We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome luxurious hotel at the foot of Machu PIcchu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awesome luxurious hotel at the foot of Machu PIcchu”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel located in central Aguas Calientes Peru. The town isn't very big so you're pretty close to everything no matter where you stay. The breakfasts were good, cold cuts, eggs cooked to order, nice juice selection, good fruit selection, except the coffee wasn't very good. The bar was fun, though expensive. Our favorite place to eat was down the street on the left. Wood fired pizzas and nice selection of micro brews. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: There was construction going on when we were there. make sure you aren't near it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brotherjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    811
    255
    79
    36
See reviews for
373
901
141
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here in mid August.
From the moment you checked in ,the service by ALL of the staff was excellent.
Carrying your bags to railway station was a pleasant surprise.
No lift and a few stairs to negotiate because the place is built on the inclining street that is Agua Caliente.
Breakfast and evening meals ( including in tariff) were excellent.
Great spot.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spending at least one night in Aguas Calientes/Machu Picchu town is almost unavoidable. That is probably why it felt so crowded and dirty. The tourism industry there seems to be growing faster than the town can keep up, so there were problems with drainage/sewage, clogged streets, crowded sidewalks, etc. This hotel was, externally, one of the nicest. But you can tell that it was built quickly and cheaply. There were already cracks in the walls, things broken in the bathroom. The whole town smells of sewage, which made it difficult to sleep. The smells waft in whether you close the windows or not. However, this hotel had very good service, a great bar and restaurant, and was cleaner and higher quality than most other lodging choices. one plus - the hotel will deliver your bags directly to the train station, so that you don't need to carry your stuff all day while you wait to leave town. The hotel is a 5-10 minute easy walk from the train station.

Room Tip: if possible, ask for a room that's not close to construction or to the kitchen. the smells were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenni r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in Room 431 on 8/6/14 after hiking Macchu Picchu all day and were unable to sleep until after 2 AM because of the bar across the street blasting their music at full volume, then the hotel construction resumed at 7 AM. Very unhappy with this hotel-would not recopmmend it under any circumstances

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the end (example 411,421, 431) if you want to get ANY sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlowe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in June as we were visiting Macchu Pichu over 2days and needed accommodation. After our first day at Macchu Pichu we were tired from the altitude and wanted to rest for the afternoon. On checking in, we were given a room which was more than 80 steps up from the lobby which was unacceptable, not to mention workmen right outside the window . We requested a room change but were told there was nothing available. Eventually after having had no rest, we went to our tour agent office in town and spoke with the rep there who reluctantly came to our rescue and organised a room change much lower down. My biggest complaint is that this hotel is open for business when it's actually unfinished, something we were unaware of when we booked. On a positive note, the included meal was very good with great service and presentation. So my advice is, check out the building status of this hotel before booking, and be mindful of the effect of the altitude when no lift exists here!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the lowest level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suebazbundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel has a major problem bestowed by the designers - hard surfaces everywhere. That is not to say it is not new and beautiful, because it is. But when you come to the hotel from two days of exploring Inca sites, you want to sleep.
The nightclub down the road blaring out its music til 2 am did not get me off to a good start. The early check out guests rolling their bags down to tiled corridor were the next obstacles and then the housekeeping staff servicing this rooms from around 6.45 am made it impossible to go back to sleep. I could hear the donnas being shaken into their covers! Not to mention the bedside tables being dragged around the floor. My dreams of 8.30 out the window.
I spoke to the front desk about 7.30 and they did try to help, but by that time the builders had bandied on, so it was a lost cause.
If a long rest after a few days toil is your aim, check out somewhere else.

Room Tip: Hard to say. Because of the hard surfaces the noise would be a problem anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paultalbot48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the El Mapi for one night. The hotel is very clean and in a good location. It's a short walk to the buses that lead to Machu Picchu and to the train station too. Our meal was included with our stay, so we had dinner at the hotel. The food was very good, and our server, Richard, was very nice and helpful. There are many other places to eat that are within walking distance. It's located in a pleasant, little town that is fun to walk around. They also stored our luggage in a secure room for us after we checked out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoePMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Property: El MaPi by Inkaterra
Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing