We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 31 January 2008

A fine, modern hotel situated on the river in Aguascalientes. The facilities are outstanding for a tourist hotel, for example with 110 and 220 volt outlets in the rooms and towels that could double as carpets. The rooms are modern, spacious and beautifully decorated in an Andean motif.

The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. A great place from which to visit Machu Picchu (25 minutes by frequent buses)

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank edhjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    324
    81
    33
    15
See reviews for
379
837
80
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2008

We stayed at the President, a real dump. So, I went over to the Sumaq; did not stay there but had a tour. I can tell you it is new, spotless and very, very attractive. The rooms are beautiful with sheets on the bed that must be 600 count. The only concern, if you can call it that, is the location, right on the main road up the mountain. Passing buses could be noisy but the rooms have thick glass in the ceiling to floor doors. It has got to be the only place to stay in this otherwise dreary town.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Leatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2008

Our family stayed at the Sumaq over Christmas and would highly recommend it. We were originally supposed to stay at the Inkaterra but something happened with our reservations last minute and we were changed to the Sumaq. We went from being upset about the change to thrilled. The hotel was beautiful, the amentities were excellent, and the staff could not have been more helpful or accomodating (or have spoken better English). They even offered (before we could ask) to let us keep our room until late in the afternoon on the day of check out so that we could clean up after our visit to Machu Picchu and before our train trip back to Cusco. I highly recommend this hotel. We are used to staying at high end accomodations in the US and although I expected to have to adjust my expectations for Peru, I absolutely did not in the case of the Sumaq.

  • Liked — Luxury, cleanliness, full service
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JHKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2007

Sumaq is without a doubt the reason to stay overnight in Aguas Calientes and visit Machu Picchu early the next morning before the crowds arrive. This property is by itself a destination, you will not regret a visit to such a unique in all aspects place. Astonishing vistas, soothing river sound, first-rate service, experienced staff that will go beyond any expectation, superb and experienced management, sublime gourmet food, I could just keep going on and on. Truly felt pampered by both the comfortable design of the place and the attentiveness of all the personnel. Did not want to leave and keep enjoying all the hotel's offerings. Not cheap, but well worth it.

We both felt in a second honeymoon after 6 years of married life. We're definitely coming back for more! Congratulations from Antonio & Patricia to Sumaq and staff! I would like to mention Doña Carmen, who created herself every design in the hotel, her son and hotel manager Anibal, and staff members Paulino, Raul, Rosa. You all made our stay unforgettable!

  • Liked — All of it!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

we just returned from a tour of Peru and this hotel was by far the best in Peru. The staff was exceptional in their attentiveness and professionalism. Cuisine was excellent and the location was perfect. Rooms were very clean and despite the prices, this is worth the stay.

  • Liked — cleanliness, service,food
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenjThall_AmyHuth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

We just returned from our Honeymoon in Peru, and not only did the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel make our stay memorable, the staff went above and beyond to make it something we will never forget. The Hotel was the best we stayed in, in all of Peru. They treated us like royalty and after doing the Inca Trail fro 2 days (which the hotel also expertly arraigned) it was nice to feel at home. They have a brand new SPA, that just opened, with an excellent jacuzzi and Spa treatments. My new Wife and I thoroughly enjoyed having our treatments after hiking the steep cliffs of the Andes.

The food at the hotel was also some of the best we had in all of Peru. So incredible was the presentation and the taste that we had to take pictures of almost every dish.

The view from the rooms is probably the best in Aguas Calientes. Falling asleep on a comfortable mattress to the sound of the Urubamba river couldn't be easier. The amenities provided are like any 5 star hotel in the states.

This family run hotel has all the charm of a local place while providing excellent service you would expect to find in the states. We'll make sure everyone we know going to Peru stays here.
Photo's to be posted soon.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BenjThall_AmyHuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2007

We recently spent one night in this brand new hotel. It had been open for two weeks and indeed, one wing was still under construction. However, our stay was great. The rooms and public spaces are decorated in cheerful, fresh 'Andes' style decor. The staff were already well trained and helpful.

The room was well appointed, with a big bathroom and lovely shower. The biggest surprise was the quality of the food - our rate included a three course dinner from the main menu. It was one of our best meals ever and judging by the guest book, other people agreed, as most of the comments consisted of 'complements to the chef'! The Sumaq is located along the road which leads to Machu Picchu and is about three blocks from the train station. As Aguas Calientes is not large and because the hotel takes care of transferring your luggage to the train, it was just a pleasant stroll through the market when it was time to leave.

Because our trip was part of a package from a travel agent, I am not sure of the price, but suspect that special rates are available.
Calgary,Canada

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth-Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Property: SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing