We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for what we needed and REALLY nice guys!”
Review of Wachuma B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wachuma B&B
Ranked #17 of 39 Aguas Calientes B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“Perfect for what we needed and REALLY nice guys!”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We took the 4:30 train from Ollantaytambo so didn't get to Aguas Calientes until after dark and we were only planning to stay the night so we could catch the 5:30 am bus up to Macchu Picchu. It couldn't have been easier to find Wachuma. It was just up the main "street" right by the train station. You basically get off the train and turn right before crossing the river.

Jimmy and Italo greeted us upon our arrival and were really friendly and helpful. :) They showed us on the map where we could go for dinner and checked to see when we'd want our breakfast. Best of all, they helped us w/ a guide for Machu Picchu. We were introduced to Omar and we met w/ him later that evening for a prep talk, it was going to run $20 a person for 2 hours. (Note, when we met w/ Omar the next day, there ended up being 14 other people on the tour. My boyfriend and I opted out of the group, but Omar introduced us to his friend Alain for a private tour, $50 for the two of us for two hours. And Alain was AMAZING)

The rooms were really clean and pretty spacious, there was a TV which we hadn't had in a couple days having come from the Sacred Valley. Bathroom really clean, we didn't get to use the shower. There was a rally of some sort on the soccer fields behind the hotel, but they were done by 9:30, so it didn't bother us. If you're a really light sleeper maybe bring earplugs just in case, but I feel like that's just Aguas Calientes. They do have free coca tea down in the lobby, so that was nice also. And they let us keep our overnight packs there while we went up to the ruins.

I would totally stay here again if I was to do Machu Picchu again. They were a 5 minute walk to the bus line and it was hard to beat the price of $50 a night for 2 people. All the restaurants were just a block away and just a couple minutes up the hill to the hot springs.

Muchas gracias Jimmy y Italo!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vern R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    55
    44
    6
    8
See reviews for
12
66
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The hostal is very close to the trainstation and the two guys working there are very friendly and helpful.
Unfortunatley there was no hot water in the morning and the breakfast was some 20min late. No big deal in general but when it's about getting up at 4am to go up to Machu Picchu it's just too long.
The room was very small (no space for large luggage) and rather noisy. The bed very comfortable. Also we did not find the heating in the room.
For one night was ok, but not great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

It is a simple hotel, but very clean, and the staff is very friendly.
The night we spent there, there was a rehearsal for the anniversary of the city in the schoolyard that sits in the back of the hotel. This test was until 04:00 am. Outside this essay, the hotel is very quiet and well located. I Recommend to anyone who does not want to spend much. It was an excellent cost / benefit ratio.

Room Tip: If you need tickets to Machu Picchu, you can ask them by email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at Wachuma B & B on September 29, 2012. Room was affordable and clean. Jimmy and staff are very friendly - they safely stored our luggage during our trip to MP. Nice to have a TV, but didn't use it. Th biggest downfall, and it is a huge one, is the amount of noise coming from the court yard out our bedroom window. Trying to get an early night sleep to prepare for the next morning was impossible, as was sleeping for more than an hour at a time. Army drills at 9pm, and then periodic yelling through out the night. A domestic fight was occuring somewhere in the neighbourhood, complete with blood curdling screams. The hall light was left on until very late, and it blared through the glass windows into our room. Not a pleasant night - our worse in Peru.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macfarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Wachuma is centrally located and close to the railway but backs on to a building site at present (noisy from 0800 but you'd want to be getting up to Macchu Pichu anyway).
The rooms were Ok once we had changed from a very small "matrimonial" room to a twin room which had much more space. A persistent but minor leak in the bathroom was a little annoying but solved temporarily with a towel. It was a later realization that the landings on the stair above looked down directly into the bathroom through the window into the atrium.
The heating was inadequate but the rooms otherwise comfortable. Breakfast was fine and the staff helpful. Google translate made up for our lack of Spanish. Wifi worked OK.

Room Tip: Avoid a matrimonial room if you want space and avoid the ground floor if you want privacy in the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I arrived in Aguas Calientes in an agreement with a guide I'd met once, no tickets in hand, and no clear way to find my tour the next morning. Jimmy and Jenny were very patient with me, helping to call my agency, and finally Jimmy walked me down to the ticket office and convinced them to print me a new ticket when things went from bad to worse. Jimmy then showed me where I could get on the bus in the morning and verified that my bus tickets were good to go. Overall, above and beyond making a visitor feel comfortable in a strange city so many miles from home!

The rooms are cute, quaint, and CLEAN... moreso than any of the B&B hotels that I've recently used in Lima, Tarapoto, and Puerto Maldonado. Wireless internet works well in the lobby and in my room (on the second floor). There is some noise from the children playing in the courtyard in the back, but it all stopped after 9:30pm.

Great value, and excellent service... more like "hosts" than employees, really! Highly recommended for the budget traveler.

PS. Jimmy collects coins from all over the world. Have some in your pocket when you go so you can expand his collection!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kcwade2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed for two nights. The owners, Jimmy and Jenny, went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. I haven't met 2 more hospitable since my arrival in Peru. The rooms are quaint and clean, showers have extremely hot water, and the views of the surrounding mountains are gorgeous. Jenny met us at 4:30 AM with our breakfast all set up in the atrium so we were in good shape to head up to Machu Picchu.

The only drawback was that our room was over the local school's courtyard and we just happened to be in town during their annual "pageant". This was at no fault to the hotel but it gave us some good laughs. The B&B is centrally located and easily accessible to any of Aguascalientes Calientes amenities. Thanks Jimmy and Jenny!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adelas's Hostel
Adelas's Hostel
#2 of 43 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita ...
#4 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wachuma B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wachuma B&B

Property: Wachuma B&B
Address: Alameda Los Artesanos MZ 23 LT13, Aguas Calientes Mach 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wachuma B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wachuma B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing