We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place to crash while awaiting your Machu Piccu visit”
Review of Ecologica Mapi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ecologica Mapi
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed there yesterday, and I can report that the place was clean, staff was both friendly and helpful -- sincerely taking the effort to ensure we made our visit up to Machu Piccu on time and as comfortable as possible. The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable -- even warm (it got chilly outside the past couple of nights). Breakfast is spartan, but fine. The owner offered to let us leave our backpacks there while we visited MP, and although we decided to take the packs (they were light), the offer was not unappreciated. She also took the time to ensure we understood the bus schedules, what to take up there, and when we got back and had literally hours before our train back to Cusco -- she let us sit in the lobby and use their wifi with no hassle or second look.

Per wifi, it is great in the lobby -- non-functional in the rooms we were in (second floor). I think this is the norm for Aguas Calientes hotels, so I would not let this shy me away from the place.

The hotel is close enough to restaurants and the bus stop and train station -- maybe a 5 min walk from everything. If you are looking at the map and not figuring out where they are, its just a little farther down the street from the soccer field (if you are standing in front of it), and look for the brown sign during the day or the neon sign at night.

Bottom line -- I wholeheartedly recommend the place and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank SOTBAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fidel V, Director General at Ecologica Mapi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello, greets Ecologica Mapi.
We appreciate your visit to Machu Picchu and choose your preference Ecologica Mapi, hope you enjoyed it.
We will be happy to serve them and to see you again on your next visit to Machu Picchu.
Ecologica Mapi
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I made a reservation at a hostel near this hotel, but the hostel ended up not having a room for us. They took us to this hotel and arranged for us to have a room for the same price. The room was large with a coffee table and two little chairs; the bed was comfy (and had towels in the shape of swans on it when we arrived). The bathroom was nicer than I expected (looked new!), and the water was very hot. Internet was good (once they turned on the router). No complaints from us at all... we probably ended up with a much better room than we would have had at the hostel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kokusai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel is totally subpar. First the worst: No running water, except on the ground floor. The hotel had a problem with their pump which would not allow it to take water to the rooftop tank which provides water for the rooms. So we had no water in any of our rooms! No showers, no water to flush toilets, etc etc. When we arrived at 11:30am we were told by the hotel staff this was a problem of the water company, which was a lie. They told us not to worry that the problem would be solved in the afternoon. We discovered that our hotel was the only one with this problem and when we came back at 7:00pm there still was no water in our rooms. The only solution was to take a cold shower in the lobby bathroom. The hotel staff only told us the truth about this problem (no water) at 8:00pm when we had no chance to look for another hotel.

Next the bad: The hotel is located in front of a small "plaza" were all the locals meet at night to talk, have fun, listen to music, which makes the who place very noisy. We had a hard time getting some sleep.

Not so bad: The hotel is not expensive, the rooms are very simple but clean.

The good: Free internet.

When something as basic as water is not available and the hotel staff lie to guests about the problem I cannot find any reason to recommend the hotel. What did the hotel offer us for not having water: a 9% discount on are rate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Roberto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Repunto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JaimeFrafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Katha_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Jamas elegir este hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophmm93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#13 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
53 reviews
0 mi away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#14 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
610 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#16 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
570 reviews
0 mi away
Waman Hotel
Waman Hotel
#11 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
362 reviews
0 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecologica Mapi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecologica Mapi

Address: Urb. Las Orquidias M-D-1 | A.V Wakanky, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 084, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £27 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ecologica Mapi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ecologica Mapi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing