We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding, flexible, perfect for Machu Picchu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 May 2008

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hrbrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,250 - 1,256 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2008

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank jbd222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

Stayed here for one night while visiting Machu Picchu. The hotel is the last hotel in Aguas Calientes before the road leading to Machu Picchu. It's brand new, so it's very modern (DirecTV) and clean, especially the bathroom!

It's located at the bottom of a hill and a 5 minute walk takes you to the center of Aguas Calientes where the train station, restaurants, and market is located.

Ask for a room facing the river! The rooms in the back of the hotel faces a hill (I could literally touch the hill from my room) and the windows didn't have screens, so bring your bug repelent if you want to keep the windows open. Additionally, the rooms in the back are very very close to the train tracks.

The staff is helpful. There's a bar on the 3rd floor and the restaurant is on the 2nd floor. The service is top notch, as is the food (very modern).

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank i-gots-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

Hotel of excellent standard and a big plus if you can get a room on the river side. All staff very helpful and friendly. A top place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JandJCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2008

My husband, adult daughter and I had the unbelievably wonderful experience of staying at this fantastic hotel for one night when we visited Machu Picchu. The setting is fantastic, on the edge of town, overlooking the rushing Urubamba. (You can see the hotel from way above when you get to Machu Picchu.) Every detail was taken care of, from meeting us at the train, to a welcoming coca tea as we checked in, and then a four-course gourmet meal for dinner and wonderful breakfast, all delivered with impeccable service. My only problem was eating too much for the altitude. (You'll do better if you just taste the offerings as your stomach may not have the capacity it did at sea level.)

This is a costly hotel, but when you consider all the extras (and the competition at Inkaterra and the Sancutary) it is a bargain. We never had to worry about our luggage. They met us at the train on both legs. Everything in the hotel is brand-new and top notch. The bathrooms were particularly welcoming after a long day climbing over the ruins. Also the staff took care of us by bringing hydration and coca tea as we had some troubles with altitude sickness (despite diamox and a day in the Sacred Valley prior to our visit). The hotel is down the hill from where you catch the bus, and the Sumaq staff went up hill to get our bus tickets, so we were able to catch the bus from the front door, a real treat after all the walking around the ruins.

My only problem was not the hotel's fault but the booking agency which failed to account for our adult daughter in reserving the room, in spite of clear instructions and confirmation from the booking agency that we had three people staying together. The booking agency did not communicate this clearly to the hotel, and then refused to make good in its mistake. This problem was handled with grace by the Sumaq staff, and our daughter was given meals at the hotel's cost. My advice is to book directly with the hotel to avoid problems. All the staff spoke perfect English, and were kind and considerate.

I would recommend this hotel as a wonderful addition to the once-in-a-lifetime visit to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2008

A fine, modern hotel situated on the river in Aguascalientes. The facilities are outstanding for a tourist hotel, for example with 110 and 220 volt outlets in the rooms and towels that could double as carpets. The rooms are modern, spacious and beautifully decorated in an Andean motif.

The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. A great place from which to visit Machu Picchu (25 minutes by frequent buses)

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank edhjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2008

We stayed at the President, a real dump. So, I went over to the Sumaq; did not stay there but had a tour. I can tell you it is new, spotless and very, very attractive. The rooms are beautiful with sheets on the bed that must be 600 count. The only concern, if you can call it that, is the location, right on the main road up the mountain. Passing buses could be noisy but the rooms have thick glass in the ceiling to floor doors. It has got to be the only place to stay in this otherwise dreary town.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank Leatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,090 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 6 in Machu Picchu
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £250 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing