We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,061)
Filter reviews
2,061 results
Traveller rating
1,520
387
96
39
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,520
387
96
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceviche the bus the river cooking class machu picchu welcome drink beautiful hotel star hotel pisco sours the hotel staff course dinner breakfast and dinner included dinner i highly recommend this hotel sacred valley sanctuary lodge junior suite
Filter
Updating list...
842 - 847 of 2,061 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel during the New Year' holiday. We couldn't have been more pleased with the service. Every staff member, to a person, was friendly and courteous. No one in our party were fluent Spanish speakers; the staff ensured we were taken care of. Special courtesies such as hauling luggage between the train and hotel were very nice and allowed us to skip check-in and go immediately up the mountain from the train station. The mountain shuttle bus will also stop at the hotel if you ask for it. Our room was in front at ground level looking at the road and white water river. The roar of the water from the river overpowered any road noise and bus traffic. We had no problem sleeping at night. Our room was very clean and very comfortable for the three of us - we each had our own bed in a very spacious and well appointed room. The morning breakfast buffet, included in our rate, was wonderful with local fruits, juices and entrees as well as the typical pastries you find everywhere. Dinner was New Year's Eve with a special event hosted by the hotel. Great food and fun though they could have used some additional wait staff to help with the number of guests in the dining room. We loved the band. We are adventurous eaters and enjoyed the meal with some special meats (for us) like alpaca. The prices here are a little high, but not a rip-off considering where you are and the services provided. We recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCFoodHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you very much, we really appreciate all of the highlighted comments about our facilities and services, your absolute satisfaction it is our only reason to be.

Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel thank you one more time for your visit and it would be lovely if you can visit us again sometime soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our overnight here was excellent. Our bags were picked up at the train when we arrived so we could go directly to Machu Picchu. When we returned, we had a welcome drink and excellent check in service. Our dinner was included with a good selection and the service was friendly and very good. Breakfast the next day was good and we could leave our bags while we returned to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandbender2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel. Thank you for considering SUMAQ with your 5 points.
We really appreciate such a nice review you have described exactly all our services and the experience to stay in Sumaq.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future. We hope you can follow on facebook and share your pictures with us
Sincerely
all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

For a good advice, there is really no need to sleep in MPicchu, the early train at 6:50 and a late afternoon return will more that do it. Other that that, Aguas Calientes is horrible...but if you can't resist don't do it at Sumaq.
The cost is absurd for a very average hotel. Rooms are clean but simple. Faces the river in a very noisy part, so if you are a light sleeper, take earplugs with you. Service tries really hard to be nice but is confused and lacks flexibility. The night I spent, there were only three rooms in the hotel, two of them with me, I imagine due to a transport strike in Cusco, but still, went to dinner (included), good food but the maitre looked like a robot. I asked him to switch the free pisco sour for a glass of wine...same price...and no chance. Ended up buying a bottle of wine which cost was 3 times more than the one I had seen minutes ago in a local shop !
Next day left early to climb MPicchu through the stairs...trainning for my next year Inca Trail, left the bags to pick them up before the train. On my way back, had to stop by the front desk because in the morning the credit card machine wasn't working to pay the famous wine...and asked for a bottle of water....guess what 10 soles ! 5 times more than a local shop. Also had nobody to take my bag to the station..had to carry myself...aaafff never more, this Hotel is in my worse top 3 ever.

Room Tip: noise everywhere, take earplugs
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antonio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

First of all I would like to thank the time you have taken to leave your comments on Tripadvisor website, it is very important for us to know the opinion of our guests, this allows us to identify our strengths and work on our weaknesses to achieve continuous improvement in our services.

I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have suffered during your stay with us and I am deeply sorry that the service we delivered was not according to your needs, sincerely I understand your frustration and I will address this matter to the leaders so incidents like these do not happen again.

I appreciate your feedback, I hope in time you can stay again with us so that we can reverse the negative perception we left on you.


Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel was delightful. They have a person meeting the trains to collect your luggage and transport it to the hotel. You can then continue on directly to M.P. without stopping to check in. Reception is welcoming, with a drink and some cake. The bus to Aguas Calientes will stop at the hotel if you ask. And the hotel will arrange for the bus to pick you up in the morning - just buy bus tickets for the following day. Rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious. Dinner (included in our rate) offered a nice range of choices, including vegetarian options. Breakfast buffet offered a wide range of choices. Excellent service overall.

Room Tip: We were just happy to get a room. Ours overlooked the river and street on a low floor but was very quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WagsNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

After a long trip from Cusco, we were just very happy to find a very nice hotel in Aguas Calientes! We had a very spacious room, with a river and mountain view. The dinner was included and we had a light dinner, and went to bed early as we had to leave early morning for Macchu Picchu. Excellent , generous breakfast, good coffee too. The staff are very imposing in a positive way, and the internet worked very well. It was a pleasant hotel in Aguas Calientes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaida Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Adelaida

Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciate your review on our services and meals.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.
Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews