We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and the food is out of this world!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing and the food is out of this world!”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

What a beautiful hotel. From the reception area to the rooms to the dining area and bar-all are beautifully decorated and make you feel at home. The staff speak English really well and are very helpful. The beds are comfortable and a God sent after a long day on Macchu Picchu.

What was a real surprise was the quality of food served in the restaurant. Our dinner was included and so glad we tried it. It was by far the best food we ate in the entire Peru. The presentation is amazing and the taste-WOW!

We were able to leave our bags in storage until our train collected us in the afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Propietario at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel while in Machu Picchu Sanctuary!

Really glad to realize that you had a wonderful experience while in our hotel, the only five star of Machu Picchu Town. Thank you for your comments on our food.

Also, we are very proud of our staff, all of them are very friendly and their languages are very good .

Thank you again for all your appreciation to us. I look forward to hosting you at Sumaq again in time.

Best regards,

Anibal Clavijo

General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    327
    83
    33
    15
See reviews for
385
850
82
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The hotel and staff were very nice.We were greeted with drinks and snacks when we arrived.We had a room in the back with a deck that had beautiful plants everywhere.It was very spacious and quiet. The bus to Machu Picchu stopped right at the door of the hotel to pick us up and drop us off.There was a nice selection for breakfast and the dinner there was very enjoyable.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank onthegoallthetime57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Propietario at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Good afternoon:

Thank you for choosing Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel as your hotel in Machu Picchu Sanctuary!
Thank you for your comments on our property and food. Also our facilites are very spacious and confortable for guests like you.
I look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards.

Anibal Clavijo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

After our first hotel let us down by badly misrepresenting their rooms, my wife, children and I were in need of some serious help. The staff at the Sumaq were a very welcome surprise, they quickly arranged a room for us over the two nights we were in Aguas Calientes. They even sent one of their staff with me to help carry our luggage back.

Staff, food and accommodation was first rate, and our problems were their problems and they worked tirelessly to solve them.

Dinner was included, with a seperate menu for children and early dining from 1830, ideal for when you have young children.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

When in Peru, you will want to visit Machu Picchu and you'll want to stay at the Sumaq. When you get off the train and walk through the market, you will not believe that a first class hotel would exist in this town. You'll be treated to a luxurious hotel by a staff that is most accomodating. If possible, stay in one of the rooms with the view of the river. It is most inviting. Then take the bus up the mountain to Machu Picchu and enjoy the Inca ruins and the amazing views of the Andes Mountain.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10sbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The hotel is very well situated. The hotel staff is very accommodating and the food is excellent. The staff is very attentive and helpful. They will reserve seats for you on the bus to Machu Picchu so you don't have to stand in the long bus line. The bus then picks you up in front of the hotel. The masseuse was excellent. I highly recommend the Aqlla massage. It really takes care of the soreness and fatigue of the day. The food in the restaurant was excellent and they had a good selection.

Room Tip: I would just warn that there is no air conditioning and you cannot open the windows at night due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNCFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietnam
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Warm welcome with hot tea and snacks gives a great first impression which the Sumaq carries on through out your stay.
We had dinner inclusive, and I was very impressed with the menu, choice and presentation.
The rooms are a bit motel-ish in style, but Sumaq location as the last pick up on the Machu Pichu bus is just terrific, especially as you can ask for a seat on a particular bus, meaning you don't have to stand in the bus queue.
Best place to stay in M.P.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_broadabroadVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmoor
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed one night so that we could visit Machu Picchu in the afternoon of our arrival and again early in the following morning. Tip - if you don't fancy the 5.30am early morning bus, go at about 7.30am to miss the day trippers. Alternatively, take a bus at about 2.30pm when they are all going back home again.
As far as the hotel is concern, it was very comfortable and friendly. We were welcomed on arrival and the staff couldn't have been more friendly when it came to leaving and taking our luggage to the railway station for us. Food and breakfast were both very good as well.
A very good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exmoor-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
774 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
2,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Property: SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing