We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,493)
Filter reviews
2,493 results
Traveller rating
1,056
974
316
100
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,056
974
316
100
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern hotelmachu picchuthe busincluded dinnerfree pisco sourscentral locationinca trailbreakfast and dinnermiddle of townshower curtainthe main streetrestaurants and shopscourse dinnerhotel restaurantyour luggagesmall townloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,025 - 1,030 of 2,493 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for one night after visiting Machu Picchu during our honeymoon last year and it was conveniently located and friendly. It did take us a while to actually locate the hotel but once we did it all worked well. Luckily we managed to check in just before a huge group and were reunited with the bags we'd left at the station prior to going to Machu Picchu. The room wasn't fancy, but it was more than adequate with a good shower and bathrobes. We got a free Pisco Sour (always a good thing) at the bar during Happy Hour and then went to have dinner since our rate included it. The food was really good and we had an excellent bottle of red. The buffet breakfast the following morning was also good and there was lots of choice. One amusing memory was of a waitress trying to contain her mirth as one customer tried to create a mountain of continental breakfast, cooked breakfast and fruit all on one plate - in one go.

The town of Aguas Calientes is quite small and although there are quite a few restaurants and bars, it doesn't take very long to do the tour. We didn't venture to the Hot Springs as we had read some discouraging reviews and we didn't have the best weather on the day we were there. I did enjoy seeing the Andean Explorer going up and down the main street though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here for our night in Aguas Calientes before going to Machu Picchu the next day. Great choice, very good value for money. As a bonus a meal was included as part of our accommodation. We found the rooms to be very comfortable and staff friendly. The best value for money in Aguas Calientes.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Davetraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Having walked round Machu Picchu in the rain and returned on the bus, we were tired and damp. None the less, upon arrival, we were greeted in a friendly and professional manner. We were handed a Pisco Sour drinks voucher. The travel company had arranged our stay on a DB&B basis. The allocated room was large, clean and comfortable. The bags, which had been collected by hotel staff on arrival at the train station, were delivered promptly. When signing in, we were offered a dining time of 6.00 or 9.00 and we chose the former. We noted that Happy Hour started at 5.30 and we were reminded of this by the large notice on the bathroom mirror.

We arrived at the restaurant at the prescribed time and found it devoid of other diners. We left and returned 10 minutes later to find a couple of tables occupied. There was a good selection of choices for each course. Drinks ordered thinking of Happy Hour. Meals were adequate. Drinks service slow - one beer, one lemonade. Later, with dessert, another lemonade was ordered. At the end of the meal, literally as soon as the dessert fork was placed on the plate, the bill was presented for drinks and for confirmation that the meal had been served. No 2nd lemonade had arrived. Queried. A nudge on my elbow from Susan confirmed that the lemonade arrived with the bill!

I queried the Happy Hour and was told it was only for Pisco Sours and lemonades. Ah ha, I said. I have lemonade. Oh no, came the reply, only for SMALL lemonades - you had large! 32 soles for two lemonades and a small beer. Warning number 1: Happy Hour is a waste of time.

We noticed another member of our tour group, on a separate table, had returned their meal and it came back steaming hot. It seems that she had ordered vegetarian - menu marked 'V' - and she had found ham in it. Warning 2: Check the meaning of vegetarian

After a very good night's sleep, breakfast beckoned. Into the dining room again and found no cups, no plates, no juice and a few crumbs on the cereal tray. There were three members of staff - the cashier, who checked then room number, the omelette and waffle maker and a table clearer. I overheard one diner ask for a plate and rather than bring plates for everyone, he brought one. Talk about a shambles. then the coffee ran out.

A very poor dining experience. Such a shame as the bedroom was the comfiest and most luxurious we had stayed in whilst on holiday.

There must be better places to stay in town, and I recommend you find one (unless you stay on a Room only basis)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbarker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our travel agent booked this hotel for us and I was just a little apprehensive after seeing some negative reviews of the property. We stayed at El Mapi for one night prior to our visit to Machu Picchu and we were pleasantly surprised. We didn't encounter any of the construction noise that had been mentioned but that could have been due to the fact that we arrived in the late afternoon and left at 5AM in the morning. The room was very nice with a nice big bed and bathroom The room came with breakfast and dinner and both were fine. Surprisingly, they started serving breakfast at 4AM so we were able to eat before leaving. Due to the large number of groups, we had to eat a little later than we wanted to but once we were able to eat, the food was very good....not gourmet but good. The public areas of the hotel were fine as well. The only negative thing that happened was that some of our friends tried to shower before we went to Machu Picchu at 5 AM and had cold showers. No one had told them that they turn off the hot water until 4:30 AM every morning. Thankfully, we had showered the night before as the idea of a cold shower was really unappealing. The location of El Mapi is really great as it is near the train station as well as the bus station for the bus up to Machu Picchu. We ate pizza at the little restaurant across from the hotel when we got back from Machu Picchu and it was fine---also had good Wifi!!

Room Tip: We were in Room 217 and there was no construction at all in the area of this room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

After completing the four day inca trail sleeping in tents without all the creature comforts we were expecting our stay in the el mappi to be a pleasureable experience. On arrival the front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. That is where it ended. The first room we were shown to was dire, outside the window was a building site with constant noise. The second room offered was not even cleaned. The manager interviened and offered us another room which we accepted. Gust avo the manager to his credit then offered a free drinks package as compensation by
Ut damage had been done. We sat down for dinner to find my wife's chicken dish was raw(uncooked). I would suggest if you are wanting comfort and piece then avoid for at least a year whilst the building work is completed. Given time it will be a lovely place to stay. Note if you want to relax in a bath after the trail then don't book here as they don't have any.

Room Tip: Currently undergoing construction work so be aware when booking. Position is good for bars and resteraunts.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Jilly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews