We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalist, stylish hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Modern hotel in Aguas Calientes. A good base for Machu Picchu. Starkly decorated, but comfortable rooms. Stylish bar. We had half board included in our tour, which must annoy all the owners of the nearby restaurants who are out on the street touting for business. The food in the restaurant was ok and staff served very quickly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellwhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

960 - 966 of 2,253 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at El Mapi for our visit to Maccu Picchu in November 2013. The staff were friendly, it is very well located an easy walk from the station and main street/restaurants, and most of all the beds were INCREDIBLY comfortable. It was a treat to have soft mattresses, crisp linen and fluffy duvets - the best of our trip by far. The bar was buzzy too with plenty of pisco sours!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 288MirandaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Aguas Calientes has a definite party-vibe...lots of energy, a bevy of buff young people who just trotted off the Inca Trail and are looking to celebrate their arrival and train loads of turistas over-run the streets. My husband and I (65 and 58 respectively) did not want to be in a backpacker hotel...we heard how rowdy some of these places were and we wanted a peaceful place to launch our Machu Pichu adventure. El Mapi is just expensive enough to pretty much limit the clientele to an older, more mature traveller but not so expensive we had to sell organs to fund our stay. I had low expectations as I really wanted to stay at the Sanctuary (husband could not stomach price tag even for a night) but actually, we ended up being very happy with the set up at El Mapi. We got a superior deluxe room ($250 per night) so we had a separate little sitting area next to the bedroom which was nice. Breakfast and dinner were included each day we were there...In some ways that was unfortunate, as I would have liked to experiment with some of the nearby restaurants. But the place was immaculately clean, very modern looking, with a sleek and sort of sophisticated decor...Pretty much monochromatic, all in whites and I tend to like a little color but still, nicely done, just not "homey". Windows in our rooms looked out on an awesome vista of the Andes Mountains. We knew the hotel would meet us at the train station and we assumed they would drive us to the hotel...instead it is a very short walk over a bridge and there you are. I was impressed when the dinner included in our hotel package was a special menu choice of entrees including beef, chicken, seafood, pasta and pork (1 of each). The 2nd night we were there it was the exact same menu and it was fine...but on a second go round, not all that exciting. As far as noise...our room was above the outdoor bar seating area. A little noisy until about 8:30 pm and then perfectly quiet, again given that most of the people staying there were more on the retired side, noise just wasn't an issue at all.

Room Tip: We asked for a double room (they call it a "matrimonial") but they kept confirming 2 singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TucsonSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

From the outside, this hotel is fairly plain--but it is quite pretty on the inside. Service was very good. Again, everyone was very friendly.

We were here with a group and every one liked the hotel and their rooms--even those with a hike to the last room in the complex (we were in building 5, first floor; but some were on the third).

Best breakfast of all the hotels we stayed at in Peru. Great selection of items, including made to order omelets. Good selection of fruits, juices, and breads.

Dinner is included in the room rate but is only served at 6, 730, or 9 PM. It takes about an hour and a half for your order to be taken and served. Choice of 3 appetizers, 5? entrees, and 3 desserts. The soup was great. We both loved the pork. Dessert wasn't too memorable as neither of us can remember what we had both nights we were there.

Aquas Calientes is small--quick walk to the bus over to Machu Picchu. Quick walk to anything else.

While I was in the room relaxing, I could hear a fire consultant discussing improvements that could be made to the property. His only recommendation was self-close doors--the management official with him stated that the hotel had already planned to do that was there were lots of complaints about noise from the doors slamming.

The hotel is a little noisy due to all of the hard surfaces--tile floors, hardwood doors, etc.

WiFi worked in our room which faced the street but those that were in rooms that faced the back of the property had no service.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room in buildings 1 or 2 unless you want a major trek up stairs--but it was good p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatriciaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Pitched as 4 star by South American tourism. Not remotely at that level with noisy rooms, dirty floors, clean linen. Breakfast / dinner included were OK. Staff were ok but some rude. Location central.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel was one of several booked for us by an excellent travel company as part of a private tour. Accommodation in this town is at a premium with so many visitors to Machu Picchu. This is a budget, no frills, hotel but backpackers probably think it's luxury. It is clean and simple and will do for one night if you're used to a better class of accommodation. It's very convenient for the round day trip up to Machu Picchu.The noise from other guests in the corridors can be very loud due to all the hard surfaces. The staff are very helpful and looked after our bags on arrival and after check out to avoid us having too much to carry round while we did our sightseeing. Breakfast & dinner were included (a good ploy to stop clients going out to dinner and to make it look good value) but the dining room arrangements are noisy and canteen style. Breakfast was very good but the dinner was not great. We turned up 10 minutes before our dinner table reservation time and were told to wait despite there being at least ten newly laid up tables. It seems the staff are geared up to mass set reservation times, but, once started, service worked efficiently, even if the food was mediocre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sagatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

After 4 days hiking along the Inca Trail, it was great to settle into a day and night of relative luxury and comfort at El Mapi. Good food, polite and welcoming service in this very well-placed smart hotel was much appreciated after our tough few days. It is expensive, catering to wealthier westerners, but it was exactly what we needed. Would do as a good base to explore Machupicchu for those arriving by train - just a few minutes walk from the station.

Room Tip: Block 3 (e.g. rooms 3xx) was a little further to walk from reception, but also further from the hust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.1 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £125 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing