We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,072)
Filter reviews
2,072 results
Traveller rating
1,527
390
97
39
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,527
390
97
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceviche the bus the river cooking class machu picchu welcome drink beautiful hotel star hotel pisco sours the hotel staff breakfast and dinner course dinner included dinner i highly recommend this hotel sacred valley sanctuary lodge junior suite
Filter
Updating list...
839 - 844 of 2,072 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Sumaq is an upscale modern hotel conveniently located on the river road such that the bus to Machu Pichu stops right out front. Also less than 5 min walk to restaurants/shops. Room had balcony overlooking the river- which was roaring in march. Our room also had jacuzzi tub, good wifi, tv, dvr, and option of 2 different plugs /voltage- helpful for recharging camera battery etc. . Front desk loaned us towels which we took to the local hot Springs. These Pools were not really hot enough for my taste and water looks rather murky but it was still a fun local experience for my teen son and I after long day of hiking. Dinner at the hotel was tasty and beautifully presented but If there is a large tour group staying there - Eat elsewhere or ask to be seated at a different time to avoid the crowd. You will have a great time whereever you stay. Machu pichu is majestic . wayan pichu is a challenging climb with many steep and irregular stairs- I took it slow and very cautiously and it was worth it!

Room Tip: Most rooms have river view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suchacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Good morning
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and I met head waiter Guido Valencia after he checked on us at our dining table. Guido is great and we struck a relationship where he helped us with information, served our family beyond expectation... and shared Machu Picchu stories about the famous place next door. Guido and staff are one of the best organized teams we've seen!! We will return!!

All your staff were fantastic...can not think of anything to change. We were guided for hiking locations and given warm tea when we returned out of breath! What a great hotel by the river! Love it!!

Room Tip: pick a room facing the river and mountains
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Stephanie
Thank you very much for post a very nice review about our staff and services. We are glad that you had a very nice experience with guido. i will notice about your post
Again thank so much for giving us 5 poitns.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our family spent one night here while enjoying the sites of Machu Picchu. This hotel was wonderful. The hotel and rooms were beautiful, staff were very friendly, accommodating and very attentive service. Guido and the culinary staff were excellent. Meals were excellent and the presentation beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueJ211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Sue
Thank you so much for giving us a nice review about our services and hotel.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.
Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Quiet, edge of town, great service, good restaurant, nice view across the road of Urubamba River.

Avoid the craziness of town if you're tired. This is a restful place. And each employee seemed to take an extra step of hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GManPackerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Lovely place to stay had brilliant room 1107 has jacuzzi bath and a real fireplace in seating area nice kingsize bed very comfortable - we were on a tour and was the best all round hotel we stayed in service was excellent - great position overlooking the river - bus stops right outside on way back from Machupicchu. Food was well presented and staff very attentive and good humoured. They even let us have a second breakfast before and after early trip up to Machupicchu - great place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ExeterUKMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for giving us a very nice review. We are grateful for your nice words towards our property and services, Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel
Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews