We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay - worth the expense”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect stay - worth the expense”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I spent a lot of time selecting a hotel in Aguas Caliente because all the hotels are so expensive and finally selected this one based on the reviews and value - and it exceeded our expectations. Everyone was so friendly, from meeting us at the train station to offering juice while we waited for our departure train, every staff member was friendly, helpful, and professional. The only warning is they forgot our wake-up call, they were very apologetic, so set your alarm. The location is great, close to the train and bus stations. The food was amazing. There was a lot of variety in the dishes and everything was well executed (except the dessert). The accommodations provided a perfect place to rest after long hikes at Machu Picchu - heated floors, very comfortable bed, large spa bathroom, and the covered terrace provides great views of the river.

Room Tip: The top floor suite has an amazing view and an awesome jacuzzi in the glass-covered patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ava C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Mrs.

Thank you very much for your comment.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused and hope this does not prevent to return to Machu Picchu, Peru.

Tank you for your time. We hope we will see you back again anytime soon. It was a pleasure to serve you.

Sincerely,

Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    144
    38
    11
    16
See reviews for
156
243
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here one night and loved it. Location was close to the train and the buses up to Machu Picchu. When booking, we requested a river view room (and I can see why, as the non-river view rooms overlook the street with the train running down the center of it!) and when we arrived, the staff was extremely friendly and for some reason we were upgraded to a suite. What a beautiful room with wall-to-wall and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the river along with jacuzzi and the most comfortable bed in all of Peru! We decided that after hiking the Inca Trail a massage might be a good idea and when we arrived, they were able to accommodate the both of us. Luce, the massage therapist, gave the best massage I have ever had! After, we enjoyed an excellent 4-course dinner which was beyond amazing (and included with the room). We each ordered different things and that way got to try more of the dishes. Each one was artistically plated and excellent. The restaurant was beautifully decorated and cozy with the river running right below the windows. The hotel had spot lights on the river illuminating the rapids. Breakfast the next morning was a lovely buffet with a great selection. We loved the background sound of the river while falling asleep. Booking here was the best decision ever!

Room Tip: River view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bergenplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are happy that you liked and enjoyed your trip to Machu Picchu.

We look forward to your next trip to Machu Picchu, Peru.

Sincerely,

Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
149 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here one night and were very impressed with the hotel. It's 5 minutes from both the train station and bus stop allowing you to really maximize your time at Machu Picchu. Our room was beautiful and had a great view of the river. Our 4 course dinner was amazing. My husband and I both ordered different things for each course and were very happy with everything we were served. Everything was presented on the plate beautifully and tasted just as great. The service was great as well. Breakfast the next morning was good as well. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickelp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your comment.

Glad you liked the food in Manka restaurant.

We hope to return soon to surprise you more.

Sincerely,

Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed overnight and had a wonderful time. We had a gourmet dinner that night and breakfast was excellent . The service was great, close to the train station, next time in Aguas Calientes this is the hotel to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniaCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Mrs. Dania Cuba

Thank you very much for your comment. We hope you come back soon, we are working to serve you better.

Sincerely,

Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhead, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed overnight and had a wonderfully prepared dinner and an excellent breakfast. But what made this hotel so special was the view from our floor to ceiling windows. The river was right below us. If you do not like the sound of running river water, you may not enjoy this as much as we did. The room is a nice size, the bathroom had a tub that is delightful after a day of walking. It also has a rain shower. The staff is excellent. The town is delightful. The shopping was very good too. And I was even able to get the strap of my bag sewn by a local shoe repair man for the whopping sum of 50 cents!

Room Tip: The rushing water can be considered loud for some guests although I loved the sound of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneDeRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Mrs.

Thank you very much for your comment.

We take customer comments very seriously.

We are working to serve you even better.

Sincerely,

Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

From our arrival to our departure the staff were terrific. Location location location! Near everything and staff were awesome. Sat beside the window for all our meals staring at the river below our 2 night stay was not enough spoiled us for any other hotel. Breakfast was good but dinner was amazing the presentation and taste were more than we expected. Had lunch at 2 other restaurants near hotel. Loved the jacuzzi and extra room overlooking the river. Had to tear ourselves away to visit Machu Picchu close to market, train station and bus. Only time I used computer was here in the lobby, they had juice and tea available all day as well. Would recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone made our trip! Enjoyed bathrobes, slippers and amazing shower head and toiletries were lovely.

Room Tip: Top floor middle room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunseekersToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Public Relations Manager at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Mrs.

Thank you very much for your comment.

We take customer comments very seriously.

We are working to serve you even better.

Sincerely,

Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Tripadvisor.com almost never lets me down, but I feel that I was less impressed with this hotel than other reviewers were. The disappointment started upon checkin. I requested a river facing room when I made the reservation for a triple. When we checked in, we were informed that none of the triples faced the river. Big disappointment as our room looked out upon a junkyard that was across the railroad tracks that ran right in front of the hotel. Being on the river side not only gives you the sound of the river, but also blocks the sound of the trains that regularly run right under your window on the non-river side.

For almost four hundred dollars a night, I expected a better room. However, it had the feel of a hostel, with dim lighting and a refrigerator that the staff admitted was not really appropriate to keep things cold but rather only cool. We had to ask for a second roll of toilet paper and it was necessary to climb up into the strangely elevated shower/tub. Several bottles of water were provided for the room, but one was already open and a quarter of the water had already been consumed from it.

The thing that saved me from giving this hotel only one star was the dinner that was included in the rate. After our experiences with the poor quality of the room, we were blown away with the high quality of the fixed menu dinner offered. I had an entree of mushroom risotto and steak that was incredibly tasty and the other courses were very good as well. This combined with the ambiance of the dining room and a table overlooking the river was a strange but very welcome contrast to the low quality of the rooms upstairs.

Room Tip: Insist on a river facing room or look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mugro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Public Relations Manager at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your comments. Although we don´t like to hear complaints, your comments are very important in order to assure excellence. We are very disappointed that your stay was less than perfect, and we are taking steps to prevent this undesireable situation from repeating. We take customer comments very seriously.

Please send us your name and date of stay so that we can review the information in particular of your stay with us, and remedy the situation directly with you.

ventas@hotelescasadelsol.com

Sincerely,
Casa Del Sol Machupicchu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picch...
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sol Machupicchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol Machupicchu

Property: Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Address: Av. Imperio de los Incas No 608 | Machupicchu Pueblo, Aguas Calientes 0800, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Sol Machupicchu 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the entrance to the Sanctuary of Machu Picchu, alongside the sacred Vilcanota River, at the base of the mighty mountains, among trees and orchids that shelter the most beautiful birds. The sound of the river, the singing of the birds and the wind moving through the trees.This is Casa del Sol, where you will be received and attended to with all of the warmth and heart of Peru making you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Sol Machupicchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing