We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Convenient and Elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Convenient and Elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Loved our stay at El Mapi. The staff was very friendly and gave a big room for our family. The room and bathroom was very chic/contemporary and very clean. Breakfast and dinner was included through our travel agency. Excellent restaurant and the bar was pretty neat too. We didn't expect to find such a top-notch hotel in such a quaint village town. Everything was in walking distance, especially the train station and bus stop for MP. The hotel arranged for our luggage to be picked up from the train station on our arrival and was delivered at the train station for our departure. I wish they would have more flexibility with checkout time as many people are not able to come back from MP before 11am.

Don't look for another hotel in Aguas Calientes. This one is perfect! They need to add a swimming pool/hot tub for relaxation after a very difficult hike to MP.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are very glad you enjoyed the service offered and that you keep good memories of your stay with us.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    772
    247
    74
    32
See reviews for
352
843
136
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Firstly the rooms are very nice, good size and some of the best showers we have found in Peru. The staff at reception were very welcoming and the bag collection service from the station was an added bonus. Unlike some posted we were able to get wifi from our room (hence this being posted whilst here). The location is fantastic.

However, this is a building site at the moment and this leaves a lot of dust around and noise during the day. They start at 7am which is too early for a hotel. I am also guessing the pool and landscaped gardens are now under the building site???

Dinner (which was included) was disappointing. We were one of the first to arrive for our allocated time but were then one of the last to be served (it seemed that if you had a tour guide you got priority). We were given a bread roll and croissant (!!!) with butter knives (but no butter unless you asked). The salad was tasty although uninspired, the mains were okay (but having sampled some amazing food in Peru not up to par), and desert was terrible (my husband's lemon tart was covered in some sugary/ creme concoction and my chocolate torte was not a torte nor very chocolaty). Not sure how this is going to cope when the new rooms are finished.

We will be advising our agency to keep booking the hotel but not include the food.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Munchkin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Before beginning this hotel was part of a tour with Condor Travel therefore didn't have a say in choice nor no price.
The location is very good but they only warned us about the workman noise after we got to our room. It was unfinished like the toilet roll holder had the pencil marks. The sliding balcony doors were not lockable. They worked before and after the curfew meant you didn't need an alarm clock!!
Beds were decent though with duvets. Breakfast was very good. Staff very friendly. Give it a few months when they stop expanding and will very good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

At this moment we are doing some improvements in our property that are set during times that do not disrupt the experience of our guests. Although these improvements should be over soon, we will review our schedules; we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We hope to be at your service in a future occasion.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Was worried as this hotel was fairly cheap - no need; it has everything necessary and was good quality. Room was clean and spacious with a good bed and bathroom. Bar, dinner and breakfast was all good standard. Reception, rooms and bar/dining are in separate adjacent buildings; suspect to maximise development of the available site. Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itinera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a growing hotel and although during the day you are maneuvering around construction workers they disappear in the evening. As a compensation the staff offers you a free Pisco as hour in their beautiful marble top bar. The rooms are new and clean and come with nice amenities including robes. The hotel is situated in the middle of Aguas Calientes ( Machu Picchu) and about a 5 minute walk to the bus up to the site.
The food is fabulous! The breakfast buffet couldn't be better complete with a chef to create made to order omlettes and a waiter to smooth out the granola after you have taken some.
Dinner was spectacular and the service couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: Find out where the construction is and avoid this. Probably the lower numbered rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmcc51Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Best regards,

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write this lovely review.

The hotel’s concept seeks to create a place where our travelers can find efficiency and friendliness. We would like to thank you for your kind comments for our property and we are very glad you enjoyed the service offered in our restaurant.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nv.
Level Contributor
204 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The El MaPi is two blocks from the train Station, and provides portage service for luggage. It is 1/2 block from the main Plaza, 1 block from the bus to Machu Picchu, and in the center of shopping. It consists of multiple buildings, a garden and outside patio seating. The restaurant serves buffet style and the entire operation seems there for tour groups, and there are plenty of them.
Our room was large, very clean and nicely appointed. We had an oversize King bed and slept soundly until about 4:30 A.M. when the really early risers are heading up the mountain. There is little sound deadening in the hotel, but since we were almost all there with the same objective, this was not overly offensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toomacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have read all reviews and this hotel was my choice being close to bus station but not too close to the train station. I had to use a travel agent to book it as it appeared to be sold out for the particular night I needed on every website including El MaPi own. I was ready to stay 2 nights in Ollanta and just go to MP for a day trip but somehow Pachamama Explorers agency of Cusco was able to book it for me. The hotel is very nice, special and has quite a good service. The rooms are small but nicely decorated and the beds are comfy. There is a big issue of not having elevators while having multiple floors - we were on the 5th and it was not very pleasant. Also our travel agency booked us a dinner (and forgot to mention it) - so while it was a nice surprise we had a little problem with the time. 7:30 pm seating was fully booked and we had to choose between 6 pm and 9pm. Since we planned to go to MP at dawn we had to chose 6 pm and it ruined my trip to hot springs - I did not have time to enjoy it. After rushing to hotel I found that the dinner wasn't ready until 6:30 pm. But the dinner was very good and I did not have other problems with the service.

Room Tip: try to get lower floor since they have no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picch...
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Property: El MaPi by Inkaterra
Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing