We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu(Aguas Calientes)
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Waman Hotel Machupicchu(Aguas Calientes)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa del Sol Machupicchu(Aguas Calientes)
US$223
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El MaPi by Inkaterra(Aguas Calientes)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$548
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Rupa Wasi Lodge(Aguas Calientes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,954)
Filter reviews
1,954 results
Traveller rating
1,448
363
91
35
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,448
363
91
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscevichethe busthe rivercooking classmachu picchuwelcome drinkbeautiful hotelstar hotelpisco soursthe hotel staffcourse dinnerbreakfast and dinneri highly recommend this hotelbeautiful roomincluded dinnerroom ratesacred valley
Filter
Updating list...
962 - 967 of 1,954 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Fantastic hotel to stay in while visiting Machu Picchu! Exceptional service, comfortable rooms with views of the river and mountains, lots of complimentary details that are nice and thoughtful. We had breakfast and one meal included in the rate. Food is probably the tastiest that we had in hotels so far (and pretty much all food in Peru is very tasty). It's a big hotel and they offer a wide range of activities for spare time. Decor is nicer in real life than on the photos.. What can I say.. I love this hotel :) you can hear the sound of the river all the time and my husband found it very soothing to sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youralana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We were met at the train station by staff from the Sumaq Hotel who took our bags. Except for the small buses which take people to and from Machu Picchu, there are no cars or electric carts in Aqua Calientes so the staff are required to push and pull luggage in carts to and from the train station. The hotel is about 5 blocks from the station and downhill from the town proper on a muddy street with limited sidewalks. When we arrived, we were greeted and briefed by the hotel staff regarding the various amenities that the hotel provided and were given the always present free pisco sour at the bar. There are no grounds to the hotel although a river plummets down the valley outside the hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable with a window looking out on the river rushing through the rocks in the riverbed. Dinner and breakfast were included in the price of the room. The food was tasty and plentiful and this is where I found my drink - limonade fria (lemondade in crushed/blended ice - like in a margarita). Very delicious and my drink of choice throughout the rest of my stay in Peru. They have a nice spa at the hotel, but it is pricey. In the afternoon, they would have tea and sandwiches. We were pleased with the staff, the food, and the room, but I am not sure that I would pay that much if it were not part of our tour package.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KUFBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thank you for choosing Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel

Really glad to realize that you had a wonderful experience while in our hotel, the only five star of Machu Picchu Town. Thank you for your comments on our food. We are very happy you enjoyed it. Also, we are very proud of our staff, all of them are very friendly
Thank you again for all your appreciation to us. I look forward to hosting you at Sumaq again in time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

The place is clean. The location is very well. Close enough to the center of Aguas Caliente but it is on a quiet side so you would not be bothere by noise.
Service was excellent. We felt welcomed and were taken very good care from the beggining to the very last. Especially the service to get seats for the bus to machu picchu was great for someone like me who is not an early bird and can not be bothered to make a cue at 6am.
Food was amazing too. It may be more expensive than other accommodations but if You consider what's included, it's not too bad.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harusame555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We were greeted at the train by Jorge who walked us back to the hotel. This isn't a deluxe hotel by international standards, but it is very nice and probably as good as it gets in Aguas Calientes. Unfortunately, we had a room with two full-size beds. A king or queen would have been much better. That said, the staff was as accommodating as could be. They were very friendly and wanted to be sure that everything was to our liking. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel.
Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words,
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The staff at this hotel are amazing.... I don't think they know the word "No". They made our stay very special. The hotel is fine (nothing great), but it is clean, and conveniently located. It's the people that make this place so special - from the front desk, to the restaurant, to the bar and the spa. I had a great massage - and I'm picky about my massages! You will not regret staying at Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel - I will NEVER forget my time at Machu Picchu - it was incredible!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel. Thank you for considering SUMAQ with your 5 points.
Thank you for your comments on our services we are trying to do our best every day
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words, we are very sure that you enjoyed it in you stayed .
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews