We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Hotel was in a good location close to train and bus services. Staff we're very pleasant and room overlooking river with jacuzzi was an excellent touch. Dinner was disappointing with limited choice as was set menu and very rushed. We had early breakfast to see sunrise at Macchu Picchu wasn't ready on time and too basic .

Room Tip: Ask room overlooking river. View was spectacular
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritza A, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Mr.
Thanks a lot for your comment. We are trilled to read that you love our touched with the Jacuzzi and we are a little disappointed to read about your experience with the dinner service. We are going to make sure this one gets improved as soon as possible.
Thanks again for your review and we hope to have you once again in a near future, we will make sure this incident does not happen again.
Have a wonderful day
Our best regards,
Casa del sol Machupicchu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Casa del Sol Machupicchu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

The experience we had in Machupicchu was unique!!! and the staying at this hotel completed our experience in this travel.
The hotel is located in Aguas Calientes town, from there is where you have to take the bus to the "ruins". After we came back from a long walking day in Machupicchu we could really relax in other kind of atmosphere: quite, fabulous, cozy but still mystic.
We also found nice restaurants and bars in the neighborhood if you prefer not to eat all the time at the hotel -which cuisine really satisfied us under our stay. We like to eat good and we did it there! Great breakfast too!
Availability of people is a plus when you need something "now"!
I really recommend this hotel!!!
Thank you for being so kind to us...

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritza A, Public Relations Manager at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Madam,

Thanks a lot for your kind remarks. At CASA DEL SOL MACHUPICCHU we were trilled to had you as a guest. We promise we are going to continue the good work to achieve your complete satisfaction.
It would be a pleasure to have you as a guest once again.
Best regards,

Casa del Sol Machupicchu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a 3 star hotel with a 7 star price but it is logical because of the location.

Food caused half our group to have severe stomach bug.

In hindsight I would have stayed at Tambo for another day and taken the early train to Machu Picchu.

They tried to charge us money to replace Pesto sauce in kids' pasta with butter!

Room Tip: Stay in Urubamba and take the early train to Machu Picchu rather than overpaying for this tourist tr...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritza A, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Mr.
We want to thank you for your comment, these remarks help us to get better in many ways although we would like to point something out, Our location is privilege as yourself mentioned it and we work a lot on our infrastructure, that is why the reason of that our rates.
Regarding the incident of pesto sauce you are totally right about the inadequate extra charge and is something we are going to take care immediately.
Have a marvelous day.
Best regards,
Casa del sol Machupicchu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I stay two days with you, I have to say that I sleep like a rock, some friends advise me about the river view is the best and they were right, the food was great and delicious, the staff always wanting to help, oh! the hydrotherapy pool is something else, really relaxing and calm, worth every cent

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Maritza E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDelSol M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear. Madam,

Thanks madam for your lovely remarks! Our mission is your satisfaction and if we are doing so, we are more than pleased.

CASA DEL SOL MACHUPICCHU is more than grateful for your visit and hope to have you as a guest one more time.

Best regards.

Casa del Sol Machipicchu
Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We travelled with a group of twenty, looking forward to a great meal and a wonderful hotel. The hotel was very unique in its rooms and the rushing river that our room overlooked. The room was simple but had some great touches like the separate jacuzzi overlooking the river. What was not great was the cobwebs found behind the headboard and on the baseboards. having a large group at the hotel seemed to be overwhelming for the staff. The dinner options were non-existent. There were no options offered for any course until after much arguing, we were offered one other option for a main meal. The young children of the group were not offered any options at all. After much arguing and stress, they were offered pasta with butter. Our friends who were there the night after us were offered three options per course and for the children - fresh chicken fingers and pasta with either tomato or butter sauce. The staff were not very accommodating to our situation and were not prepared to make any substitutions unless we made a fuss. This made for a very stressful evening with most of us going hungry. Overall, it was not a very peaceful experience. They were kind enough to let us hang out in their lobby the next day after Machu Pichu and letting us have a late check out for two of our five rooms. After spending over $490US per night per room, that was very kind of them. If I ever come back, I won't be staying there.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the river and note that there is no air conditioning. The rooms on t...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rain2643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDelSol M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear guest:

I understand your position perfectly and let me tell you that we are going everything possible to improve any mistake we had at your staying.

You are our customer and we will take care of you as much as possible. Please let me offer you my sincere apology and promise to you that this won't happen again, and if you ever stay in Aguas Calientes one more time please contact us trough this email ventas1@casadelsolhotels.com

Thanks for your time and your review it always help us to be the best.

Best regards,

Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a group of 20. Our train to Aguas was notably delayed, and the hotel staff was kind enough to have a delicious multi-course dinner waiting for us upon arrival. I would also recommend the restaurant for dinner. The dining area opens up to the rushing river below, which you can hear through the windows - quite lovely. Breakfast the next morning was tasty and fresh. They were very accommodating during our very quick (1-night) stay. The hotel is situated just steps away from the bus stop to the top of Machu Picchu, making this a perfect place as a base camp during your stay in Aguas Caliente. Though a bit pricier than other hotels in the area, this hotel delivers with location, great food, and amenities.

Room Tip: The roads in Aguas Calientes are not super busy, but if you have the choice, you might ask for a riv...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gastrocurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear guest:

Its an enormous pleasure to read your remarks, we really appreciate all of the highlighted comments about our facilities and services, your absolute satisfaction it is our only reason to be.

Casa del Sol Hotels thank you one more time for your visit and it would be lovely if you can visit us again sometime soon.

Best regards,

Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had 2 rooms opposite each other for our family of 5. 1 room had the view of the rapids and the other had the view of the main street. We found that we didn't want to open our window as the sound of the water was very loud and we couldn't hear each other talk but with the window closed we couldn't really hear it.

There was tea/coffee and juices available in the foyer 24 hours.

Breakfast included a selection of juices, fruits, cereals, meats, some croissants and then egg however you wanted them coked. This was included in the price.

Dinner which was also included in the price, consisted of a set menu where there were a few choices and 4 courses. Its available from 6.30pm to 8.30pm. We did feel that the lighting was too dark during dinner and made us feel very tired. The menu was in Spanish and English which made it easier to choose. I wasn't feeling very well and they offered to make me a chicken noodle soup which I thought was great.

There was free Wi-Fi although we found that it only worked in the foyer and not in our rooms.

The BEST shower we have had in 3 weeks travelling through Peru.

Everything that Aguas Calienties has to offer is all within walking distance of the Hotel.

When we were departing in the morning for the train station, the staff helped us with our luggage and did not seem to expect or want for a tips which we were shocked about but gave them some anyway. They seemed surprised.

Staff seemed friendly and spoke reasonable English.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdelaideFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luisalbertob, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa del Sol Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Mrs. Adelaide,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very proud that you enjoyed your stay with us at Casa del Sol Machupicchu. Unfortunately, the wifi in town has a reduced capacity, which effects our system and lowers the range sometimes.

We hope to see you again soon,
Sincerely,

Luis Alberto
Casa del Sol Machupicchu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sol Machupicchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol Machupicchu

Address: Av. Imperio de los Incas No 608 | Machupicchu Pueblo, Aguas Calientes 0800, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £148 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Sol Machupicchu 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the entrance to the Sanctuary of Machu Picchu, alongside the sacred Vilcanota River, at the base of the mighty mountains, among trees and orchids that shelter the most beautiful birds. The sound of the river, the singing of the birds and the wind moving through the trees.This is Casa del Sol, where you will be received and attended to with all of the warmth and heart of Peru making you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa del Sol Machupicchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing