We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a place to get a good night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Although the staff was friendly, the location great and the room was nice (in a Portland sort of way), it was a miserable stay. The new construction (building 5) did nothing to keep the street noise out. This might be due to the sliding glass window not being sealed, however, the street noise also came in from through the door.

Another irritation (but not nearly as bad as being kept up until 2 in the morning) was the lack of supervision in the restaurant. The breakfast chef could not cook an omlet. When trying to buy a bottle of water in the restaurant, we were told to go to the bar. The bartender had to go to the restaurant for change.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

I enjoyed my two nights at the El MaPi. Expect many steps to your room. Mine was on the perimeter of the new construction. It begins quite early in the morning but begins to shut down around 6-7 pm. The construction crew is amazing but there is simply no way to build up that hill quietly.

The room was acceptable; clean but small. I strongly urge the ownership/management to rethink the marketing strategy of posting every little bit of info on the shower curtain, mirrors, and walls in multiple languages. It comes off tacky in an otherwise lovely setting.

The food was good; you can't miss with the local Pisco Sours; breakfast was served very early to accommodate the trip to Machu Picchu - much appreciated. So it is possible to eat at 4 am.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the same level as construction; construction is at the top of numerous stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank newinelsinore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Beautiful looking hotel, nice room - very stylish. Price included a free welcome drink, breakfast and dinner. Food was good but now awesome. Construction continues but was restricted to certain hours and did not bother us at all. Biggest beef was that after spending more for this hotel room than any other that we stayed in in Peru, there was no hot water when we went to shower in the morning. Really? For that kind of money, hot water isn't optional....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkpm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Loved the decor in this place& the free pisco sour! Happy hour was also great! We had dinner and breakfast included in our rate and they were lovely, &I am a fussy eater!
The reason I've not given it 5 stars is because of the construction, we were placed right in the centre of it, apart from that I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank S-Rtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It's a rather new hotel with a minimalist modern style. Very close to the train station. Good food with a generous portion for dinner. Selection of breakfast are not exquisite, but juices are all fresh. Very nice pisco sour. Too bad I only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ipong3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Loved El Mapi!!! We toured peru with Gate 1. After a tiring day at Machu Pucchu, it was great! Beds were excellent. Shower was great and food was real good. We liked the location and the town of Aguas Calientas. Would love to go back. Yes there is construction going on in one section of the hotel but it was never a bother. We stayed in building 5. Also purchased some nice jewelry and scarves in their gift shop.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yost9449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was very happy with El MaPi Hotel. Nice decor that complimented the surroundings, with the great location, excellent food at the restaurant with beautiful presentation and very polite employees. I loved the city of Aguas Calientes! It was my favorite one we visited.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mechelemybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
657 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 6 in Machu Picchu
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £154 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing