We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, amazing dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here one night and were very impressed with the hotel. It's 5 minutes from both the train station and bus stop allowing you to really maximize your time at Machu Picchu. Our room was beautiful and had a great view of the river. Our 4 course dinner was amazing. My husband and I both ordered different things for each course and were very happy with everything we were served. Everything was presented on the plate beautifully and tasted just as great. The service was great as well. Breakfast the next morning was good as well. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickelp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your comment.

Glad you liked the food in Manka restaurant.

We hope to return soon to surprise you more.

Sincerely,

Casa del Sol Machupicchu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed overnight and had a wonderful time. We had a gourmet dinner that night and breakfast was excellent . The service was great, close to the train station, next time in Aguas Calientes this is the hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaniaCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Mrs. Dania Cuba

Thank you very much for your comment. We hope you come back soon, we are working to serve you better.

Sincerely,

Casa del Sol Machupicchu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed overnight and had a wonderfully prepared dinner and an excellent breakfast. But what made this hotel so special was the view from our floor to ceiling windows. The river was right below us. If you do not like the sound of running river water, you may not enjoy this as much as we did. The room is a nice size, the bathroom had a tub that is delightful after a day of walking. It also has a rain shower. The staff is excellent. The town is delightful. The shopping was very good too. And I was even able to get the strap of my bag sewn by a local shoe repair man for the whopping sum of 50 cents!

Room Tip: The rushing water can be considered loud for some guests although I loved the sound of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneDeRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Mrs.

Thank you very much for your comment.

We take customer comments very seriously.

We are working to serve you even better.

Sincerely,

Casa del Sol Machupicchu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

From our arrival to our departure the staff were terrific. Location location location! Near everything and staff were awesome. Sat beside the window for all our meals staring at the river below our 2 night stay was not enough spoiled us for any other hotel. Breakfast was good but dinner was amazing the presentation and taste were more than we expected. Had lunch at 2 other restaurants near hotel. Loved the jacuzzi and extra room overlooking the river. Had to tear ourselves away to visit Machu Picchu close to market, train station and bus. Only time I used computer was here in the lobby, they had juice and tea available all day as well. Would recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone made our trip! Enjoyed bathrobes, slippers and amazing shower head and toiletries were lovely.

Room Tip: Top floor middle room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunseekersToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Public Relations Manager at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Mrs.

Thank you very much for your comment.

We take customer comments very seriously.

We are working to serve you even better.

Sincerely,

Casa del Sol Machupicchu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Tripadvisor.com almost never lets me down, but I feel that I was less impressed with this hotel than other reviewers were. The disappointment started upon checkin. I requested a river facing room when I made the reservation for a triple. When we checked in, we were informed that none of the triples faced the river. Big disappointment as our room looked out upon a junkyard that was across the railroad tracks that ran right in front of the hotel. Being on the river side not only gives you the sound of the river, but also blocks the sound of the trains that regularly run right under your window on the non-river side.

For almost four hundred dollars a night, I expected a better room. However, it had the feel of a hostel, with dim lighting and a refrigerator that the staff admitted was not really appropriate to keep things cold but rather only cool. We had to ask for a second roll of toilet paper and it was necessary to climb up into the strangely elevated shower/tub. Several bottles of water were provided for the room, but one was already open and a quarter of the water had already been consumed from it.

The thing that saved me from giving this hotel only one star was the dinner that was included in the rate. After our experiences with the poor quality of the room, we were blown away with the high quality of the fixed menu dinner offered. I had an entree of mushroom risotto and steak that was incredibly tasty and the other courses were very good as well. This combined with the ambiance of the dining room and a table overlooking the river was a strange but very welcome contrast to the low quality of the rooms upstairs.

Room Tip: Insist on a river facing room or look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mugro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Public Relations Manager at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your comments. Although we don´t like to hear complaints, your comments are very important in order to assure excellence. We are very disappointed that your stay was less than perfect, and we are taking steps to prevent this undesireable situation from repeating. We take customer comments very seriously.

Please send us your name and date of stay so that we can review the information in particular of your stay with us, and remedy the situation directly with you.

ventas@hotelescasadelsol.com

Sincerely,
Casa Del Sol Machupicchu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Upon entering this lovely hotel, we were greeted by the most gracious staff we have ever encountered. Everything about this site was inviting...the lobby, the view, the food........and the rooms! Our room was right on the river, which lent to the total tranquility of our two night stay.....the warm-rock massage at their Kintu Spa is a must! Leaving at the end of our stay was a touch sad.....yet I am certain we will be back.

Our thanks to David and the entire staff for being perfect in every way.

Kent and Bev

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sportsterbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Public Relations Manager at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Mrs.

Thank you very much for your comment.

We take customer comments very seriously.

We are working to serve you even better.

Sincerely,

Casa del Sol Machupicchu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here for one night during our trip to Aguas Calientes. It's located moments from the train station, and just moments from the bus station that treks up and down the mountain to Machu Picchu. The staff here were so friendly and accommodating. The lobby is gorgeous, with a beautiful view of the river. Our original room was a view of the river, but had two twin beds. My husband and I requested to be switched to a room with a queen or king sized bed, and they immediately catered to our request. In the time they needed to switch our rooms, we treated ourselves to massages at their gorgeous spa. It's a very small spa, but the services were great. We both had one of the best massages in recent memory. The hotel switched us to a room on the opposite side of the hotel, which meant we lost our river view. However, the room was still very nice, although a bit loud as you could hear trains beginning their rides into the city very early in the morning. A nice perk here is that dinner is included in your reservation. They treat you to a 4 course meal which is pretty decent. I wouldn't say it's the most delicious meal had in Peru, but we were pleasantly surprised that we did not have to venture out after a long day of hiking Machu Picchu. The location is wonderful, and it appears to be brand new. Everything is very clean and the hotel makes it very easy to relax and enjoy yourself while in Aguas Calientes.

Room Tip: If the view is important to you, request a room with a view of the river. Just be sure to specify up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Public Relations Manager at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Mrs.

Thank you very much for your comment.

We take customer comments very seriously.

We are working to serve you even better.

Sincerely,

Casa del Sol Machupicchu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#3 of 30 in Machu Picchu
2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.2 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sol Machupicchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol Machupicchu

Address: Av. Imperio de los Incas No 608 | Machupicchu Pueblo, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 0800, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £141 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Sol Machupicchu 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the entrance to the Sanctuary of Machu Picchu, alongside the sacred Vilcanota River, at the base of the mighty mountains, among trees and orchids that shelter the most beautiful birds. The sound of the river, the singing of the birds and the wind moving through the trees.This is Casa del Sol, where you will be received and attended to with all of the warmth and heart of Peru making you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Sol Machupicchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing