We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern but with a Peruvian Twist” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El MaPi by Inkaterra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Modern but with a Peruvian Twist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We loved this hotel ! Best sleep I had in a week - pillows and doona on king size bed like heavenly clouds. We had a superior room and looked out at a magnificent green mountain. Room includes a safe and a little fridge with 2 complimentary bottles of water. Full length in main room and a decent size one in bathroom . Towels are thick and thirsty . Heavy curtains work well to block out light.
For me the distant roosters crowing in the morning just added a rustic touch . The rooms are not overly large compared to some of the older style hotels but the modern facilities more than compensate for that.
The large bar area is situated downstairs from the restaurant in the street front part of the hotel. Happy hour for cocktails - a lengthy list of western classics and at least 10 different Pisco Sours - is 2 for price of one between 5.30 pm and 7 pm . Waiters are friendly and attentive - cleaning tables at regular intervals. The meal in the restaurant was very tasty - I had really tender and flavoursome Fried Pork with vegetables.
Overall a very pleasant experience after a day spent climbing around Macchu Picchu.

Room Tip: As you have to climb stairs to your room don't go too high !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about our property.

The hotel’s design is based on efficiency, whimsy and friendliness; it welcomes a wide variety of guests eager for a visit that promises comfort and calm as they encounter the wonders of Machu Picchu.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    762
    242
    73
    31
See reviews for
342
826
132
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
335 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for one night having arrived after our initial visit to Machu Picchu. The reception staff were OK and the room was clean and passable. Unfortunately our price included dinner and we were told that there were 2 seating's (6.00 and 7.30) not a particularly good start. However Happy hour was from 5.30 to 7.00 and this was also highlighted in our bathroom as well as the drinks menu given to us at dinner. Agh sorry sir, this does not apply to the 2 beers you have ordered, only cocktails - so beware, and by the way they are double the price of your hotel in Lima.
The food was OK although the staff continued to mix up the orders.
Apart from the barman, the staff were not overly friendly. If you are going to eat here, get your drinks at the bar, make sure the 2 for 1 offer is applied and take your drinks with you to dinner. If you package does not include dinner, there are plenty of restaurants across from the hotel. One other tip, from about 2.00 a,m, in the morning the cockerels start to crow and do not stop and if you are a light sleeper you may want a room at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper, ask for a room at the front of the hotel, it may minimize the sound of the cocke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us; we appreciate your kind comments and feedback that will allow us to keep improving our services.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We liked this hotel and its modern style. It is ultra modern and eco friendly. The shower is very shallow, and has a tendency to overflow, if you take long showers. I liked the portable heater in the room that you could use, if you felt a bit chilled. It is conveniently located to restaurants and massage therapy studios (helpful after a day at Machu Picchu). The lush gardens all around the hotel are beautiful, and make the hotel even more tranquil. The bar is great, and has a happy hour. Didn't think the restaurant was so good, and the breakfast had very slim pickings. But the setting between mountains was breathtaking!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank memphistraveller214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments towards our facilities and services; El Mapi’s design brings together a blend of classic, modern, restored and recycled materials.

We are please you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in a next occasion.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at El Mapi over the last two days....finding it clean, comfortable, modern and staff helpful.
Breakfast and dinner included....breakfast buffet ok and dinner a choice of three courses which proved popular...and busier than any other restaurant in town.
Our room 211 comfortable bed ..great shower...but room noisy in the early mornings...perhaps an upstairs room would be better.
Staff organised luggage to the train station.
Thank you El Mapi for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed for 1 night in Jan 2014, while visiting Machu Picchu.
The hotel met us from the train and took our luggage for us, which was a nice touch (They did the same as we departed too)
Really cool, boutique style hotel, nicely finished with premium showers and bathrooms, as well as big comfy beds, flat screen TV's, fast WiFi and safes in every room.
Unusually for us we ate in the hotel, as people we were travelling with preferred this option, and I have to say we were impressed, good value and selection, and a nice wine list too.
Plenty of bars and restaurants in the vicinity if you prefer to get out and about.
Free first Pisco Sour for guests too!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SimonOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Rooms are simple and well equipped. Bathroom was new. They give you complimentary wifi, breakfast, dinner (nice food and portions) and 2 piscos. Very good location, walking distance from the bus station and the train station. They can pick you up for free at the train station on your request. The staff was really helpful and nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveliando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahwahnee, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a fantastic stay at El MaPi. The hotel picked up our baggage from the train so we could head straight up to Machu Picchu. The hotel was beautiful, the decorations in the lobby really wowed me. The restaurant was also really great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherilee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Property: El MaPi by Inkaterra
Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing