We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,042)
Filter reviews
2,042 results
Traveller rating
1,507
382
96
38
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,507
382
96
38
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscevichethe busthe rivercooking classmachu picchuwelcome drinkbeautiful hotelstar hotelpisco soursthe hotel staffbreakfast and dinnercourse dinnerincluded dinneri highly recommend this hotelsacred valleysanctuary lodgejunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
826 - 831 of 2,042 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our family spent one night here while enjoying the sites of Machu Picchu. This hotel was wonderful. The hotel and rooms were beautiful, staff were very friendly, accommodating and very attentive service. Guido and the culinary staff were excellent. Meals were excellent and the presentation beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueJ211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Sue
Thank you so much for giving us a nice review about our services and hotel.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.
Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Quiet, edge of town, great service, good restaurant, nice view across the road of Urubamba River.

Avoid the craziness of town if you're tired. This is a restful place. And each employee seemed to take an extra step of hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GManPackerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Lovely place to stay had brilliant room 1107 has jacuzzi bath and a real fireplace in seating area nice kingsize bed very comfortable - we were on a tour and was the best all round hotel we stayed in service was excellent - great position overlooking the river - bus stops right outside on way back from Machupicchu. Food was well presented and staff very attentive and good humoured. They even let us have a second breakfast before and after early trip up to Machupicchu - great place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ExeterUKMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for giving us a very nice review. We are grateful for your nice words towards our property and services, Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel
Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a great stay here which included breakfast buffet and 3 course dinner. Beautiful rooms and facilities with undertones of the great Inka culture. Amazing food, great view of the Urubamba River, and comfy beds. Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: request/purchase a river facing room, great views and soothing sounds as you sleep.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmike01star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

thank you very much for giving us your feedback about our property. We appreciate your nice review

We really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

THe setting over the roaring river is stunning. The staff couldnt be more helpful, especially going to the bus station to ensure the bus to MP stops right in front of hotel. The breakfast and dinner were both included, making the value incredible for a family of four. The food was excellent. Prior to arriving i interacted with the concierge who made all the right suggestions. When we arrived our tickets for two days of hiking were awaiting, along with a brilliat guide named Roberto. Due to concierge suggestion we booked Wayna Pichu which was the highlight of our trip to Peru.

Only possible downside, but just to be aware, is the distance from the train, especially if its raining. But they meet you and take your luggage, and becomes part of the experience. Anyone who complains about this place has something wrong with them, not with Sumaq. Enjoy

Room Tip: make sure you are overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.
We really appreciate your time sharing your nice review on our property
Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews