We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax”

Hot Springs (Aguas Calientes)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$562.50*
and up
Machu Picchu by Train Full-Day Tour
Kings Stanley, UK
Level Contributor
166 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Well worth a visit to relax and chill out. It has all the things you need. Good value for money too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Doctor phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    291
    282
    140
    124
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zittau, Germany
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“They should call them lukewarm springs!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

For one, the temperature of the hottest and biggest pool is merely enough to maintain a comfortable body temperature. If you're lucky enough to find enough space to kneel a little, as that pool gets ridiculously crowded in the afternoon. I reckon that the people radiate more heat than the hot springs. The water is quite nice though and the atmosphere kind of cool. Still, generally disappointing!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolloknollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Are you kidding me”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We visited the hot springs today after being told by locals how good they were. If you are an Australian who is spoiled by beautiful beaches, rivers and waterholes you will be shocked. It is a series of concrete pools with dirty water that smells of sulphur. We Perservered after having paid the entrance fee but had to leave in disgust.

Helpful?
4 Thank Phil_Joanne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorocaba, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“thermal waters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Amazing town where cars don't enter. Just people walking on the cozy and charming streets sorrounded by the amazing mountains. The hotsprings themselves are surprising since the water comes hot from the mountains! Everything there is magical!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the Hot Springs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had read some information on the Aguas Calientes Hot Springs – there were both good and bad reviews. We finished the Inca trail (4 days) and then spent the night in Aguas Calientes. We were told to go to the Springs early (they open at 5:30am) We got there at about 6:45am – it was only a few minutes up the street from our hotel – and it was wonderful! You can rent towels on your way up to the Springs and they have lockers there for you to use too (it cost a few soles to get a towel and to rent a locker). It was not crowded and the larger pool was very hot. The water is a yellow color due to the minerals and the bottom is made of small loose stones so it feels so good on your feet. The locker rooms were clean (they are older and a little run down but were fine) and I would highly recommend this if you want to relax after the long hike. (Not sure how crowded it gets later in the day – it is not a very large area but when we went it was perfect)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank CindyM7432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot Springs (Aguas Calientes) also viewed

Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Hot Springs (Aguas Calientes)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing