We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,494)
Filter reviews
2,494 results
Traveller rating
1,056
975
316
100
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,056
975
316
100
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern hotelmachu picchuthe busincluded dinnerfree pisco sourscentral locationinca trailbreakfast and dinnermiddle of townshower curtainthe main streetrestaurants and shopscourse dinnerhotel restaurantyour luggagesmall townloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,020 - 1,025 of 2,494 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed one night at El Mapi. The hotel is modern although the internet was VERY slow; our stay included a small, pisco sour welcome drink, dinner, and breakfast. The dinner involved a choice among three starters, entres, and desserts. Drinks, even agua pura, was extra. The breakfast buffet was available very early (we were the first there around 4:30 a.m.) although the hot items were just being added when we left. The buffet included fruit, juices, cold cheese & meat, bread, and cereal as well as coffee and tea.

Although the hotel was expensive (we paid aroud $250 for one night with food above included), it is within close walking distance to both the train station and the Machu Picchu bus. Also the hotel delivered our luggage to the train station for our return trip to Cusco.

One additional note: the hair dryer did not fit the plugs in the bathroom although it did fit the plugs by the space heater in the bedroom.

Thank Shirley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel wants to be a special retreat in Aguas Calientes. It has a wonderful and friendly staff, nice bar area, nice outdoor seating area, good restaurant and clean rooms. What it does not have are quiet rooms. Every sound from the hallway echo's through the corridor and into your room; and if you are not planning on getting up at 4:30 am with the early morning Machu Picchu risers, too bad, because you will hear every single one of them. There needs to be some soft surfaces to help absorb some of the sound. Also, their windows do not actually close all the way and this doesn't help with street noise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here one night to get to Machu Picchu first thing in the am. The hotel is modern and very clean and has a fantastic location. The bed and pillows were the best we had during our trip. The hotel is still under construction and it is very loud during the day--even more disappointing because the atmosphere is otherwise so peaceful and serene. We had to leave the hotel during the day just to get away from the sound of the jackhammer! That being said, the noise was only during the day and was quiet at night. Breakfast is served very early to allow us to get to Machu Picchu early and they held our luggage for us during the day.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JJMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great Hotel convenient to train and bus stations close to the central plaza but far enough away to be quiet and enjoyable. Rooms are newly re-done - nice and comfortable. Not 5 star but very nice! The Restaurant served great food with a good variety of choices.

Room Tip: The entire town is on a hillside. If you cannot continue to climb steps, ask for a room as close to the lobby as possible.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandFlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The El MaPi Hotel is conveniently located 2 short blocks from the train station. Hotel staff picked up our luggage so we could hop on the next bus to Machu Picchu! An unexpected treat. Upon our return we discovered a nice, newly renovated hotel. Our room was basic but very clean and comfortable. There were plenty of electrical outlets and we were very comfortable. The room came with buffet breakfast included and a free Pisco Sour (highly recommend trying one of these drinks. They are delicious!). The hotel is on the main street and there are numerous shops, small markets and restaurants within easy walk. The staff was very nice and even gave another drink coupon to one of my friends when she misplaced her original coupon. When we wanted to go back to Machu Picchu the next morning they checked our luggage in their luggage room and even brought it to the station for us when we needed to leave to return to Cusco! Again, an unexpected surprise and sure made the return trip easier! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Aguas Calientes!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews