We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Wary!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Novato, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Be Wary!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We were booked to stay at El Mapi Hotel May 23rd. Upon arrival in Aguas Calientes we were informed the hotel was oversold during construction and we were now moved to a room at the Hatuchay! Awful! I overheard at least 2 other couples with the same problem. Be wary if you think you have a reservation at El Mapi!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank kiwikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    781
    249
    74
    34
See reviews for
356
858
139
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here the night before our visit to Machu Picchu. Originally we were given a room right next to the restaurant and bar area. Very noisy! We asked if we could switch rooms and they said they were sold out. After a while they managed to find another room a few buildings down on the top floor. This was much better! However, in the middle of the night (about 1 a.m.) a group arrived/checked in on our floor and was incredibly noisy! When the doors close, they slam and loudly. This isn't the fault of the hotel' however, because they are tile floors and the doors are heavy, you must slam the door to close it, and if anyone stays out late, it will wake you. This isn't good if you are taking the first buses to the Machu Picchu.

The staff at the front desk was friendly. The bar was nice. We didn't have the same experience at the restaurant - we were seated and waited about 10-15 minutes for anyone to say hello to us. Others who were seated after us had drinks and salads before anyone even acknowledged our presence. My husband got very sick that night and the next day at Machu Picchu was very unpleasant for him. We believe it was the salad since I did not eat it and he did and that was the only difference in our meals.

The rooms were very nice, and pretty good size. The bathroom is huge, with only a shower, though. Everything is very clean and modernized.

Aguas Calientes is a neat town at the base of Machu Picchu and we would recommend staying overnight before trekking up to Machu Picchu, and perhaps even staying afternoon. There is a lot of shopping and good restaurants. Prices may be a little higher in the town because it is harder to get food and other items here, but it is worth the visit. There is also a hot springs down the hill; we were going to go, but realized it was late and we needed to get up early. Worth a visit if you are staying the night!

We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the restaurant and bar - there is a pathway that leads to the buildings and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocpair29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The room was up to date and clean. There was a slight sewage smell although not sure if it was the room or due to open windows bringing in surrounding odors. Overall very impressed with the hotel it's bar and restaurant. Still being renovated. Would recommend.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

After staying in tents for a week of back packing this was a 5-star hotel to us. Food was varied and good. The started breakfast at 4 am so you could get to the bus line early. Breakfast was an American Buffet with many selections. The rooms had many private windows looking on to beautiful foliage. All rooms were behind the main building so they were very quiet. There were gardens to sit and relax in, a large bar area, and a very efficient dining room. It was definitely a hotel for people needing to wait in the large lounge for the 3 pm departure of the train. They had a large luggage storage area.

Room Tip: all rooms similar. 200 number rooms wee next to the construction of the new wing of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptravelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind comments for our rooms, food and design.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We enjoyed a one night stay while visiting Machu Picchu. This hotel is totally geared for tourists. We had a nice big clean room on the second floor, pretty close to the restaurant. Our room had a room with a king size bed and an adjacent smaller sitting room with a couch and coffee table. We had a window facing the other building on the side. This hotel sits on a hill so you have to go up the stairs or down the stairs to get to different areas. The street outside the hotel is the same way. You will find many restaurants and shops at this street that looks more like an alley. We had a really nice experience with the staff in the front desk. One desk clerk named Milagros was really nice and gave lots of tips to plan our second day at Machu Picchu. I was concerned about my husband climbing to the top of Wayna Picchu however she gave some great pointers so it all worked out and he made it to the top. My husband was so happy he insisted on going back to thank her. The hotel is adding more rooms so there were signs of construction going on but that did not bother us. The dinner was really good and they serve it at staggered times. We had three different times to choose. Also while you spend the day in Machu Picchu they will store your luggage and they will deliver the luggage to the train station at the time you specify. Great service and close to everything! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mibaba4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our property.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind comments for our property and especially our service.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A modern and comfortable hotel with things like safe, hairdryer, even bathrobes! Aguas Calientes is small , so nothing is very far from the training station or the bus up to Machu Picchu so the location is a bit irrelevant. Given this hotel is fair central though it was generally quite quiet, apart from the doors going at 6 in the morning as people left on their travels. Had our first pisco sour there - nice - and also the dinner was ok - it was included as part of our package. So, overall the hotel is quite reliable. Interestingly, not many seem to use the bar - because of the selection up and down the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne_westcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
340 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

After Machu Picchu trip we stayed in this hotel. The locations of the hotel buildings are very interesting and leveled based on the land shape.
The welcome cocktail was Peru’s national drink Pisco Sour. Delicious.
Our room is fairly small with no scenery and just has full window to outer corridor. However this was the most comfortable room during our entire Peru trip which we stayed in 5 different hotels. Probably newly renovated. Some parts of hotel under construction to renovate all rooms same as ours. The construction noise ended up before we got our room for sleep.
We stayed there on full-pension based. The lunch was open buffet style. Nice variety. We loved Peruvian cuisine as I indicated in my other Peru reviews. Of course we drank crisp and blonde Qusquena beer.
The dinner also was excellent from choosing “tabldot” menu.
We had our breakfast at 4.30 am in the morning to catch the Urubamba train. The breakfast was open buffet as well and prepared amazingly in this very early morning hour.
The service and staff always were amazing as all over the Peru. They are very gentle, courteous, nice, kind and helpful. Also they are a bit naive against tourists.
We are a group of 10 and appreciate for their hospitality.
Sulpayki!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguru-su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Property: El MaPi by Inkaterra
Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing