensive relative to other Peru hotels, but AC is expensive all around.

Stayed here for two nights and was pleasantly surprised. Almost all of the hotels in Aguas Calientes get terrible reviews so picking one was difficult. Our guide had asked specifically for a quiet room and it worked like magic, you could barely hear anything although we did not have windows facing the outside. You could hear your neighbors a bit, but it was nothing unreasonable. The rooms were quiet spacious and I am happy about this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalgaryCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

this hotel was part of our tour and we were pleasantly suprised to fine a nice clean hotel and room. this was exactly what we needed after doing the inca trail. they also stored our bags for us the next day. the walls are very thin though so you can hear people in other rooms. overall great stay.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Qory Miski
#27 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inti Punku - EL Tambo
Inti Punku - EL Tambo
#31 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wachuma B&B
Wachuma B&B
#17 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden House Hostal
Golden House Hostal
#20 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hatun Wayna Machu Picchu
Hatun Wayna Machu Picchu
#8 of 38 in Machu Picchu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Ananta Machupicchu
#14 of 33 in Machu Picchu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperio Machupicchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperio Machupicchu Hotel

Property: Imperio Machupicchu Hotel
Address: Calle Winay Wayna Urb 3. - Las Orquideas, Aguas Calientes Cusco 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing