We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,046)
Filter reviews
2,046 results
Traveller rating
1,508
384
96
38
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,508
384
96
38
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscevichethe busthe rivercooking classmachu picchuwelcome drinkbeautiful hotelstar hotelpisco soursthe hotel staffcourse dinnerbreakfast and dinnerincluded dinneri highly recommend this hotelsacred valleysanctuary lodgejunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
831 - 836 of 2,046 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

THe setting over the roaring river is stunning. The staff couldnt be more helpful, especially going to the bus station to ensure the bus to MP stops right in front of hotel. The breakfast and dinner were both included, making the value incredible for a family of four. The food was excellent. Prior to arriving i interacted with the concierge who made all the right suggestions. When we arrived our tickets for two days of hiking were awaiting, along with a brilliat guide named Roberto. Due to concierge suggestion we booked Wayna Pichu which was the highlight of our trip to Peru.

Only possible downside, but just to be aware, is the distance from the train, especially if its raining. But they meet you and take your luggage, and becomes part of the experience. Anyone who complains about this place has something wrong with them, not with Sumaq. Enjoy

Room Tip: make sure you are overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.
We really appreciate your time sharing your nice review on our property
Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent one night here as part of a Globus tour group and the hotel were happy for us to check out an hour later with no extra charge. This allowed some of our group to do another trip up to Machu Picchu. We had dinner and breakfast and the food was fabulous, the dinner especially. We also had a welcome drink and the chefs did a cooking demonstration for our tour group.
The location is right on the river and a few steps walk from the train and shopping precinct, however it was quiet. A great hotel in a magical place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your comments on our services. We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was our first trip to Peru with my family. The hotel was very expensive, more than I normally spend, but I wanted to ensure we were comfortable.. I looked at reviews of all other hotels including Sanctuary Lodge and Sumaq was by far the best rated hotel in the area. We spent 2 nights at the hotel on a package that included dinner and SPA. Both were excellent. The staff was trying to help at all times. We also arranged for a private guide through the hotel - his name was Roberto. He was excellent. Very laid back and family friendly. We enjoyed our time with him and learning more about Peru and the Machu Picchu history and area.
The hotel is not fancy like in the US, but if you compare it to everything else in the area it's by far the best around in my view.

Room Tip: Get a Jr. Suite Half Board. We faced the river and the noise of the river was loud but relaxing.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback about our property
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our hotel and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel during the New Year' holiday. We couldn't have been more pleased with the service. Every staff member, to a person, was friendly and courteous. No one in our party were fluent Spanish speakers; the staff ensured we were taken care of. Special courtesies such as hauling luggage between the train and hotel were very nice and allowed us to skip check-in and go immediately up the mountain from the train station. The mountain shuttle bus will also stop at the hotel if you ask for it. Our room was in front at ground level looking at the road and white water river. The roar of the water from the river overpowered any road noise and bus traffic. We had no problem sleeping at night. Our room was very clean and very comfortable for the three of us - we each had our own bed in a very spacious and well appointed room. The morning breakfast buffet, included in our rate, was wonderful with local fruits, juices and entrees as well as the typical pastries you find everywhere. Dinner was New Year's Eve with a special event hosted by the hotel. Great food and fun though they could have used some additional wait staff to help with the number of guests in the dining room. We loved the band. We are adventurous eaters and enjoyed the meal with some special meats (for us) like alpaca. The prices here are a little high, but not a rip-off considering where you are and the services provided. We recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCFoodHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you very much, we really appreciate all of the highlighted comments about our facilities and services, your absolute satisfaction it is our only reason to be.

Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel thank you one more time for your visit and it would be lovely if you can visit us again sometime soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our overnight here was excellent. Our bags were picked up at the train when we arrived so we could go directly to Machu Picchu. When we returned, we had a welcome drink and excellent check in service. Our dinner was included with a good selection and the service was friendly and very good. Breakfast the next day was good and we could leave our bags while we returned to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandbender2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel. Thank you for considering SUMAQ with your 5 points.
We really appreciate such a nice review you have described exactly all our services and the experience to stay in Sumaq.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future. We hope you can follow on facebook and share your pictures with us
Sincerely
all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews