We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Mapi Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“El Mapi Very Nice”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The El Mapi Hotel in Aguas Calientes was the best hotel hands down on our tour.

This hotel met all of my expectations and I was relieved to have been booked here. The rooms were of good size with comfy beds, good storage, nice amenities, plenty of light and the views were just fantastic. There was an electric heater in the room but it was not necessary.

I kept saying what a wonderful idea to have a hotel right here that did not clash with the surroundings but blended into the overall landscape. The owners obviously planned for a wonderful guest experience. The views of course were just amazing. (I had to say that again).

In the restaurant, dinner and breakfast were both good with plenty of items to choose from. All were well prepared, fresh and tasty Drinks too were great (wine and Pisco sours). The atmosphere was calming and uncrowded even when the restaurant was full at dinner time.

I bought a beautiful handbag in the hotel's boutique that was a great price for the quality. There were good selections of locally made merchandise,well made and beautiful.

This hotel's management has found the secret to keeping up a great property, with also great food and unbeatable service.

Overall if I visited AG again, the El Mapi would be my place to stay.

Room Tip: First floor rooms in the second building walk out to the courtyard and the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at El MaPi by Inkaterra and that you keep great memories of your visit.

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    813
    256
    79
    36
See reviews for
373
904
141
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel was comfortable
With all the necessary things like a welcome cocktail, umbrella, free wi fi but in the lobby and restaurant was good when I went to my room 102 it went of terrible reception so I could not use it in my room so that is bad. In the middle of the town nothing to do but walk around and shop for souveniers Or have a drink. We came with kids so no nightlife for us. The beds were comfy hot shower and direct tv with all the channels I wanted to watch.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank cutefati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel was quite nice and is probably the correct choice for Aguas Calientes. The hotel has a cold minimalistic ambience (not in keeping with the region), probably well suited to younger travellers, but probably outside of their price range.
The rooms are small but adequate. One bonus is we had a real shower & not a bath come shower.
The staff are friendly enough.
The breakfast was really poor & the coffee - be warned is pitch black. Dinner was average & you have to book a seating time.
It is right in the main touristic road & close to the square. Close to the bus and train station.
Beware of restaurants that charge a service fee & then a 'tourist fee of around $8. Our 3 pizzas & 2 beers came to $33. Probably the best restaurant is across the road - but pricey.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after our four day hike on the Inca Trail but in retrospect I would have skipped Aguas Caliente and moved directly onto our next hotel in Urubamba, which we could have arrived at within 2-3 hours.

The man who checked us in was formal and cold. Somehow, we booked two twin beds for our honeymoon, which could not be rectified because they were booked full. The complimentary pisco sour was tiny but tasty--go for a full-sized house special. Our room was immediately outside the dining patio and there was a local rooster that never stopped crowing and the building next door is under construction. Our room was damp and smelled faintly of cigarettes but after 4 days on the trail we were just happy to have a hot shower and clean toilet. Not the best value but one of the only games in town, which is how they can get away with the price. Fine if you want to take the bus up to Machu Picchu early but not worth staying the extra night if you hiked in like we did.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sfrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night after a day spent in Machu Picchu. We were very impressed upon arrival as it was a very stylish place. We found the customer service to be great and had no issues.
The rooms were lovely and the beds were very comfortable. The very good looking bar tender (we forgot his name but he was working on the night of 18 Dec) was excellent - he's probably made the best caprioska cocktails I've had (and that's a lot in my lifetime). He was good to talk to and spoke excellent English which was refreshing (you would think he was American).

The only downside we can think of is that it is quite noisy in the mornings. The walls and doors don't block out the noise from the people who I assume are leaving for an early morning visit to Machu Picchu. You can quite clearly hear the doors slamming and people talking early which kept me awake for the better part of the morning.

Other than that, we found our stay to be very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christe3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

The reviews I read seemed to have nailed the place. I wanted to share my negative experience. Upon checkout the employee tried to short me change. No, this wasn't an accident, he thought he could get away with it. In truth I found this happened a few times in peru, so traveler beware. I just would hope that one of the better hotels in this city would hire honest people. Happy travels and stay safe!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

We are sorry to hear about your experience and we apologize for any confusion caused at your check out. We take special interest in our recruitment and training process in order to guarantee all of our guests with a great experience during your stay. This situation was most likely caused by a sporadic confusion, but we will review our processes in order to avoid any similar situation in the future.

We would like to thank you again for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to keep improving our services. We would be glad to welcome you again in a next occasion.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

3 Blocks from the Train Station to get back to Cusco, 5 Blocks from the Bus stop to get to Macha Piccu, and what feels like a million miles away from Peru just when you have had enough. We really enjoyed the modern feel of the hotel. The staff was so nice. Espeically a bartenders. Who am I kidding.. the front desk staff was wonderful too. They took care of everything we asked for. I wish I had asked them to dry our clothes after the hike in the rain. I bet they would have. What a great experience. Okay, just to be critical, because we have to to be... the food was not as great as the hotel should have. For a place this amazing.. the food should be better. There, see, I can be objective.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharakaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Property: El MaPi by Inkaterra
Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing